Author: Lisa Kleypas

Eye Candy Friday: West Ravenel from Devil’s Daughter by Lisa Kleypas

Posted June 7, 2019 by Rowena in Books | 2 Comments


Eye Candy Friday is all about the heroes that I’m loving and wanting to spotlight right now. Sometimes I’ll do full-on gush fest posts on why I love these guys, sometimes I’ll post pictures of what I think these guys look like and that’s it but if they’re featured here, the one thing that will be constant is I loved the hell out of these guys and want everyone to know. Thanks for coming along for the ride.

Eye Candy Friday: West Ravenel from Devil’s Daughter by Lisa KleypasDevil's Daughter
by Lisa Kleypas
Series: The Ravenels #5
Also in this series: Marrying Winterborne
Published by Harper Collins, Avon on February 19, 2019
Genres: Historical, Romance
Point of View:Alternating Third Person
Pages: 375
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Add It: Goodreads
four-half-stars

New York Times bestselling author Lisa Kleypas delivers a scintillating tale of a beautiful, young widow who finds passion with the one man she shouldn't...

Although beautiful young widow Phoebe, Lady Clare, has never met West Ravenel, she knows one thing for certain: he's a mean, rotten bully. Back in boarding school, he made her late husband's life a misery, and she'll never forgive him for it. But when Phoebe attends a family wedding, she encounters a dashing and impossibly charming stranger who sends a fire-and-ice jolt of attraction through her. And then he introduces himself...as none other than West Ravenel.

West is a man with a tarnished past. No apologies, no excuses. However, from the moment he meets Phoebe, West is consumed by irresistible desire...not to mention the bitter awareness that a woman like her is far out of his reach. What West doesn't bargain on is that Phoebe is no straitlaced aristocratic lady. She's the daughter of a strong-willed wallflower who long ago eloped with Sebastian, Lord St. Vincent—the most devilishly wicked rake in England.

Before long, Phoebe sets out to seduce the man who has awakened her fiery nature and shown her unimaginable pleasure. Will their overwhelming passion be enough to overcome the obstacles of the past?

Only the devil's daughter knows...

Today’s boyfriend is Weston Ravenel from Devil’s Daughter by Lisa Kleypas. You can read my review for his book here. It’s months later and I’m still thinking about him because he’s the bomb. I adored his personality, I adored the way that he was with Phoebe’s kids and I really adored the way he was with Phoebe. What I really loved about West is that we saw the big change happen in him from book 1 to his book, book 5, he became a man’s man who shouldered responsibility and tried to be better and was. He came a long way and I admired the hell out of him for it. He didn’t shy away from recognizing what an asshole he was but he tried to be better and he was. He’s one of my favorite heroes of the year.
Hero Casting
This is exactly who I pictured when reading about West. The girls over at Under the Covers book blog casted him first and it’s seriously perfect.
Buy the Book
AMAZON || BARNES & NOBLE || GOOGLE BOOKS || THE RIPPED BODICE
The Ravenels Series

four-half-stars

2 Comments
Tags: , , ,

The Weekly Recap (120)

Posted February 4, 2019 by Rowena in Books, Features | 6 Comments

It was another quiet week for me. Just basketball and nerdy reading tracker things that I’m doing because my freaking friend Holly drives me crazy (Love you, bitch). Now that I’ve started trying to bring this reading tracker to life, I don’t want to do much else until it is complete and functioning the way that Holly and I envisioned. Brenna and Kenna won both of their games this week and Meghan’s team split their two games. They won the game they were supposed to win but they lost the game that they needed to win. Oh well. Brenna was one of the top leading scorers for her last game and that’s always nice. Kenna led in assists on Friday and that’s pretty dope too because a lot of her dimes were so nice looking. Now, onto the books…
What I’m Currently Reading
The Weekly Recap (120)Devil's Daughter
by Lisa Kleypas
Series: The Ravenels #5
Also in this series: Marrying Winterborne
Published by Harper Collins, Avon on February 19, 2019
Genres: Historical, Romance
Point of View:Alternating Third Person
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher, Edelweiss
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges:2019 GoodReads Challenge

New York Times bestselling author Lisa Kleypas delivers a scintillating tale of a beautiful, young widow who finds passion with the one man she shouldn't...

Although beautiful young widow Phoebe, Lady Clare, has never met West Ravenel, she knows one thing for certain: he's a mean, rotten bully. Back in boarding school, he made her late husband's life a misery, and she'll never forgive him for it. But when Phoebe attends a family wedding, she encounters a dashing and impossibly charming stranger who sends a fire-and-ice jolt of attraction through her. And then he introduces himself...as none other than West Ravenel.

West is a man with a tarnished past. No apologies, no excuses. However, from the moment he meets Phoebe, West is consumed by irresistible desire...not to mention the bitter awareness that a woman like her is far out of his reach. What West doesn't bargain on is that Phoebe is no straitlaced aristocratic lady. She's the daughter of a strong-willed wallflower who long ago eloped with Sebastian, Lord St. Vincent—the most devilishly wicked rake in England.

Before long, Phoebe sets out to seduce the man who has awakened her fiery nature and shown her unimaginable pleasure. Will their overwhelming passion be enough to overcome the obstacles of the past?

Only the devil's daughter knows...

I meant to start this over the weekend but like all of the plans I make, this one fell through. I didn’t read much of anything over the weekend but I’m hoping to change that tonight because it’s West and Phoebe. I need to read their romance pronto!
What I Read
Fame, Fate, and the First Kiss by Kasie West | 3.75 out of 5 The Scoundrel in Her Bed (Sins for All Season #3) by Lorraine Heath | 4.5 out of 5
What I Reviewed
Blood Kiss (Black Dagger Legacy #1) by J.R. Ward | 4 out of 5 The Wrong Game by Kandi Steiner | 2.5 out of 5 Governess Gone Rogue (Dear Lady Truelove #3) by Laura Lee Guhrke | 4 out of 5
What I Posted
The Weekly Recap (119) The Wednesday Post (5) My TBR Pile: February 2019
What I Got
Free (Chaos #7) by Kristen Ashley
What I Got for Review
Nothing new this week.
What Made Me Laugh
There you have it, my week in review. How was your week?

6 Comments
Tags: ,

Buddy Review: Dreaming of You by Lisa Kleypas

Posted April 25, 2017 by Rowena in Reviews | 0 Comments

Buddy Review: Dreaming of You by Lisa KleypasDreaming of You
by Lisa Kleypas
Series: Gamblers of Cravens #2
Published by Harper Collins, Avon on June 30th 2015
Genres: Historical, Romance
Point of View:Alternating Third Person
Pages: 373
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Add It: Goodreads
four-stars

She stood at danger's threshold—then love beckoned her in.

In the shelter of her country cottage, Sara Feilding puts pen to paper to create dreams. But curiosity has enticed the prim, well-bred gentlewoman out of her safe haven—and into Derek Craven's dangerous world.

A handsome, tough and tenacious Cockney, he rose from poverty to become lord of London's most exclusive gambling house—a struggle that has left Derek Craven fabulously wealthy, but hardened and suspicious. And now duty demands he allow Sara Fielding into his world—with her impeccable manners and her infuriating innocence. But here, in a perilous shadow-realm of ever-shifting fortunes, even a proper "mouse" can be transformed into a breathtaking enchantress—and a world-weary gambler can be shaken to his cynical core by the power of passion...and the promise of love.

Ames: It’s been ages since I’ve re-read Dreaming of You but it’s still a favorite, even after all these years. What about you Wena, did you still enjoy it? Rowena: Yes! It took me a while to read it this time around but that had more to do with my reading slump than my enjoyment of the book. I still loved the hell out of ornery ass Derek Craven and I still adored Sara. It was also great to see Lily, Alex and Nicole again and all of the workers. What wasn’t so much fun again was being reunited with stupid ass Joyce Ashby or whatever her stupid name was. As great as this re-read was, I was annoyed with Derek for not doing something about Joyce. I mean, sure there wouldn’t have been much of a story but dude…you’re putting your loved ones in danger by not handling Joyce. I low key wanted him to finish strangling that stupid bitch. Is my bloodthirst showing too much? Haha. Ames: Um…just a little bit! LOL I still get swept up into their story. Derek was literally born in a gutter and raises himself to probably man the richest guy in England. And Sara is a bit of a country mouse but she has such strength of character and bravery so it’s no wonder Derek falls for her. I too didn’t care for the ex-mistress piece but it didn’t bother me too much. I loved how all his employees love her and are protective of her. You know what bothered me? The young man back home that Sara thought she was going to marry…ugh I can’t remember his name. What an odious prig of a character! Spineless since his mom still ran his life and then he has the gall to say things to Sara when she wants him to kiss her? HE bugged me. Rowena: I haven’t re-read this book very much but I’m glad that we chose this book as this month’s buddy review book because I loved getting to know Derek Craven again. He was so mean and yet it was so obvious that he loved the hell out of Sara. I don’t care what anyone says, that he carried Sara’s glasses close to his heart completely melted me. I loved seeing Sara teach him to love, seeing him soften toward her until he was so full of love for her that he didn’t know if he would survive without her. Perry was such a waste of a man. The way that he was turned off that his fiancee wanted to kiss him made me want to knee him in the balls. Sara deserved so much more than the likes of him. I loved that Sara was all for shoving Derek’s wealth in their faces with her parent’s new house. So what were some of your favorite scenes in this book? Ames: Perry! I couldn’t remember his name. LOL I loved that Derek kept her glasses too. They are such a part of her and he had to have a piece of her to himself. Awww. Ok, there’s a scene at the beginning, after Derek’s face is cut up and Sara rescues him. The doctor who’s come to stitch Derek up finds out Sara is an author and he’s talking to her about her character Mathilda and Derek is all “Excuse me, I’m frigging bleeding to death.” This scene made me laugh. Another scene that was more touching was when Derek flips right out when he thinks Sara died in the fire. Heartbreaking. What about you? Rowena: My favorite scene in the book is when Derek finally says I love you to Sara and then explains why he couldn’t say it before. My heart hurt for him so much because he literally came from nothing and even when he had everything, he didn’t think he deserved it. He didn’t see himself as a person worthy of good things. So when he realizes that Sara is not dead and he’s crushing her to him and begging her not to leave him? Ugh, hit me right in the feels. That scene after Derek’s attack was a good one too. Funny. I also liked when Joyce took Sara and Sara tells the driver that if he doesn’t help her, her husband is going to make him pay. The complete faith that she had in Derek warmed my heart. This was such a great book. So full of passion and love and I just ate everything up. I have so much love for this one so yay for us on choosing to read it again. I give this book a 4.25 out of 5. You?​ Ames: Those are all good scenes. This book is definitely chock full of goodness. Which is why I do like to re-read it from time to time and it is on my list of all time favourite books. I love how devoted Derek is to Sarah and the depth of their love, but another thing that always appeals is Sarah’s strength. It’s understated but when she was in danger, she totally handled herself! Like you I’m giving this one a 4.25 out of 5.
four-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Buddy Review: Marrying Winterborne by Lisa Kleypas

Posted March 21, 2017 by Rowena in Reviews | 2 Comments

Buddy Review: Marrying Winterborne by Lisa KleypasMarrying Winterborne
by Lisa Kleypas
Series: The Ravenels #2
Published by Harper Collins, Avon on May 31st 2016
Genres: Historical, Romance
Point of View:Alternating Third Person
Pages: 416
Format: eBook
Source: Gifted
Add It: Goodreads
four-stars

A ruthless tycoon

Savage ambition has brought common-born Rhys Winterborne vast wealth and success. In business and beyond, Rhys gets exactly what he wants. And from the moment he meets the shy, aristocratic Lady Helen Ravenel, he is determined to possess her. If he must take her virtue to ensure she marries him, so much the better…

A sheltered beauty

Helen has had little contact with the glittering, cynical world of London society. Yet Rhys’s determined seduction awakens an intense mutual passion. Helen’s gentle upbringing belies a stubborn conviction that only she can tame her unruly husband. As Rhys’s enemies conspire against them, Helen must trust him with her darkest secret. The risks are unthinkable… the reward, a lifetime of incomparable bliss. And it all begins with…

Marrying Mr. Winterborne

Rowena: Marrying Winterborne is the second book in the Ravenels series by Lisa Kleypas and its the book that Ames and I chose to buddy review for March. This book follows Lady Helen Ravenel, as she falls in love with Mr. Rhys Winterborne. This book kicks off when Helen pays a visit to Rhys to let him know that she does not wish for their engagement to end. Rhys has been smarting ever since Helen’s sister in law came to him and told him that Helen wanted to end their engagement (without telling him herself) and that she didn’t want to ever see him again. Kathleen, Helen’s sister in law didn’t tell Helen what she was doing. She just took it upon herself to end Helen’s engagement without consulting with Helen or Helen’s guardian, her cousin Devon first. Now, I have my own thoughts about that and I would have stayed mad about how all of that came about but Kathleen apologized to Helen and like Helen, I forgave her. So Helen has to talk to Rhys and explain to him what happened and literally propose to him to get him to agree to stay engaged to her and this was the start of Helen growing into her own. When we first meet Helen in the first book, she is quiet and reserved and always trying to keep the peace at the same time that she’s trying to stay in the background. It was only when Rhys came to her home, injured and in need of some tender caring that Helen came out of her shell to help take care of him and nurse him back to health. Rhys, on the other hand wants Helen. He’s wanted her ever since he opened his eyes and laid them on her so he was pissed when her sister in law came to tell him that Helen doesn’t want to marry him. Rhys has issues with not being accepted by the aristocracy and you see him struggling to overcome those issues over the course of the book. I thought that Helen really brought out a more caring Rhys and I absolutely adored that. So what about you, Ames. What did you think about this one? Ames: I thoroughly enjoyed Marrying Winterborne! I was reminded at tiimes of Dreaming of You and that made me like this one even more. Helen is a gentle lady and Rhys was this big bold businessman who didn’t want to appear vulnerable in any way. But Helen was definitely his weakness! I love when the big tough guy is brought to his knees by his love for a woman. And that was Rhys. Helen definitely got under his skin. And I have to say, this book definitely starts with a bang! I like that Helen went to him to fix what Kathleen had said and that he jumped on that and sealed the deal. Helen can come across as a meek pushover but she had a core of steel and she definitely went toe to toe with him after that. She had a quiet strength that was what he needed. I loved Rhys character and him and Helen together were great. I do have a complaint about Helen though. I was starting to get SO ANNOYED with her over her not telling Rhys her secret. Like how many chances did she have? I mean she more than made up for it with what she does what she does right after (rescuing you know who) but seriously, if she hadn’t of done that and kept wringing her hands over telling Rhys, I would not have enjoyed this book. But just as I was getting to the tipping point, Lisa Kleypas flips a switch and I got over it and loved Helen again. LOL What did you think of Helen, Wena? Rowena: Overall, I really liked Helen. I loved seeing why she was so reserved and getting to understand the burden that she has been carrying for a long time. I loved seeing her blossom into someone who didn’t need others to think or act on her behalf and seeing her go to Rhys in the beginning made me sit up and cheer for her because that took a lot of balls. I loved that she really came into her own person throughout this entire book but like you, I was hella annoyed that it took her so long to come clean with Rhys about her big ass secret. Also like you, had Helen not done what she did, my enjoyment of the book would have suffered but Kleypas takes care of us and we should probably learn to trust her already. Sheesh. LOL. Ames: I agree, we should trust her. But I really don’t like getting annoyed with characters so I was really bracing for the worst. haha But Helen also had a redeeming quality – I don’t like blackmail so I was very happy with how she handled that situation. Overall, I loved Rhys and Helen’s story. These were two characters I could get behind and I enjoyed how their story played out. I’m giving Marrying Winterborne 4 out of 5. Rowena: Between Helen taking so long to come clean and Rhys being a dickhead from time to time, I didn’t enjoy this one as much as the first one but it’s still a solid read. Lisa Kleypas writes wonderfully romantic stories and this is no exception. Rhys and Helen’s story was dramatic and passionate and I enjoyed it. I couldn’t wait to jump into the next book so that’s saying something. I give this one 3.75 out of 5.
four-stars

2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,