Author: Elle Kennedy

Can’t Wait Wednesday: The Risk by Elle Kennedy

Posted October 10, 2018 by Rowena in Features | 4 Comments

Can’t Wait Wednesday is hosted by Tressa at Wishful Endings and it was based on the meme Waiting on Wednesday that was hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine.

Can’t Wait Wednesday: The Risk by Elle KennedyThe Risk by Elle Kennedy
Series: Briar U #2
Also in this series: The Chase
Published by Self-Published, Elle Kennedy on February 18, 2019
Genres: Contemporary, New Adult, Romance
Point of View: Alternating First Person
Goodreads

Get ready for another fun and flirty romance from New York Times bestselling author Elle Kennedy!

Bad girl Brenna Jensen would never date a hockey player. It’s too much of a risk, and not just because her hockey-coach father would kill her if she ever got involved with one. She’s been there, done that, not looking for a repeat. But a certain college player has gotten under her skin. He’s cocky, insolent and all about the games…and yet resisting him is getting harder and harder…

Brenna’s book!! Did you guys see Brenna’s cover? It’s pretty gorgeous and I’m super anxious for the release of this book. I need to find out who her hero is even though I’m pretty sure that I know and approve of who he is.

Last week, when Elle Kennedy dropped the cover in her newsletter, I was over the moon. I thought we’d find out who Brenna’s hero is but I’m not even mad about that. I’m thrilled to know that she has something new planned for her newsletter subscribers and I can only hope that it’s a serial like Sarina Bowen did for Pepe from the Ivy Years series.

This book comes out on February 18th so we have a few months wait and I honestly cannot freaking wait. I’ve been thirsty for this book since I read The Chase. You can read my review of that book here. Mark your calendars because I have every faith that Elle Kennedy will make the wait worth it.

Pre-Order the Book

The Risk (Briar U #2) by Elle Kennedy
Releases on February 18, 2019
AMAZON || BARNES & NOBLE || KOBO

Briar U Series


Tags: , ,

Review: The Chase by Elle Kennedy

Posted August 10, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 6 Comments

Review: The Chase by Elle KennedyThe Chase by Elle Kennedy
Series: Briar U #1
Published by Elle Kennedy on August 4, 2018
Genres: Contemporary, New Adult, Romance
Point of View: Alternating First Person
Pages: 378
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Goodreads
four-stars

A sexy standalone novel from New York Times and international bestselling author Elle Kennedy

Everyone says opposites attract. And they must be right, because there’s no logical reason why I’m so drawn to Colin Fitzgerald. I don’t usually go for tattoo-covered, video-gaming, hockey-playing nerd-jocks who think I’m flighty and superficial. His narrow view of me is the first strike against him. It doesn’t help that he’s buddy-buddy with my brother.

And that his best friend has a crush on me.

And that I just moved in with them.

Oh, did I not mention we’re roommates?

I suppose it doesn’t matter. Fitzy has made it clear he’s not interested in me, even though the sparks between us are liable to burn our house down. I’m not the kind of girl who chases after a man, though, and I’m not about to start. I’ve got my hands full dealing with a new school, a sleazy professor, and an uncertain future. So if my sexy brooding roomie wises up and realizes what he’s missing?

He knows where to find me.

The Chase kicks off the Off-Campus spin-off series, Briar U and it features some familiar characters in Summer Hayward-Di Laurentis and Colin Fitzgerald. We first meet Summer in her brother’s book, The Score. Summer comes to visit her brother Dean at school and takes one look at Fitzy and she wants him. She’s carried a huge ol’ crush on Fitzy around with her ever since and when she transfers from Brown to Briar, things get really interesting for her.

Fitzy is attracted to Summer, of course he is but he can’t go there because 1) She’s Dean’s sister and 2) She’s the exact opposite of everything he is and everything he has no interest in being. She’s outgoing and social where he’s more reserved and more comfortable alone and at home. Sure, he’s a hockey player and he does go out from time to time, but he really loves the quiet that comes from being alone with his art and video games.

Things really get going for them when Summer moves in with Fitzy and the rest of his roommates at the Off-Campus house. She needs a place to stay and they need a roommate so win-win right? Hahaha, oh the drama that comes with Summer moving in. The shenanigans that these two get into was so much fun.

Elle Kennedy does what she does best with this book. She brings together two characters in a way that will have you itching to keep turning the pages. There’s a lot of charm, a lot of OMG that didn’t just happen moments along with characters that will make you laugh and cheer for as you keep reading.

Summer was probably my favorite part of the book even though I did come to love Fitzy but I really enjoyed getting to know Summer because she seemed to be a lot of fun in Dean’s book and that was brought to the front of the class in this one. I loved how strong she was despite being so insecure about her learning disability. Having a daughter who has a learning disability, it made me appreciate Summer’s drive and her willingness to do whatever it took to stay on top of her course studies. I also really enjoyed how she didn’t let Fitzy get away with the shit that he tried to pull with her. Her friendship with Brenna was another thing that I absolutely loved about her. She seriously rocked and even though I thought she led Hunter on for a little bit, I still really liked her.

This week’s book boyfriend is definitely Colin Fitzgerald. As pissed off as he made me, I still loved the hell out of him and his love for Summer. There were times when I wanted to punch him in the junk but as the story continued, my love for him to started to shine through. I loved how he got his shit together and really fell into being Summer’s boyfriend.

He was smart and he was a guy trying to be good and failing miserably but I liked that he did work to turn things around.

This is who I pictured as Fitzy because I love me some Josh from Younger and he fits the image that I have of Colin Fitzgerald. The tats, the good looks, I can definitely see it.

I’m really looking forward to the other books in this series, especially the next book, The Risk. Brenna completely won me over in this book and I cannot wait to see her get her happily ever after. I sincerely hope that her love ends up being Harvard guy because I’m so here for all of the heckling she’ll be doing at his games and the sparks flew all over whenever they were around each other…seriously, their story would be so epic. He’s the star of the rival team, she’s the daughter to the coach of his rival team…they’re supposed to hate each other and yet, they fall in love instead. Who wouldn’t want that story???

Anyway, back to The Chase, this book had all of Elle Kennedy’s trademark humor and sexy story time that I enjoy but there were things that I didn’t care for (the whole thing with Hunter, the way that things were handled with the professor and assistant dean then all of the douche behavior from Fitzy). Still, it was a solid effort and I ended up enjoying the book so I’m planted firmly in the I can’t wait for the next book to come out camp. If you enjoy contemporary NA with compelling characters and a steamy romance then you’ll definitely enjoy this one.

Final Grade

4 out of 5

Buy the Book

AMAZON || BARNES & NOBLE || GOOGLE BOOKS || KOBO

Briar U Series

four-stars


Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Can’t Wait Wednesday: The Chase by Elle Kennedy

Posted August 1, 2018 by Rowena in Features | 8 Comments

Can’t Wait Wednesday is hosted by Tressa at Wishful Endings and it was based on the meme Waiting on Wednesday that was hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine.

This week’s choice goes to an author that I absolutely adore. Her writing style is fantastic and her New Adult books are my absolute favorite. Her characters never fail to entertain and her stories are filled with so much charm and warmth that I always fall right into love with them. I have no doubts that this will be the case for this book…that’s why it’s this week’s Can’t Wait Wednesday choice.

Can’t Wait Wednesday: The Chase by Elle KennedyThe Chase by Elle Kennedy
Series: Briar U #1
Also in this series: The Chase
Published by Elle Kennedy on August 6, 2018
Genres: Contemporary, New Adult, Romance

Everyone says opposites attract. And they must be right, because there’s no logical reason why I’m so drawn to Colin Fitzgerald. I don’t usually go for tattoo-covered, video-gaming, hockey-playing nerd-jocks who think I’m flighty and superficial. His narrow view of me is the first strike against him. It doesn’t help that he’s buddy-buddy with my brother.

And that his best friend has a crush on me.

And that I just moved in with them.

Oh, did I not mention we’re roommates?

I suppose it doesn’t matter. Fitzy has made it clear he’s not interested in me, even though the sparks between us are liable to burn our house down. I’m not the kind of girl who chases after a man, though, and I’m not about to start. I’ve got my hands full dealing with a new school, a sleazy professor, and an uncertain future. So if my sexy brooding roomie wises up and realizes what he’s missing?

He knows where to find me.

After a short setback, Elle Kennedy announced that we’re finally getting Summer and Fitzy’s book. Just from that blurb alone, I know that Summer is going to be a lot of fun. We saw some of her spark in The Score and I can’t wait to see more of that sparkling personality up front and center. I’m also so excited to finally get more Fitzy. Fitzy has been more of a behind the scenes kind of guy in the other books but I am looking forward to getting to know the gamer nerd who plays hockey.

Also? How gorgeous is that cover? And Summer? Fitzy doesn’t stand a chance!

Pre-Order the Book

The Chase by Elle Kennedy
Releases on August 6, 2018
Apple

Any Elle Kennedy fans out of there? How excited are you guys about the release of this book? Who’s your favorite couple in the Off-Campus series?


Tags: , , ,