Author: Lauren Layne

Eye Candy Friday: Clarke West from Marriage on Madison Avenue by Lauren Layne

Posted February 14, 2020 by Rowena in Books, Features | 2 Comments

Eye Candy Friday is all about the heroes and heroines that I’m loving and wanting to spotlight right now. Sometimes I’ll do full-on gush fest posts on why I love these guys, sometimes I’ll post pictures of what I think they look like and that’s it but if they’re featured here, the one thing that will be constant is I loved the hell out of them and want everyone to know. Thanks for coming along for the ride.

First and foremost, Happy Valentine’s Day everyone! I hope you are all celebrating it however the hell you want to celebrate it.

Eye Candy Friday: Clarke West from Marriage on Madison Avenue by Lauren LayneMarriage on Madison Avenue by Lauren Layne
Series: The Central Park Pact #3
Published by Gallery Books on January 28, 2020
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Point of View: Third Person
Pages: 288
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Add It: Goodreads
three-half-stars

From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Can guys and girls ever be just friends? According to Audrey Tate and Clarke West, absolutely. After all, they’ve been best friends since childhood without a single romantic entanglement. Clarke is the charming playboy Audrey can always count on, and he knows that the ever-loyal Audrey will never not play along with his strategy for dodging his matchmaking mother—announcing he’s already engaged…to Audrey.

But what starts out as a playful game between two best friends turns into something infinitely more complicated, as just-for-show kisses begin to stir up forbidden feelings. As the faux wedding date looms closer, Audrey and Clarke realize that they can never go back to the way things were, but deep down, do they really want to?

Today’s eye candy is Clarke West from Marriage on Madison Avenue by Lauren Layne. You can read all about what I thought about Clarke’s book here.

Hero Casting

The Central Park Pact

Have you read Marriage on Madison Avenue? Did you love Clark West as much as I did? Who is your favorite character this week?

three-half-stars

Tags: , , , , , ,

The Wednesday Post (22)

Posted November 13, 2019 by Rowena in Books, Features | 4 Comments

Can’t Wait Wednesday is hosted by Tessa over at Wishful Endings and it was based on Waiting on Wednesday that was hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. WWW Wednesday is a weekly meme that is hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words.

I decided that I’m going to do a mashup of the Can’t Wait Wednesday and WWW Wednesday posts here on my blog. I’m bringing them together and calling it The Wednesday Post. Here’s what I’m up to this week.

WWW Wednesday

What did you recently finish reading?

Open House (Uptown #2) by Ruby Lang

This is the first book that I’ve read by Ruby Lang but it won’t be my last. I enjoyed Open House and loved both Magda and Ty. They were a great couple that were grown folks trying to figure things out and I enjoyed that about them. They weren’t fixated on stupid things that didn’t matter in the long run and I liked how open and honest they were with each other, even when they knew it wouldn’t have worked out…I enjoyed watching them figure out how to be together. Good stuff.

What are you currently reading?

Goddess of Spring by P.C. Cast

My reading in the last few weeks has been really slow but I have to get this book read because book club is coming up this Monday and I’m still in the early days of this book. I need to kick this reading slump in the ass and get on with reading already. Wish me luck.

What do you think you’ll read next?

The One for You (The Ones that Got Away #4) by Roni Loren
Don’t Break Me by Ash Ley

I was supposed to have started The One for You last week but I didn’t read a damn thing last week so I’m pushing it until next. I have to read Goddess of Spring first so that I can give myself time to finish it before Monday but after that? It’s Kincaid time. I’m also planning on reading Don’t Break Me as well. That one looks really good.

Can’t Wait Wednesday
The Wednesday Post (22)Yours In Scandal by Lauren Layne
Series: Man of the Year #1
Published by Amazon, Montlake Romance on March 10, 2020
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Add It: Goodreads

A political golden boy and the woman of his dreams take the risk of their lives in a sexy romantic comedy of strange bedfellows and second chances by New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne.

Fresh off being named Citizen magazine’s Man of the Year, New York City’s youngest mayor, Robert Davenport, decides it’s time to strategize. Next move: a bid for the governor’s seat. In his way: an incumbent with a flawless reputation. He also has an Achilles’ heel: an estranged wild-child daughter with a past so scandalous it could be Robert’s ticket to victory. And a charm so irresistible it could be Robert’s downfall.

Rebellion is a thing of the past for Adeline Blake. As New York’s premier event planner, she’s all about reform and respectability. Then she’s approached by Robert to organize the party of the season. Curious, considering he’s her father’s most formidable opponent. And alarming, too. Because Addie can’t help but fall for the righteously popular candidate with the movie-star smile.

Now it’s Robert’s choice. Does he pursue a future that holds his legacy? Or the woman who holds his heart?

Are you guys surprised that I’m looking forward to yet another Lauren Layne book? I’m complete trash for any and all things Lauren Layne so yeah, I’m looking forward to this one and I’ve got my fingers crossed that it will be just as good as I’m hoping. This book is the first book in a new series from LL and the hero is a mayor and the heroine is an event planner that promises to be just as awesome as all of the other LL heroines that I love and adore. Mark your calendars, this book comes out on March 10, 2020 so we still have a few months to wait but oh man, I can’t wait!!

So, what are you reading this week? Anything good? Anything that you want to rant about?
Are you looking forward to Yours in Scandal? What other books are you looking forward to releasing this year?

Tags: , , , , , ,

Eye Candy Friday: Kennedy Dawson from Huge Deal by Lauren Layne

Posted February 15, 2019 by Rowena in Books, Features | 8 Comments

Eye Candy Friday is all about the heroes that I’m loving and wanting to spotlight right now. Sometimes I’ll do full-on gush fest posts on why I love these guys, sometimes I’ll post pictures of what I think these guys look like and that’s it but if they’re featured here, the one thing that will be constant is I loved the hell out of these guys and want everyone to know. Thanks for coming along for the ride.

Eye Candy Friday: Kennedy Dawson from Huge Deal by Lauren LayneHuge Deal by Lauren Layne
Series: 21 Wall Street #3
Published by Amazon, Montlake Romance on February 12, 2019
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Point of View: Alternating Third Person
Pages: 259
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Add It: Goodreads
five-stars
Reading Challenges: 2019 GoodReads Challenge

Even for a top-gun banker, temptation this hot is quite a gamble, in a sexy Wall Street romp from New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne.

An alpha among the wolves of Wall Street, Kennedy Dawson rose to the top of the pack by striking the right contracts at the right times. But there’s one deal that’s been giving him a run for his money—a pact to never again let his assistant, Kate, get under his skin. She may be smart, gorgeous, and sharp as a whip, but she’s definitely off-limits.

Kate Henley isn’t a banker, but she knows a thing or two about risk management—specifically, about managing her attraction to her smolderingly sexy boss. She already fell once, and Kennedy showed no sign of paying a return on her investment. So when Kennedy’s brother starts pursuing her, Kate figures she has the best of both worlds. Jack is charming, rich, very attentive, and the spitting image of his older brother.

It’s also making Kennedy think twice. But to win Kate’s heart, he’ll have to broker the deal of a lifetime…and prove he’s worth the risk.

Today’s boyfriend is Kennedy Dawson from Huge Deal by Lauren Layne. Kennedy is the hero of the third book in Layne’s 21 Wall Street series and the book came out this week and I ate that shit up in one sitting because…I loved this guy. So, so much.

Hero Casting

This is the perfect Kennedy Dawson, IMO. I pictured this guy the entire time that I was reading and loving Kennedy in his book. He’s got the looks, the chin and just the rich boy air that I imagined Kennedy having. If you want to know why I loved Kennedy, you should read his book because he’s bomb as hell.

Buy the Book

AMAZON || BARNES & NOBLE || GOOGLE BOOKS

21 Wall Street Series

Have you read Huge Deal by Lauren Layne yet? If so, did you love Kennedy as much as I did? Did you love Jealous Kennedy even more?

five-stars

Tags: , , ,

The Wednesday Post (4)

Posted January 23, 2019 by Rowena in Books, Features | 10 Comments

So I’ve been playing around with things that I want to do on this blog and I’ve been wanting to do a mid-week check in so that I can chat about the books that I’m reading that week. What’s working for me and what’s not but I also want to keep a running list of books that I cannot wait to get my greedy little hands on. I decided that I’m going to do a mashup of the Can’t Wait Wednesday and WWW Wednesday posts here on my blog.

Can’t Wait Wednesday is hosted by Tessa over at Wishful Endings and it was based on Waiting on Wednesday that was hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. WWW Wednesday is a weekly meme that is hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words.

Now…on to the books.

WWW Wednesday

What did you recently finish reading?

One and Only (Bridesmaids Behaving Badly #1) by Jenny Holiday

Oh man, this was such a cute book. I loved seeing Cameron and Jane fall in love. Jenny Holiday is a new to me author that I discovered after seeing Nick of The Infinite Limits of Love review the first couple of books in this series. I just knew that I would enjoy this series and I wasn’t wrong. Nick never steers me wrong.

What are you currently reading?

It Takes Two (Bridesmaids Behaving Badly #2) by Jenny Holiday

I’m finishing up this book and I’m loving it more than I loved One and Only. Noah and Wendy’s story is hitting me all up in my feels. I just adore their bickering and my heart hurts for Wendy but also for Noah after he realizes the truth about prom night. Holy cow, Jenny Holiday is the bomb!

What do you think you’ll read next?

Merrily Ever After (Bridesmaids Behaving Badly #2.5) by Jenny Holiday

Of course I’ll be jumping right into this book right after I finish It Takes Two. How can I not? Crazy Bridezilla Elise? She needs her turn to shine and I’m so here for it!

Can’t Wait Wednesday
The Wednesday Post (4)Huge Deal by Lauren Layne
Series: 21 Wall Street #3
Published by Amazon, Montlake Romance on February 12, 2019
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Point of View: Alternating Third Person
Format: eBook
Add It: Goodreads

Even for a top-gun banker, temptation this hot is quite a gamble, in a sexy Wall Street romp from New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne.

An alpha among the wolves of Wall Street, Kennedy Dawson rose to the top of the pack by striking the right contracts at the right times. But there’s one deal that’s been giving him a run for his money—a pact to never again let his assistant, Kate, get under his skin. She may be smart, gorgeous, and sharp as a whip, but she’s definitely off-limits.

Kate Henley isn’t a banker, but she knows a thing or two about risk management—specifically, about managing her attraction to her smolderingly sexy boss. She already fell once, and Kennedy showed no sign of paying a return on her investment. So when Kennedy’s brother starts pursuing her, Kate figures she has the best of both worlds. Jack is charming, rich, very attentive, and the spitting image of his older brother.

It’s also making Kennedy think twice. But to win Kate’s heart, he’ll have to broker the deal of a lifetime…and prove he’s worth the risk.

I’m looking forward to a lot of books. I’m a book nerd, how can I not be? But for some reason, I’m looking forward to this book’s release the most. This series really snuck up on me. I was expecting to enjoy it, but I wasn’t expecting to love it as much or hell, even more than the Oxford series or even the Sex, Love, and Stiletto’s series. But man, the amount of pins and needles that I’m sitting on waiting for this book to come out is ridiculous. I cannot wait for Kennedy and Kate’s book. I need it more than I need anything else. Gah, I can’t wait! January needs to hurry up and be done so that we can get to February 12th. Once midnight strikes on February 12th, I’m reading this book.

So, what are you reading this week? Anything good? Anything that you want to rant about?
Are you looking forward to Huge Deal by Lauren Layne? What other books are you looking forward to releasing this year?

Tags: , , , ,

The Wednesday Post (3)

Posted January 16, 2019 by Rowena in Books, Features | 16 Comments

So I’ve been playing around with things that I want to do on this blog and I’ve been wanting to do a mid-week check in so that I can chat about the books that I’m reading that week. What’s working for me and what’s not but I also want to keep a running list of books that I cannot wait to get my greedy little hands on. I decided that I’m going to do a mashup of the Can’t Wait Wednesday and WWW Wednesday posts here on my blog.

Can’t Wait Wednesday is hosted by Tessa over at Wishful Endings and it was based on Waiting on Wednesday that was hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. WWW Wednesday is a weekly meme that is hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words.

Here are the books from my reading week so far.

WWW Wednesday

What did you recently finish reading?

The Wrong Game by Kandi Steiner

I was hoping that I’d like this book a lot more than I did. I was bored with a lot of the last half of the book and the first half of the book, the heroine annoyed the shit out of me but the hero was the bomb and I adored him. So it wasn’t the best but it wasn’t the worst book ever so..:()

What are you currently reading?

Blood Kiss (Black Dagger Legacy #1) by J.R. Ward

My book club meeting is fast approaching (on Monday) so I really need to get this book read and a discussion prepped for it. I am not a fan of J.R. Ward so really…wish me luck!

What do you think you’ll read next?

One and Only (Bridesmaids Behaving Badly #1) by Jenny Holiday

I have the third book in this series for review and it comes out next week so I need to hurry up and get this read as well. I’m looking forward to diving into this series since I’ve been hearing nothing but good things about it. Woot!

Can’t Wait Wednesday
The Wednesday Post (3)Passion on Park Avenue by Lauren Layne
Series: The Central Park Pact #1
Published by Simon & Schuster, Gallery Books on May 28, 2019
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 288
Add It: Goodreads

From the author of the New York Times bestselling Stiletto and Oxford series, the first in a sizzling new series following the unlikely friendship of three Upper East Side women as they struggle to achieve their dreams and find true love and happiness in the city that never sleeps.

For as long as she can remember, Bronx-born Naomi Powell has had one goal: to prove her worth among the Upper East Side elite—the same people for which her mom worked as a housekeeper. Now, as the strongminded, sassy CEO of one of the biggest jewelry empires in the country, Naomi finally has exactly what she wants—but it’s going to take more than just the right address to make Manhattan’s upper class stop treating her like an outsider.

The worst offender is her new neighbor, Oliver Cunningham—the grown son of the very family Naomi’s mother used to work for. Oliver used to torment Naomi when they were children, and as a ridiculously attractive adult, he’s tormenting her in entirely different ways. Now they find themselves engaged in a battle-of-wills that will either consume or destroy them…

Filled with charm and heart and plenty of sex and snark, this entertaining series will hook you from the very first page.

I’m pretty thirsty for this book to come out already. I will devour anything and everything that Lauren Layne releases and I’m not even ashamed about that. She’s at the top of my favorite authors lists and I enjoy her writing style so much. I have every faith that this book is going to be the bomb so this is what I look like right now…

So, what are you reading this week? Anything good? Anything that you want to rant about?
Are you looking forward to Passion on Park Avenue? What other books are you looking forward to releasing this year?

Tags: , , , , ,