Author: Nalini Singh

The Weekly Recap (140)

Posted October 28, 2019 by Rowena in Books, Features | 4 Comments

This week was for Friday Night Lights (we lost), Pee Wee Football (we lost), Lakers basketball (we’re finally winning again, yippy skippy!), and a trip to Santa Clarita to visit my cousin’s husband who is in the hospital. It’s been a rough couple of weeks for my cousin and her kids so it was nice to get to spend some time with them and lift their spirits for a little while. If you guys can spare any prayers for Ka Seiuli, that would be great. One of my coworkers lost his Dad to the battle of cancer as well and that makes me super sad for him. It’s been a sad week all around but it’s the start of a new week and hopefully, things turn around.

Now, onto the books…

What I’m Currently Reading
The Weekly Recap (140)A Madness of Sunshine by Nalini Singh
Published by Penguin, Berkley on December 3, 2019
Genres: Mystery, Suspense, Thriller
Point of View: Third Person
Pages: 352
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Add It: Goodreads

New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh welcomes you to a remote town on the edge of the world where even the blinding brightness of the sun can’t mask the darkness that lies deep within a killer…

On the rugged West Coast of New Zealand, Golden Cove is more than just a town where people live. The adults are more than neighbors; the children, more than schoolmates.   That is until one fateful summer—and several vanished bodies—shatters the trust holding Golden Cove together. All that’s left are whispers behind closed doors, broken friendships, and a silent agreement not to look back. But they can’t run from the past forever.   Eight years later, a beautiful young woman disappears without a trace, and the residents of Golden Cove wonder if their home shelters something far more dangerous than an unforgiving landscape.   It’s not long before the dark past collides with the haunting present and deadly secrets come to light.

Next up on my review pile is A Madness of Sunshine by Nalini Singh. I haven’t seen much about this book so far so I’m going into this one pretty blind. I’m only on Chapter 2 so we’ll see how this goes. This is completely new from Nalini Singh, so I’m mighty curious to see what she brings to the thriller and suspense world. Either way, I’m here for it.

What I Read

Blitzed (The Playbook #3) by Alexa Martin (eARC) | 3.25 out of 5
Four Days of You and Me by Miranda Kenneally (eARC) | 4.25 out of 5
Saving Grace by Julie Garwood (eBook) (Re-Read) | 5 out of 5

Getting Played (Getting Some #2) by Emma Chase (Audio) | 4.25 out of 5

I really enjoyed the books that I read this week. My favorite reads of the week go to Getting Played and Four Days of You and Me. Both books were fun and just what I was in the mood for so I adored them. My least favorite read of the week goes to Blitzed because it dragged a big for me. I wasn’t expecting the story to be so slow so it took me a lot longer to connect with the romance, the characters, and just everything.

Eye Candy Friday

Dean Walker
Getting Played (Getting Some #2) by Emma Chase

What I Reviewed

Moonlighter (The Company #1) by Sarina Bowen | 4.25 out of 5
The Play (Briar U #3) by Elle Kennedy | 4.25 out of 5
10 Blind Dates by Ashley Elston | 4 out of 5

What I Posted

The Weekly Recap (139)
The Wednesday Post (20)
Eye Candy Friday: Dean Walker from Getting Played by Emma Chase

What I Got

Crush, Interrupted by Zaida Polanco
Never Got Over You by Whitney G.
Getting Schooled by Christine C. Jones
Don’t Break Me by Ash Ley
Goddess of Spring (Goddess Summoning #2) by P.C. Cast

What I Got for Review

Open House (Uptown #2) by Ruby Lang
The Earl Takes a Fancy (Sins for All Seasons #5) by Lorraine Heath

What Made Me Laugh

There you have it, my week in review. How was your week?

Tags: , , , ,

The Wednesday Post (7)

Posted February 13, 2019 by Rowena in Books, Features | 4 Comments

So I’ve been playing around with things that I want to do on this blog and I’ve been wanting to do a mid-week check in so that I can chat about the books that I’m reading that week. What’s working for me and what’s not but I also want to keep a running list of books that I cannot wait to get my greedy little hands on. I decided that I’m going to do a mashup of the Can’t Wait Wednesday and WWW Wednesday posts here on my blog.

Can’t Wait Wednesday is hosted by Tessa over at Wishful Endings and it was based on Waiting on Wednesday that was hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. WWW Wednesday is a weekly meme that is hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words.

WWW Wednesday

What did you recently finish reading?

Huge Deal (21 Wall Street #3) by Lauren Layne

I just finished this book and I loved every freaking word. Kennedy and Kate were everything I was hoping for and I still can’t get over Jealous Kennedy. Jealous Kennedy is the best!

What are you currently reading?

River Marked (Mercy Thompson #6) by Patricia Briggs
The Madness of Lord Ian Mackenzie (Mackenzies & McBrides #1) by Jennifer Ashley

I’m reading River Marked for my TBR Challenge this month. I’m really enjoying it so far so I’m hopeful that it will continue to rock my socks. Mercy Thompson, man, she continues to be my favorite!

I’m also listening to The Madness of Lord Ian Mackenzie for my team buddy review over on Book Binge. That’s another wonderful historical romance. It’s a re-read for me but I feel like I’m reading it for the first time cause I had forgotten so much about it. I’m really enjoying both Ian and Beth and the other Mackenzie’s as well.

What do you think you’ll read next?

Only a Breath Apart by Katie McGarry

This is next up on my review pile. I need to get that pile down some because I keep requesting books even though I swore I wouldn’t. Oh well, I’ll get it done. I always do.

Can’t Wait Wednesday
The Wednesday Post (7)Wolf Rain by Nalini Singh
Series: Psy-Changelings Trinity #3
Published by Penguin, Berkley on June 4, 2019
Genres: Paranormal, Romance
Point of View: Alternating Third Person
Pages: 416
Add It: Goodreads

New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh takes us on a new adventure in this next novel of the Psy-Changeling Trinity series…

The end of Silence was supposed to create a better world for future generations. But trust is broken, and the alliance between Psy, Changeling, and human is thin. The problems that led to Silence are back in full force. Because Silence fixed nothing, just hid the problems.

This time, the Psy have to find a real answer to their problems–if one exists. Or their race will soon go extinct in a cascade of violence. The answer begins with an empath who is attuned to monsters–and who is going to charm a wolf into loving her despite his own demons.

Are you guys surprised that I’m featuring a contemporary romance on this week’s post? Haha, I do read other genres, not very often, but it’s been known to happen and the Psy-Changelings series is my favoritest paranormal romance series ever and the spin off is shaping up to be fun too. So, of course I’m looking forward to the next release.

So, what are you reading this week? Anything good? Anything that you want to rant about?
Are you looking forward to Wolf Rain? What other books are you looking forward to releasing this year?

Tags: , , , ,

Book Boyfriend: Raj Sen from Rebel Hard by Nalini Singh

Posted November 2, 2018 by Rowena in Features | 10 Comments

This feature keeps changing because I’m trying different things out but I think I’m going to stick with this format from here on out. Thanks for coming along this ride until I figure out what the hell I want to do here. LOL.

Book Boyfriend: Raj Sen from Rebel Hard by Nalini SinghRebel Hard by Nalini Singh
Series: Hard Play #2
Published by Nalini Singh on September 18, 2018
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Point of View: Alternating Third Person
Pages: 409
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Add It: Goodreads
four-stars

New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh continues her Hard Play series with a sweet, sexy romance featuring big, fat, OTT weddings, a meddling grandma, and a too-serious hero who needs to be unbuttoned…

Nayna Sharma agreed to an arranged marriage in the hope it would heal the fractures in her beloved family… only to realize too late that a traditional marriage is her personal nightmare. Panicked, she throws caution to the winds, puts on the tiniest dress she can find, and ends up in the arms of a tall, rough-edged hunk of a man who has abs of steel—and who she manages to mortally insult between one kiss and the next.

Abandoned as a child, then adopted into a loving family, Raj Sen believes in tradition, in continuity. Some might call him stiff and old-fashioned, but he knows what he wants—and it’s a life defined by rules… yet he can’t stop thinking about the infuriating and sexy woman who kissed him in the moonlight then disappeared. When his parents spring an introduction on him, the last woman he expects is her. Beautiful. Maddening. A rulebreaker in the making.

He’s all wrong for her. She’s all wrong for him. And love is about to make rebels of them both.

This week’s book boyfriend is Raj Sen from Rebel Hard by Nalini Singh. Rebel Hard is the second book in Singh’s Hard Play series and he’s my book boyfriend this week because I read this book weeks ago and Raj is still one of my favorite heroes that I read in the month of October.

Rebel Hard is a diverse romance that I connected with on so many levels. The Indian culture and the Polynesian culture are kind of similar in the way that they treat their elders and the way that they think about their spouses and futures. Raj’s sense of tradition and his longing to wed an Indian woman and lead a traditional Indian life is something that I understood. I know a lot of Samoans who want to marry other Samoans to lead and bring up their kids in the Samoan way. I really admired Raj for how much he came to love Nayna and his attitude toward the kind of future they could have together.

There wasn’t anything that he wouldn’t do for her and I loved the lengths that he went to, to make sure she knew that her future was safe and hers to choose. All he wanted was to be by her side through it all. There’s a part in the book where Raj thinks this:

Raj watched Nayna sleep that night and knew he might be the architect of his own heartbreak. The Nayna she was now wanted him, but the Nayna she became as she found her wings… that Nayna might decide a man so rooted in tradition and culture wasn’t the man she wanted by her side.

Man, it hurt my heart to see him thinking these things because he didn’t think he was enough for Nayna and I wanted to smack Nayna upside her head for not seeing what was right in front of her for so long. The angst was real in this book and Raj just kept right on winning me over left and right. The way that he wouldn’t let her parents or his parents rush Nayna into coming to accept him and a marriage between them on her own and without outside influence. The way that he supported her hopes and her dreams made me swoon into a puddle of love for him. He was honestly such a great guy and I wanted so much for him to get the happy ending he wanted and was thrilled when he finally did.

On top of being one of the sweetest heroes that I’ve read about in a long time, Raj was always a Mr. Sexy Pants. He worked hard and his hard work paid off with a body that was sculpted from the Gods. I completely adored everything about him and if you haven’t met him yet, you should change that because Raj Sen is such a great hero and I know that you love him.

Hero Casting

This is who I pictured in my head while I was getting to know Raj. I think he fits the description well and I adore the hell out of this guy.

Buy the Book

AMAZON || BARNES & NOBLE || GOOGLE BOOKS || KOBO || THE RIPPED BODICE

Hard Play Series

four-stars

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Throwback Thursday: Slave to Sensation by Nalini Singh

Posted October 4, 2018 by Rowena in Features, Reviews | 6 Comments

Each week, I’ll be writing a review for an oldie but goodie that I’ve read through again to see if these books are holding up for me. I’m a different person than I was when I read these books, older and wiser (at least I hope) so I’m curious to see if books that I used to love can stand the test of time.

Throwback Thursday: Slave to Sensation by Nalini SinghSlave to Sensation by Nalini Singh
Narrator: Angela Dawe
Series: Psy-Changelings #1
Published by Penguin, Berkley on September 1, 2010
Genres: Paranormal, Romance
Point of View: Alternating Third Person
Pages: 334
Format: Audiobook
Source: Purchased
Length: 9 hours, 39 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
five-stars

Nalini Singh dives into a world torn apart by a powerful race with phenomenal powers of the mind-and none of the heart.

In a world that denies emotions, where the ruling Psy punish any sign of desire, Sascha Duncan must conceal the feelings that brand her as flawed. To reveal them would be to sentence herself to the horror of "rehabilitation" - the complete psychic erasure of everything she ever was...

Both human and animal, Lucas Hunter is a changeling hungry for the very sensations the Psy disdain. After centuries of uneasy coexistence, these two races are now on the verge of war over the brutal murders of several changeling women. Lucas is determined to find the Psy killer who butchered his packmate, and Sascha is his ticket into their closely guarded society. But he soon discovers that this ice-cold Psy is very capable of passion - and that the animal in him is fascinated by her. Caught between their conflicting worlds, Lucas and Sascha must remain bound to their identities - or sacrifice everything for a taste of darkest temptation.

While browsing through the romance package on Audible the other day, I came across this audiobook and figured, “Why not?”. I needed something to listen to at work and I’m not sure if it’s because Halloween coming up or what, but I’m in the mood for paranormal, urban fantasy or just straight up fantasy books. Because most of my work is mindless and on the computer, I can get through an entire audiobook in one work day so I try to listen to at least 3 audiobooks every week.

It’s been a bit since I last read this book but man was it just as good as the first time I read it. I am just as intrigued with this series and the characters, the storyline and just everything about this book worked for me.

Lucas Hunter is the Alpha of the DarkRiver changeling pack and is overseeing the building of changelings housing when he’s approached from the Psy to build some housing they’re hoping to sell. His Psy liaison is Sascha Duncan and even though he doesn’t trust her as far as he can throw her, he’s attracted. Hella attracted to her and the more time that they spend together, the more he’s sure that he will have her. Things are complicated for him because he’s hunting a Psy serial killer who is attacking changelings and that more than anything else should be his top priority.

Sascha Duncan has a full plate of her own. As daughter to one of the Psy Council Members, she’s used to being under a microscope and because of that, it makes keeping her secret a lot harder but she does what she needs to do to survive and being around Lucas is making things even harder for her.

Gah, this is such a fantastic supernatural world to get lost in. Nalini Singh does such a great job of building a world that will grip you from beginning to end. I think I enjoyed this read a lot more this time around because I understand the world now. I didn’t spend any time trying to figure out what the hell a Psy is and who are all of the Changelings, stuff like that. I didn’t realize how much I missed this world until I started listening to this book.

This was such a great start to one of my all time favorite series and if you haven’t read this, you’re missing out. Nalini Singh is a magician and this book is only one of the reasons why. Lucas and Sascha will worm their way into your heart and all of their loved ones will too so you should really get this book, read it and love it right alongside me. I promise, it’s good. I’m SO glad I re-read this one.

Buy the Book

AMAZON || BARNES AND NOBLE || GOOGLE BOOKS || KOBO || THE RIPPED BODICE

Final Grade

4.75 out of 5

Psy-Changeling Series

five-stars

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

The Weekly Recap (105)

Posted October 1, 2018 by Rowena in Books, Features | 2 Comments

Happy first day of October, everyone! Can you believe that there are only three more months left in the year 2018? On one hand, I’m ready to say goodbye to this messed up year but on the other hand, I’m not ready for a new year. Not yet anyway. Maybe I’ll be ready in December. Fingers crossed.

Anyway, this last week was for celebrating baby Jax’s first birthday. It was also for celebrating my North High Saxons defeating Jax’s Grandpa’s Torrance High Tartars. Haha. So as you can see, it was a damn good day in my North High household. Haha, it gave us loads to discuss at Jax’s birthday party. 🙂 Jax’s birthday party was adorable. It was a Lumberjack party theme and Jax was dressed up as Lumberjax. It was too cute!

Brenna and Makenna also had their first pre-season tournament for their school basketball team in Ventura and that is about an hour away from us, I wasn’t feeling good so my brother Pete went to support them. Their team isn’t that good this year but Makenna’s Mom said they’re not as bad as we were thinking. Pete told them that depending on how well they play, will determine where they ate afterward, when he texted me during the game, he said, “It’s looking like we’re eating at McDonalds” so they sucked right alongside their teammates. SMH. It’s just pre-season so hopefully, they’ll get better.

Speaking of pre-season, NBA BASKETALL is back which means that Lebron James played in his first game as a Laker and I was super stoked about that. We lost to the dratted Denver Nuggets but I saw a lot of good stuff from our team so I’m hopeful that they’ll iron out all of the kinks soon and that we’ll be a true contending team soon. Fingers crossed. Today at 1pm, I’ll be glued to my work TV watching as my Dodgers battle the Colorado Rockies (boo!) for the National League Division title. I’m sending all of my good vibes to our boys in blue, especially Walker Buehller who will be pitching today. I hope our bats show up. GO BLUE!

Now, onto the books…

What I’m Currently Reading
The Weekly Recap (105)Rebel Hard by Nalini Singh
Series: Hard Play #2
Published by Self-Published, Nalini Singh on September 18, 2018
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Point of View: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 409
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Add It: Goodreads

New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh continues her Hard Play series with a sweet, sexy romance featuring big, fat, OTT weddings, a meddling grandma, and a too-serious hero who needs to be unbuttoned…

Nayna Sharma agreed to an arranged marriage in the hope it would heal the fractures in her beloved family… only to realize too late that a traditional marriage is her personal nightmare. Panicked, she throws caution to the winds, puts on the tiniest dress she can find, and ends up in the arms of a tall, rough-edged hunk of a man who has abs of steel—and who she manages to mortally insult between one kiss and the next.

Abandoned as a child, then adopted into a loving family, Raj Sen believes in tradition, in continuity. Some might call him stiff and old-fashioned, but he knows what he wants—and it’s a life defined by rules… yet he can’t stop thinking about the infuriating and sexy woman who kissed him in the moonlight then disappeared. When his parents spring an introduction on him, the last woman he expects is her. Beautiful. Maddening. A rulebreaker in the making.

He’s all wrong for her. She’s all wrong for him. And love is about to make rebels of them both.

I started this book on Friday but never actually got any reading done since I’m still on Chapter 2 and it’s Monday. I didn’t read at all this weekend but I’m hoping to get some reading in today and knock this one out. Wish me luck!

What I Read

America’s Sweetheart (Real Love #5) by Jessica Lemmon (eARC) | 4 out of 5
Never Love a Highlander (McCabe Trilogy #3) by Maya Banks (Audiobook) | 4.5 out of 5
Kissing Madeline (Dearest #3) by Lex Martin (Audiobook) | 4 out of 5

My favorite read of the week goes to Never Love a Highlander by Maya Banks because hot damn, that was a damn good book. I adored grumpy ass Caelen and Rionna. They were a perfect match for each other. I didn’t have a least favorite read of the week. I enjoyed all of the books that I read.

Book Boyfriend

Alaric McCabe
Seduction of a Highland Lass by Maya Banks

What I Reviewed

The Duke Buys a Bride (The Rogue Files #3) by Sophie Jordan
Getting Schooled (Getting Some #1) by Emma Chase
The Breakup (Jordan Brothers #2) by Erin McCarthy
The Gift (Crown’s Spies #4) by Julie Garwood

What I Posted

The Weekly Recap (104)
Can’t Wait Wednesday: 99 Percent Mine by Sally Thorne
Book Boyfriend: Alaric McCabe from Seduction of a Highland Lass by Maya Banks

What I Got

Archangel’s Consort (Guild Hunter #3) by Nalini Singh
Archangel’s Blade (Guild Hunter #4) by Nalini Singh
Archangel’s Storm (Guild Hunter #5) by Nalini Singh
Archangel’s Legion (Guild Hunter #6) by Nalini Singh
Archangel’s Shadows (Guild Hunter #7) by Nalini Singh

What I Got for Review

99 Percent Mine by Sally Thorne

What Made Me Laugh

I’m counting on you guys…haha.

There you have it, my week in review. How was your week?

Tags: , ,