Author: Lauren Blakely

The Weekly Recap (154)

Posted September 21, 2020 by Rowena in Books, Features, TV Shows | 0 Comments

Last week was for learning the BTS fan chant, watching a whole bunch of BTS videos on Youtube, taking a night drive along the coast with my friend and talking about the shows we’re watching and the new BTS songs that we’re listening to and loving. We were so wrapped up in our talking that we missed the earthquake. Oh well.

Now, let’s get into all of the things that I did last week…

What I’m Currently Watching

Record of Youth
Do You Like Brahms?
BTS: Burn the Stage (The Series)

What I Watched

My Shy Boss | DNF
Master’s Sun | 3.75 out of 5
BTS: Love Yourself Concert in New York | 5 out of 5

Record of Youth, Episodes 3-4: Another solid week of new episodes of this show. I’m really enjoying the chemistry between Park Bo Gum and Park So Dam. They look cute together, they’re a lot of fun to watch and I’m really liking the confidence that Sa Hye Jun is developing. I just know that his best friend is going to start liking Joeng Ha. Ehh, I’m not looking forward to that development but I am dying to see Grandpa modeling.

Do You Like Brahms?, Episodes 5-6: The drama is really picking up on this one and I’m here for it. I’m really enjoying the romance between Joon Young and Song a. I didn’t think I’d be into this show because I’m not a listener of classical music and the only music that I really listen to on the piano is Church music. But I can’t wait for this week’s episodes, I’m itching to find out how Joon Young is going to react to Song a’s confession. He better get it!!

What I’m Currently Reading
The Weekly Recap (154)Never Have I Ever by Lauren Blakely
Series: Always Satisfied #3
Published by Self-Published, Lauren Blakely on July 30, 2019
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Point of View: First Person
Pages: 378
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: 2020 Goodreads Challenge

Falling for the enemy has never been so deliciously complicated in this standalone romance where a sexy single dad meets his unexpected match! Get ready for all the feels!

Never have I ever been so infuriated by a man I wanted to kiss.They say opposites attract, but I beg to differ. Combust is more like it. Because every single time I talk to Zach Nolan, I see red.

The too-good-looking, too-smart, too-effortlessly charming single dad who works down the hall from me has turned getting under my skin into a sport. Call it the battle of wits between the wedding planner and the divorce attorney.

Trouble is, when we're forced into closer quarters planning an engagement party for our best friends, I start to see his other sides.

And I fear I'm falling for the enemy.

I'm not out to make friends. My goals are simple -- fight till the end for my clients, and my family.

The last thing I need is a vibrant, outgoing, snarky, and surprisingly big-hearted wedding planner to spend my precious free time with...except, watching Piper bond with my daughter just might break down the cinder block walls I've built around my heart these last few years.

Second chances don't come around for guys like me...or do they?

We had another book besties zoom call last week and it was decided that we would read another book together and this was the book that was chosen. It’s a re-read for me but I’m excited to read it again. I absolutely LOVED it when I read it earlier this year so I’m looking forward to jumping back in.

What I Read

Shine by Jessica Jung | 4 out of 5

I finished this book this morning. It took me a while to get it read but I got it done and I’m glad that I finished it. Now I just need to write my review for it.

Eye Candy Friday

Jung Joon Hyung
Weightlifting Fairy, Kim Bok Joo

What I Reviewed


The Man from Nowhere | 4.25 out of 5
Big | DNF
Tempted | DNF
Hwarang: The Poet Warrior Youth | DNF
Goblin | 4.75 out of 5
Fight for My Way | 4.5 out of 5

What I Posted

The Weekly Recap (153)
Eye Candy Friday: Jung Joon Hyung

What’s On My Radar for Next Week

Rent a Boyfriend by Gloria Chao
Forgotten
Encounter

Discovering BTS has really put a damper on everything else in my life. I am loving them too much to focus on anything else. I don’t see myself becoming a k pop fan because if I get as obsessed as I am for BTS for another group, I wouldn’t have any time for anything else and I really don’t want that to happen. I mention all of that because these were on my radar from last week’s recap post and they’re back on my radar for this week. I’m going to get to these this week, for realsies.

What Made Me Laugh

There you have it, my week in review. How was your week?

Tags: , , , ,

Week in Review (93)

Posted July 9, 2018 by Rowena in Books, Features | 2 Comments

This past week was a really busy one for me so I didn’t get as much reading done as I thought I would. We had our family pictures this past Saturday and with 8 siblings and a crapload of children, it was an ordeal that took hours in the middle of a heat wave that practically melted the whole lot of us. We survived though and that was great. As soon as I have pictures to share, I’ll share.

This week was also for finally celebrating Chach’s return from her mission. She spoke in Church on Sunday and gave a really great speech, which she ended in Portuguese. She’s so grown now and it’s great to see. We celebrated with a huge to’ona’i (Sunday dinner) at the house and there was a good turn out and loads of food, too. I’m glad to have everyone here but I’m also looking forward to getting back to normal.

My mind is still blown away by the fact that Lebron James is going to be a Laker. As a lifelong Laker fan, the last few seasons have been pretty hard because we haven’t made the playoffs in a while. Seeing that it might be possible again and that we have the star power to really contend again is exciting. I can’t wait to see how this pans out for us. Seriously, GO LAKERS!

Now, onto the books…

What I’m Currently Reading
Week in Review (93)The Real Deal by Lauren Blakely
Published by Macmillan, St. Martin's Griffin on July 10, 2018
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 368
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher, NetGalley
Add It: Goodreads

Get ready for your next favorite romantic comedy, THE REAL DEAL! April Hamilton wants you to know she hasn't been on Craigslist since that time she sold her futon after college. She doesn't even spend that much time online. And even if she did, she would not be looking up personal ads. But going home alone for her family's summer reunion is an invitation for every single relative to butt into her personal life. She simply can't handle another blind date with the butcher, the baker or the candlestick maker from her hometown. So when she finds the Craigslist ad for a boyfriend-for-hire, she's ready to pay to play.


Heading Home and Need a Buffer? I'm the REAL DEAL.


Theo Banks has been running from the past for years. He's this close to finally settling all his debts, and one more job as a boyfriend-for-hire will do the trick. He's no gigolo. Please. He's something of an actor, and he knows how to slip into any role, including pretending to be April's new beau -- the bad boy with the heart of gold.

Even if it means sleeping in close quarters in that tiny little bed in her parents' inn. Even if it means spinning tales of a romance that starts to feel all too true. What neither one of them counts on is that amid the egg toss, the arm wrestling, and a fierce game of Lawn Twister that has them tangled up together, they might be feeling the real deal.

She only wanted to show her family once and for all that she had no need to settle down.

He didn't expect to have the time of his life at her parent's home.

They didn't plan on loving every single second of the game.

But can a masterful game of pretend result in true love?

I’ve been mighty intrigued about this book since I first heard about it and I started it last night. So far, so good. Already I’m digging both April and Theo’s character and the whole fake dating thing is working for me so I’m hoping that stays the same throughout the rest of my reading. Wish me luck!

What I Read

Coming Undone (Brown Family #2) by Lauren Dane | 4.25 out of 5

Coming Undone was the only book that I read last week and it was also the first book that I read for my Summer Reading Challenge over at Book Binge. I chose my first read of the challenge from Holly’s list and it was a fantastic read. I adored Brody, Rennie and Elise. Such a great story.

My Book Boyfriend of the Week

Michael Phan
The Kiss Quotient by Helen Hoang

What I Reviewed

Good Kids (2016) | 3.75 out of 5
The Kiss Quotient by Helen Hoang | 5 out of 5

What I Posted

Week in Review (92)
Monthly Recap: June 2018
Can’t Wait Wednesday: When a Duke Loves a Woman by Lorraine Heath

What I Got


Book Boyfriend (Book Boyfriends #1) by Claire Kingsley
Cocky Roommate (Book Boyfriends #2) by Claire Kingsley
The Soldier Prince by Aarti V. Raman
Coming Undone (Brown Family #2) by Lauren Dane
Cocky Client (Steamy Coffee Reads #3) by Whitney G.
Beginner’s Luck (Chance of a Lifetime #1) by Kate Clayborn
Luck of the Draw (Chance of a Lifetime #2) by Kate Clayborn

What I Got for Review

No new review books this week. Mostly because I haven’t been keeping track of what’s out for review but I’ll catch up soon, I’m sure.

There you have it, my week in review. How was your week?

Tags: , , ,

Week in Review (92)

Posted July 2, 2018 by Rowena in Books, Features | 4 Comments

Bren and Ken are home from Utah and my niece Chach is back from Brazil. Everyone is here in L.A. to celebrate Chach’s return from her mission and while I’m thrilled, I’m also super tired. Aside from that, Bren and I have a bunch of stuff to take care of this week so that she can go on her vacation back to Utah for my sister’s husband’s family reunion. Lots and lots of crap to do. I am not looking forward to that.

Now, onto the books…

What I’m Currently Reading
Week in Review (92)The Real Deal by Lauren Blakely
Published by Macmillan, St. Martin's Griffin on July 10, 2018
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 368
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley, Publisher
Add It: Goodreads

Get ready for your next favorite romantic comedy, THE REAL DEAL!

April Hamilton wants you to know she hasn't been on Craigslist since that time she sold her futon after college. She doesn't even spend that much time online. And even if she did, she would not be looking up personal ads. But going home alone for her family's summer reunion is an invitation for every single relative to butt into her personal life. She simply can't handle another blind date with the butcher, the baker or the candlestick maker from her hometown. So when she finds the Craigslist ad for a boyfriend-for-hire, she's ready to pay to play.

Heading Home and Need a Buffer? I'm the REAL DEAL.

Theo Banks has been running from the past for years. He's this close to finally settling all his debts, and one more job as a boyfriend-for-hire will do the trick. He's no gigolo. Please. He's something of an actor, and he knows how to slip into any role, including pretending to be April's new beau -- the bad boy with the heart of gold.

Even if it means sleeping in close quarters in that tiny little bed in her parents' inn. Even if it means spinning tales of a romance that starts to feel all too true. What neither one of them counts on is that amid the egg toss, the arm wrestling, and a fierce game of Lawn Twister that has them tangled up together, they might be feeling the real deal.

She only wanted to show her family once and for all that she had no need to settle down.

He didn't expect to have the time of his life at her parent's home.

They didn't plan on loving every single second of the game.

But can a masterful game of pretend result in true love?

I’m starting the month of July with The Real Deal by Lauren Blakely. I really adored the cover and the blurb so I’m looking forward to jumping right into this book. Should be a fun one.

What I Read

The Fragile Ordinary by Samantha Young | 4.25 out of 5
Hard Sell by Lauren Layne | 4.75 out of 5
The Accidentals by Sarina Bowen | 4 out of 5

Book Boyfriend of the Week

Alec Rossi
Speakeasy by Sarina Bowen

What I Reviewed

Incredibles 2 (2018) | 5 out of 5
Speakeasy (True North #5) by Sarina Bowen | 4.25 out of 5

What I Posted

Week in Review (91)
Mid Year Book Freak Out Tag: 2018
My TBR Pile: July 2018

What I Got

Save the Date by Carrie Aarons
Crank (The Gibson Boys #1) by Adriana Locke
Cross (The Gibson Boys #2.5) by Adriana Locke
Getting Schooled by Emma Chase
Baby Daddy by Kendall Ryan

What I Got for Review

All the Way by Kristen Proby

There you have it, my week in review. How was your week?

Tags: , , ,