Author: Roni Loren

The Weekly Recap (141)

Posted November 4, 2019 by Rowena in Books, Features | 4 Comments

This week was Halloween and Caiden was in town with his Mom to attend our family Halloween party for the first time. We were super excited for him to get here and he was the cutest Hulk Smash ever! It got dark really fast in California so we didn’t get a lot of pictures while the sun was up. Our neighborhood was hoppin’ too because we were still getting trick or treaters after 9pm. We had a good turn out for our party, the food was good and we had family in town for Chase’s senior night the next night.

Friday was for Chase. Big Uce graduates from high school this year and he’s playing in his last football season so we’ve been supporting him every week at the stadium, cheering for him and tailgating and you know, being together as a family. For Chase’s Senior Night, the family came out strong. Chloe, Markus, and Caiden came in from Utah. Uncle Chris and Aunty Ingrid came in from Vegas and then we had all of our local families in attendance as well. And we all got to walk out on the field with him during the Senior Recognition Night. It was a good game, even though Chase got into it with some guy from the other team but only the other guy got kicked out of the game because he actually swung on Chase.

All of my teams got wins on Friday. Chase won his game against South High School and the Lakers beat the Dallas Mavericks. Big ups for L.A. 🙂

Here’s our family picture at Chase’s senior night. This was before Chase got over to us. While we’re taking this picture, Chase is passing out candy lei’s to all of his homies.

Saturday was for our Roberts family baby shower for Niko and Britt and Logan! It was a fun baby shower and I was part of the kitchen crew. I didn’t mind my job since I got the recipe for a bomb ass broccoli salad that everyone loves. So as you can see, it was a busy week for me, which is why I only read one book this week.

Now, onto the books…

What I’m Currently Reading
The Weekly Recap (141)The One for You by Roni Loren
Series: The Ones that Got Away #4
Also in this series: The One You Can't Forget
Published by Sourcebooks, Sourcebooks Casablanca on December 31, 2019
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Point of View: Third Person
Pages: 352
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Add It: Goodreads

The highly-anticipated fourth book in Roni Loren's unforgettable The Ones Who Got Away series.

She got a second chance at life.Will she take a second chance at love?

Kincaid Breslin wasn't supposed to survive that fateful night at Long Acre when so many died, including her boyfriend—but survive she did. She doesn't know why she got that chance, but now she takes life by the horns and doesn't let anybody stand in her way

Ashton Isaacs was her best friend when disaster struck all those years ago, but he chose to run as far away as he could. Now fate has brought him back to town, and Ash doesn't know how to cope with his feelings for Kincaid and his grief over their lost friendship. For Ash has been carrying secrets, and he knows that once Kincaid learns the truth, he'll lose any chance he might have had with the only woman he's ever loved.

I only read one book last week and this week, I’m determined to get back on track. I’m reading this book and so far, so good. Nick really loved this one so I’m excited to dig more into Kincaid’s story.

What I Read

A Madness of Sunshine by Nalini Singh | 4 out of 5

Eye Candy Friday

Scott Turner
Love on Lexington by Lauren Layne

What I Reviewed

Bringing Down the Duke by Evie Dunmore | 4 out of 5

What I Posted

The Weekly Recap (140)
The Wednesday Post (21)
My TBR Pile: November 2019
Eye Candy Friday: Scott Turner from Love on Lexington Avenue by Lauren Layne

What I Got

It’s been a busy week for me so I haven’t purchased anything this week.

What I Got for Review

Love Lettering by Kate Clayborn
Meet Me at Midnight by Jessica Pennington

What Made Me Laugh

There you have it, my week in review. How was your week?

Tags:

The Weekly Recap (115)

Posted December 17, 2018 by Rowena in Books, Features | 6 Comments

I’ve got nothing for you guys this week since I didn’t really do much at all last week but have dinner with my work friend that quit and left to be someone else’s work friend. Now, we’re just friends. Haha. Oh, I did have our final book club meeting of the year and that was a lot of fun. My Book Club Jeopardy is a hit and we played that.

Anyway, I’m going to let my girl Luucybee greet you this fine, Monday morning…:)

If you’re looking for a straight up, no-nonsense IG profile to follow then you should follow Luucybee, she cracks me right up. She’s refreshingly honest and straightforward about everything. Her facial expressions, her personality, it’s all just fantastic and worth the follow. I promise.

Now, onto the books…

What I’m Currently Reading
The Weekly Recap (115)The One You Fight For by Roni Loren
Series: The Ones Who Got Away #3
Published by Sourcebooks, Sourcebooks Casablanca on January 1, 2019
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Point of View: Alternating Third Person
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Add It: Goodreads

How hard would you fight for the one you love? Taryn Landry was there that awful night fourteen years ago when Long Acre changed from the name of a town to the title of a national tragedy. Everyone knows she lost her younger sister. No one knows it was her fault. Since then, psychology professor Taryn has dedicated her life's work to preventing something like that from ever happening again. Falling in love was never part of the plan...

Shaw Miller has spent more than a decade dealing with the fallout of his brother's horrific actions. After losing everything―his chance at Olympic gold, his family, almost his sanity―he's changed his name, his look, and he's finally starting a new life. As long as he keeps a low profile and his identity secret, everything will be okay, right?

When the world and everyone you know defines you by one catastrophic tragedy...How do you find your happy ending?

I’m trying really hard to get back into the swing of reading because the past couple of weeks have been slow af on the reading tip. I haven’t read very much of anything and the worse thing about it all is I’m not even in the mood to read. So much for my ending the year strong. *sigh*

Oh well.

Well, I’m reading this book and I’ve been seeing a lot of good things about it around the other blogs so I’m hoping that it’ll jump me right out of my reading slump. Pray for me!

What I Read

Mystery Man (Dream Man #1) by Kristen Ashley | 1 out of 5

I know, I know….this reading slump that I’m in is so bad that I only read one book last week and I freaking hated it. The hero was a controlling dickhead and the heroine was a floozy of the highest degree. The only part of the book that I liked was when it ended.

Book Boyfriend

Reid Campbell
My Favorite Half Night Stand by Christina Lauren

What I Reviewed

Ache for You (Slow Burn #3) by J.T. Geissinger | 1 out of 5
Fall (VIP #3) by Kristen Callihan | 4.25 out of 5
Bone Crossed (Mercy Thompson #4) by Patricia Briggs | 4 out of 5
Mornings on Main by Jodi Thomas | 3 out of 5
Dumplin (2018) | 4.5 out of 5

What I Posted

The Weekly Recap (114)
Can’t Wait Wednesday: Field Notes on Love by Jennifer E. Smith
Book Boyfriend: Reid Campbell from My Favorite Half Night Stand by Christina Lauren

What I Got

Hoops Holiday by Kennedy Ryan
Jock Rule (Jock Hard #2) by Sara Ney
Luna and the Lie by Mariana Zapata

What I Got for Review

Three Little Words (Bridesmaids Behaving Badly #3) by Jenny Holiday

What Made Me Laugh

There you have it, my week in review. How was your week?

Tags: , ,

The Weekly Recap (113)

Posted December 3, 2018 by Rowena in Books, Features | 2 Comments

This week was a pretty busy one for me at work, though it was a quiet one at home. I’m spring cleaning the hell out of our office to get it ready for our Christmas party this week. I’ve been getting rid of old electronics that nobody uses, trash that people thought they’d need but haven’t touched in years. It’s been nice to come into a clean office every day and I’m happy with the progress that I’ve made.

At home, Brenna and Kenna are busy with basketball. As is Meghan. Meghan’s last first conference game was this past weekend and her team won big so I’m happy for her. She’s playing well and I’m going to miss seeing her play. Bren is still out of commission from playing but after this week, we’re hopeful that she’ll be back on the court all healed up. Kenna is holding it down on the court though, playing well and just smart basketball. I’m glad for her.

Caiden went home on Thursday and I miss him something fierce. He’s been busy since he got back home though. His Grandma Blanche and Graunty Delene were in town with him for the weekend so he was enjoying some time with them, they went and got their Christmas tree on Saturday and put it together that night and it looked so pretty. Nicely lit, beautiful decorations and then they went to Church on Sunday and came home to find their beautiful tree knocked over with ornaments all over the place, haha. What poor luck. Bren and Ken FaceTimed them last night and they were putting the house back together after the mess the tree left from falling over. All is well again…and it’ll be well again in L.A. because Caiden will be coming back this weekend with Chloe to go to Disneyland with Chloe and her best friend so that means more Caiden time for us. Yay!!

Now, onto the books…

What I’m Currently Reading
The Weekly Recap (113)The One You Fight For by Roni Loren
Series: The Ones that Got Away #3
Also in this series: The One You Can't Forget
Published by Sourcebooks, Sourcebooks Casablanca on January 1, 2019
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Point of View: Alternating Third Person
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher, Edelweiss
Add It: Goodreads

How hard would you fight for the one you love? Taryn Landry was there that awful night fourteen years ago when Long Acre changed from the name of a town to the title of a national tragedy. Everyone knows she lost her younger sister. No one knows it was her fault. Since then, psychology professor Taryn has dedicated her life's work to preventing something like that from ever happening again. Falling in love was never part of the plan...

Shaw Miller has spent more than a decade dealing with the fallout of his brother's horrific actions. After losing everything―his chance at Olympic gold, his family, almost his sanity―he's changed his name, his look, and he's finally starting a new life. As long as he keeps a low profile and his identity secret, everything will be okay, right?

When the world and everyone you know defines you by one catastrophic tragedy...How do you find your happy ending?

I started reading this book last night because it’s back to my review pile for me. I took a short break from it so that I can get some books on my Kindle Unlimited and TBR pile read but December has kicked off and I have hella January review books that need to be read and reviewed so this is the first book off of that pile.

So far, this is okay. Not much is going on right now but the hero and the heroine did meet and there’s going to be hella drama, I’m sure since the hero is the brother of the shooter that killed the heroine’s sister. Yikes.

What I Read

My Favorite Half Night Stand by Christina Lauren (eARC) | 4 out of 5
Ache for You (Slow Burn #3) by J.T. Geissinger (Audiobook) | 1 out of 5
Once and For All by Sarah Dessen (eBook) | 4 out of 5

Book Boyfriend

Caleb Scott
Fight or Flight by Samantha Young

What I Reviewed

Archangel’s Consort (Guild Hunter #3) by Nalini Singh | 4 out of 5

What I Posted

The Weekly Recap (112)
My TBR Pile: December 2018
Can’t Wait Wednesday: Don’t Forget about Me by Mhairi McFarlane
Five Christmas Movies I Want to Watch

What I Got

Nothing.

What I Got for Review

The Dating Game by Kiley Roache

What Made Me Laugh

There you have it, my week in review. How was your week?

Tags: , ,

Can’t Wait Wednesday: The One You Fight For by Roni Loren

Posted October 3, 2018 by Rowena in Features | 10 Comments

Can’t Wait Wednesday is hosted by Tressa at Wishful Endings and it was based on the meme Waiting on Wednesday that was hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine.

Can’t Wait Wednesday: The One You Fight For by Roni LorenThe One You Fight For by Roni Loren
Series: The Ones that Got Away #3
Also in this series: The One You Can't Forget
Published by Sourcebooks, Sourcebooks Casablanca on January 1, 2019
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Point of View: Alternating Third Person
Pages: 416
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Add It: Goodreads

How hard would you fight for the one you love?

Taryn Landry was there that awful night fourteen years ago when Long Acre changed from the name of a town to the title of a national tragedy. Everyone knows she lost her younger sister. No one knows it was her fault. Since then, psychology professor Taryn has dedicated her life's work to preventing something like that from ever happening again. Falling in love was never part of the plan...

Shaw Miller has spent more than a decade dealing with the fallout of his brother's horrific actions. After losing everything―his chance at Olympic gold, his family, almost his sanity―he's changed his name, his look, and he's finally starting a new life. As long as he keeps a low profile and his identity secret, everything will be okay, right?

When the world and everyone you know defines you by one catastrophic tragedy...How do you find your happy ending?

This week’s book is part of a series that I’m really enjoying right now. It’s the third book in the The Ones that Got Away series by Roni Loren and I cannot wait to read it. It comes out next year and I’m pretty anxious to dig in because the synopsis paints this to be such an interesting one.

I can’t imagine falling in love with someone closely related to the person that plays such a huge part in the biggest nightmare of my life. It sounds like all kinds of drama and I’m so here for it.

Mark your calendars if you’re interested in this one because it comes out on January 1, 2019 and if it’s as good as the other books in this series, then we’re in for a treat. You can read my reviews for the first two books here, The Ones that Got Away and The One You Can’t Forget.

Pre-Order the Book

AMAZON || BARNES & NOBLE || GOOGLE BOOKS || KOBO || THE RIPPED BODICE

The Ones That Got Away Series

Tags: , , , , , ,

Review: The One You Can’t Forget by Roni Loren

Posted June 22, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 6 Comments

Review: The One You Can’t Forget by Roni LorenThe One You Can't Forget by Roni Loren
Series: The Ones that Got Away #2
Published by Sourcebooks on June 5, 2018
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Point of View: Alternating Third Person
Pages: 416
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Add It: Goodreads
four-stars

Most days Rebecca Lindt feels like an imposter...The world admires her as a survivor. But that impression would crumble if people knew her secret. She didn't deserve to be the one who got away. But nothing can change the past, so she's thrown herself into her work. She can't dwell if she never slows down.

Wes Garrett is trying to get back on his feet after losing his dream restaurant, his money, and half his damn mind in a vicious divorce. But when he intervenes in a mugging and saves Rebecca―the attorney who helped his ex ruin him―his simple life gets complicated.

Their attraction is inconvenient and neither wants more than a fling. But when Rebecca's secret is put at risk, both discover they could lose everything, including what they never realized they needed: each other

She laughed and kissed him. This morning she'd melted down. But somehow this man had her laughing and turned on only a few hours later. Everything inside her felt buoyed.

She felt...light.

She'd forgotten what that felt like.

The One You Can’t Forget is the second book in Roni Loren’s The Ones that Got Away series and it follows another one of the Long Acre school shooting survivors, Rebecca Lindt as she makes that journey towards true love with Chef Wes Garrett.

Their story was another well written sweet romance from Roni Loren. It just worked for me. I loved seeing Wes get his second chance at life building his dream restaurant and I really loved seeing Rebecca really come into her own. There’s a lot of growth in both of their characters and when Rebecca stands up to her father in the end, I was super happy because that scene, that moment, was such a long time coming.

This book charmed the socks right off of me and I’m super thrilled that we’re not done with these characters. I’m really looking forward to reading Taryn’s book and after that, I’m looking forward to finally getting some Kincaid action. I’m mighty curious about Kincaid and can’t wait for her story.

Wes Garrett is my book boyfriend for this week because I seriously adored everything about him. He was working toward becoming a better person than the one Rebecca knew from before and I really loved seeing the man he proved to be in the end. He was really good with the kids in his class and I loved seeing his passion for food and his desire to be a better man.

When the truth about what Rebecca thought about him and his marriage came out, I was super relieved because I’m not a huge fan of infidelity in my romances but all is well…Wes is just as swoony as we all hope our favorite heroes will be and I just loved seeing him fall for Bec and seeing the hope that blossomed all around him once his dream came close to being attainable.

“You see, Bec, you’ve got it all wrong. You didn’t pretend to be someone else around me. You gave me the best gift. You let yourself be who you really are with me. Underneath all this hurt and trauma, all the pressure and expectations, this is you. I got to meet that girl, and I’m so damn lucky for it.”

See? Gah, he’s such a dream boat. This is the guy that I pictured as Wes Garrett:

Overall, this book was solid though there were times when I got frustrated with both Rebecca and Wes. I thought Rebecca handled the whole Steven thing really well and Wes was just all around my guy. I definitely recommend.

Final Grade

4 out of 5

The Ones Who Got Away Series

four-stars

Tags: , , , , , , ,