Author: Helena Hunting

Can’t Wait Wednesday: Meet Cute by Helena Hunting

Posted November 7, 2018 by Rowena in Features | 2 Comments

Can’t Wait Wednesday is hosted by Tressa at Wishful Endings and it was based on the meme Waiting on Wednesday that was hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine.

Can’t Wait Wednesday: Meet Cute by Helena HuntingMeet Cute by Helena Hunting
Published by Hachette, Forever on April 9, 2019
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 384
Add It: Goodreads

The New York Times bestselling author of Pucked and The Good Luck Charm delivers a Hollywood happily-ever-after where a famous heartthrob falls for his ultimate fangirl in this sexy standalone romantic comedy.

Talk about an embarrassing introduction. On her first day of law school, Kailyn ran - quite literally - into the actor she crushed on as a teenager, ending with him sprawled on top of her. Mortified to discover the Daxton Hughes was also a student in her class, her embarrassment over their meet-cute quickly turned into a friendship she never expected. Of course, she never saw his betrayal coming either...

Now, eight years later, Dax is in her office asking for legal advice. Despite her anger, Kailyn can't help feeling sorry for the devastated man who just became sole guardian to his thirteen-year-old sister. But when her boss gets wind of Kailyn's new celebrity client, there's even more at stake than Dax's custody issues: if she gets Dax to work at their firm, she'll be promoted to partner.

The more time Kailyn spends with Dax and his sister, the more she starts to feel like a family, and the more she realizes the chemistry they had all those years ago is as fresh as ever. But will they be able to forgive the mistakes of the past, or will one betrayal lead to another?

I haven’t read very many books by Helena Hunting but the last one that I read of hers, I enjoyed so of course, I wanted more. I went along the yellow link road to discover more of the newer stuff that she’s coming out with and this one caught my eye.

Awww, she has a crush on him and they become friends and then he betrays her? I want to know everything so this one landed on my wishlist and I’m hoping to read just as soon as I can.

If you’re interested in this book, it releases on April 9th and you can pre-order it at any of the fine online establishments listed below. You’re welcome! 😛

Pre-Order the Book

Meet Cute by Helena Hunting
Releases on April 9, 2019
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Google Books | Kobo

Are you a fan of Helena Hunting? Are you looking forward to this book? What other books are you looking forward to?

Tags: , , ,

Can’t Wait Wednesday: The Good Luck Charm by Helena Hunting

Posted July 18, 2018 by Rowena in Features | 6 Comments

Can’t Wait Wednesday is hosted by Tressa at Wishful Endings and it was based on the meme Waiting on Wednesday that was hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine.

Can’t Wait Wednesday: The Good Luck Charm by Helena HuntingThe Good Luck Charm by Helena Hunting
Published by Forever on August 7, 2018
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 384
Add It: Goodreads

Is it love, or is she just his good luck charm? New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Helena Hunting absolutely delights with this witty and fun standalone contemporary romance.

Lilah isn't sure what hurt worse: the day Ethan left her to focus on his hockey career, or the day he came back eight years later. He might think they can pick up just where they left off, but she's no longer that same girl and never wants to be again.

Ethan Kane wants his glory days back. And that includes having Lilah by his side. With her, he was magic. They were magic. All he has to do is make her see that.

Just when Lilah might finally be ready to let him in, though, she finds out their reunion has nothing to do with her and everything to do with his game. But Ethan's already lost her once, and even if it costs him his career, he'll do anything to keep from losing her again.

Helena Hunting writes great contemporary romances and I’m very much looking forward to The Good Luck Charm. I’ve read a few of her books and while they haven’t all been complete winners for me, I do like her writing style and I love me a good sports romance so I’m all in for this one.

Pre-Order the Book

The Good Luck Charm by Helena Hunting
Releases on August 6, 2018
Amazon || Barnes & Noble || Google Books || The Ripped Bodice

Are you a fan of Helena Hunting? What books are you looking forward to coming out soon?

Tags: , ,

Book Review: I Flipping Love You by Helena Hunting

Posted June 15, 2018 by Rowena in Features, Reviews | 2 Comments

Book Review: I Flipping Love You by Helena HuntingI Flipping Love You by Helena Hunting
Series: Shacking Up #3
Published by St. Martin's Press on May 29, 2018
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 320
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher, NetGalley
Add It: Goodreads
four-stars

A new kind of love story about flipping houses, taking risks, and landing that special someone who’s move-in ready…

SHE’S GOT CURB APPEAL

Rian Sutter grew up with the finer things in life. Spending summers in The Hamptons was a normal occurrence for her until her parents lost everything years ago. Now Rian and her sister are getting their life, and finances, back on track through real estate. Not only do they buy and sell houses to the rich and famous, but they finally have the capital to flip their very own beachfront property. But when she inadvertently catches the attention of a sexy stranger who snaps up every house from under her, all bets are off…

HE’S A FIXER UPPER

Pierce Whitfield doesn’t normally demo kitchens, install dry wall, or tear apart a beautiful woman’s dreams. He’s just a down-on-his-luck lawyer who needed a break from the city and agreed to help his brother work on a few homes in the Hamptons. When he first meets Rian, the attraction is undeniable. But when they start competing for the same pieces of prime real estate, the early sparks turn into full-blown fireworks. Can these passionate rivals turn up the heat on their budding romance — without burning down the house?

I FLIPPING LOVE YOU, set in the Shacking Up world, follows two people, both working in real estate, who find themselves vying for the same properties in the Hamptons, leading to a sometimes-not-so-friendly competition.

I Flipping Love You is the third book in Helena Hunting’s Shacking Up series and it features the heroine in the second book’s brother. Pierce Whitfield is a lawyer who goofed up his Dad’s case and is on a time-out from work. He’s filling his time with buying up beachfront properties and flipping them with his brother before renting them out. When Rian Sutter comes into his life, things get a lot more interesting.

Rian and Pierce’s romance had me giggling like a schoolgirl throughout most of the book. Pierce has no shame and his romance game is strong. He was persistent in his pursuit of Rian and I was so here for it. Pierce was my favorite part of this book. His charm, his good looks, his personality, it all worked for me and I loved seeing him fall head over heels for Rian and then seeing him fight for their relationship after all of Rian’s shenanigans.

My only gripe with this book was Rian’s reaction to finding out some stuff about Pierce. I get that she had no faith in anyone outside of her little circle with Marley but I felt that she knew Pierce and she should have known better than to jump to the conclusions that she did without even talking to Pierce. Rian was strong and she built a life from nothing with just her sister at her back and that was admirable so I wanted her to be stronger than she showed us when things got a little tough.

But, Pierce? Gah. I loved him. He’s my book boyfriend for this week.

It’s been a while since I’ve had a book boyfriend of the week and that’s been in large part to how obsessed I remain over Mad Rogan. I have loved many other heroes since I’ve finished the last book in Connor’s series but Mad Rogan remains the keeper of my book boyfriend loving heart.

I knew that I needed to save this feature because it’s been my longest running feature on any blog that I’ve had. When I was on Blogger, this was my very first feature and it’s one that has been updated and changed a little bit but it’s never been gone completely, for very long.

Pierce’s personality and his charm are what captivated me in this book and he’s the first hero that I’ve read since Mad Rogan that I could see as a book boyfriend. I just adored him so…and this is a short glimpse into why I adored him so much.

“We’re having a sleepover. We’re going to do this all night, and I’m going to cuddle you like a motherfucker after finishing sexing every last orgasm out of you.”

Here’s what Pierce looked like in my head. Isn’t he just divine????

Overall, this book was a great one that introduced a new set of characters that I came to adore. Rian and Pierce weren’t perfect but I still enjoyed getting to know the both of them. Their stories were interesting and I really enjoyed seeing them both come together. I also really enjoyed seeing them come into their own. Helena Hunting did a great job with this book and I look forward to reading more from this series and this author.

Final Grade

4 out of 5

Buy the Book

I Flipping Love You by Helena Hunting
May 29, 2018
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo

Shacking Up Series

four-stars

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Buddy Review: Hooking Up by Helena Hunting

Posted December 5, 2017 by Rowena in Reviews | 2 Comments

Buddy Review: Hooking Up by Helena HuntingHooking Up by Helena Hunting
Series: Shacking Up #2
Also in this series: I Flipping Love You
Published by Macmillan, Swerve on November 7th, 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Point of View: Alternating Third Person
Pages: 444
Format: eBook
Source: Gifted
Amazon|Barnes & Noble
Add It: Goodreads
four-stars

Amalie Whitfield is the picture of a blushing bride during her wedding reception–but for all the wrong reasons. Instead of proclaiming his undying love, her husband can be heard, by Amalie and their guests, getting off with someone else. She has every reason to freak out, and in a moment of insanity, she throws herself at the first hot-blooded male she sees. But he’s not interested in becoming her revenge screw.

Mortified and desperate to escape the post-wedding drama, Amalie decides to go on her honeymoon alone, only to find the man who rejected her also heading to the same tiny island for work. But this time he isn’t holding back. She should know better than to sleep with someone she knows, but she can’t seem to resist him.

They might agree that what happens on the island should stay on the island, but neither one can deny that their attraction is more than just physical.

Filled with hilariously scandalous situations and enough sexual chemistry to power an airplane from New York City to the South Pacific, Hooking Up is the next standalone, laugh-out-loud romantic comedy from Helena Hunting, the New York Times bestselling author of the Pucked series and Shacking Up.

Hooking Up is the second book in Helena Hunting’s Shacking Up series and it features Bancroft’s older brother, Lexington and Ruby’s best friend, Amalie.

Amalie is engaged to Bancroft and Lexington’s cousin, Armstrong and when she finds out what a piece of shit he is, Amelie goes on their honeymoon without him and runs into Lexington…a guy that keeps showing up everywhere she goes. He also has a tendency of taking care of her and Amelie is attracted big time to Lex but it’s inappropriate and she needs to keep him at arms length while she untangles herself from his cousin.

Lexington saw and wanted Amie first but his cousin slid into her DM’s when he wasn’t looking and Lex knows that Armstrong doesn’t deserve her and the day of their wedding, Armstrong proves it big time. Amie’s been through so much and when they meet up on her way to her honeymoon, Lex tries to be the friend she desperately needs only they end up becoming so much more…

Rowena: Gah, I’m so glad that you chose this book for review. I enjoyed it so much. There was a scene in the beginning of the book that I wasn’t too wild about but aside from that, I really enjoyed the back and forth between Lex and Amie. They were great characters a part from each other and I really enjoyed seeing them fall in love with each other. What a fun read this turned out to be.

What did you think, Ames?

Ames: I’m so glad you liked this book Wena! I’ve been a fan of Helena Hunting for a while now and I’m just tickled pink that you liked this book.

We first meet Amelie in Shacking Up and already in that book you know Armstrong is wrong for her. So although it was painful for her to find out how wrong he was for her, it definitely led to some personal growth for her because she was letting some bad choices from her past dictate her future…which also led to a bad choice (Armstrong). And I loved Lex. Just straight up loved him. I could see that his past with Armstrong would bite him in the ass when it came to Amie but it wasn’t dragged out and made into this whole big thing, so I really appreciated that. And I liked that they said they would be friends with benefits and stuck to it. Like she left. She hated to leave, but she left. She took some time for herself and I liked that.

Rowena: I thought Lex and Amie had a grown folks kind of romance and I was pleasantly surprised with it. I tried reading Pucked a while ago and couldn’t get into it so I was expecting more of the same with this one but I didn’t have the same reading experience. I enjoyed this one a lot more.

Lex was a great hero. Their first meeting was such a cute one and I was so bummed that Lex was caught slipping and Amie slipped through his fingers. Seeing him at Armstrong and Amie’s wedding and the shenanigans he got into there had me laughing and then raising my eyebrows and then laughing all over again. This was such a fun book!

Amie was a solid heroine too. The back and forth thing she had going with Lex was kind of annoying but more than anything, I understood it. She felt that considering everything she was wrapped up in, a relationship with Lex was inappropriate and I liked seeing her figure her shit out while lusting after Lex.

Their romance was fun, it was sexy and I really need to go back and read Bancroft and Ruby’s book. But dude, what is with all of the names in this series? Armstrong? Bancroft? Lexington? Those are all last names. Haha.

Ames: The Pucked series humor is a bit more…I don’t want to say raunchy but it is (and I love it). LOL So I know that series isn’t for everyone.

This romance was fun and sexy. Man did I ever want to go away to a tropical location. Especially now that its freaking cold here.

All right. I really enjoyed this book so I’m finding it difficult to say anything more. It’s so much easier to go on and on with books we don’t enjoy. Hooking Up gets a B+ from me. You?

Rowena: Same. It was a great romance with great characters. The writing style was great and the humor really shined for me so there isn’t much more to say that isn’t redundant. I give this book a 4.25 out of 5. That’s the same as a B+.

Final Ratings

Ames: B+
Rowena: 4.25 out of 5

Shacking Up Series

four-stars

Tags: , , , , , , , ,