Genre: Historical

The Weekly Recap (152)

Posted September 7, 2020 by Rowena in Books, Features, Movies, TV Shows | 4 Comments

Utah is here in California and the house is noisy again. It’s been really quiet with everyone out of the house but Bren’s back from Colorado and the kids were home for the long weekend and are getting ready to head back to Utah but it’s been nice seeing everyone again. RJ and Kaleo came to town with the Utah crew (they’re from Colorado) and it was super funny to catch up with RJ. He is so full of life and so happy, you can’t help but be happy right along with him. I was able to get some reading done, along with some dramas and movies watched so I have stuff to report.

Let’s get into all of the things that I did last week…shall we?

What I’m Currently Reading
The Weekly Recap (152)The Perfect Rake by Anne Gracie
Series: The Merridew Sisters #1
Published by Penguin, Berkley on July 5, 2005
Genres: Historical, Romance
Point of View: Third Person
Pages: 361
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: 2020 Goodreads Challenge

She ran from a brute...

Fleeing violent tyranny, Prudence Merridew escapes with her beautiful younger sisters to London. One of them must marry—and fast. To act as her sisters' chaperone, Prudence invents a secret engagement to a reclusive duke...But when the duke arrives unexpectedly in London, she needs his help to avert disaster.

...into the arms of a rake

Aristocratic Gideon, handsome, rakish and with a strong frivolous streak, casually hijacks Prudence's game, awarding himself a stolen kiss or three along the way. Used to managing sisters and elderly men, Prudence is completely out of her depth with a charming, devious and utterly irresistible rake. And her plot goes terribly—if deliciously—awry...

In preparation for another friend’s zoom call this coming weekend, I need to get this book read. I started it yesterday and I haven’t gotten very far into it but I’ve heard really good things about it so I’m going to power through.

What I Read

Iron and Magic (The Iron Covenant #1) by Ilona Andrews | 4 out of 5
Magic Triumphs (Kate Daniels #10) by Ilona Andrews | 4.5 out of 5

I’m finally reading again and that makes me happy. I finished two books and I caught up on the serial that Ilona Andrews is writing on their blog. The Aurelia Ryder story, which I think is going to be Blood Heir that will release in January. DEERRRREEEEKKKKKK!!! That’s all I’m going to say about that one. Well, that, and I LOVE IT!

What I’m Currently Watching

Prison Playbook

Starring: Park Hae Soo, Jung Kyung Ho, Lee Kyu Hyung, Ktystal Jung, Jung Hae In, Kim Kyung Nam
Year Released: 2017
Genres: Drama

With only days before his major league baseball debut, pitcher Kim Je-hyeok unexpectedly lands himself behind bars. He must learn to navigate his new world with its own rules if he wants to survive.

I’ve been very curious about this show ever since I found out that my boy Jung Hae In is in it. I love that guy so when I found out about this one, I looked it up and it sounds like a good one so I started it. So far, so good. I’m enjoying what I’m watching so far and I’m hopeful that it’ll keep my interest throughout the rest of the episodes as well. Fingers crossed, anyway.

What I Watched

Train | 4.25 out of 5
One Spring Night | 3.5 out of 5
Mulan | 4 out of 5
The Table | 2 out of 5

Eye Candy Friday

Noh Ji Wook
Suspicious Partner

What I Reviewed

The Suspect (2013) | 4.5 out of 5
She Was Pretty (2015) | 4.25 out of 5

What I Posted

The Weekly Recap (151)
The Monthly Recap: August 2020
Eye Candy Friday: Noh Ji Wook

What I Got

Emerald Blaze (Hidden Legacy #5) by Ilona Andrews
Yours to Keep (Man of the Year #2) by Lauren Layne

What’s On My Radar for Next Week

Emerald Blaze (Hidden Legacy #5) by Ilona Andrews
Forgotten
My Shy Boss

What Made Me Laugh

There you have it, my week in review. How was your week?

Tags: , , , , , ,

The Wednesday Post (24)

Posted February 12, 2020 by Rowena in Books, Features | 0 Comments

Can’t Wait Wednesday is hosted by Tessa over at Wishful Endings and it was based on Waiting on Wednesday that was hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. WWW Wednesday is a weekly meme that is hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words.

I decided that I’m going to do a mashup of the Can’t Wait Wednesday and WWW Wednesday posts here on my blog. I’m bringing them together and calling it The Wednesday Post. Here’s what I’m up to this week.

WWW Wednesday

What did you recently finish reading?

One Last Chance by Therese Beharrie
The Upside of Falling by Alex Light

I enjoyed both books but The Upside of Falling was a little slow going in the beginning for me. I need to read more books by Therese Beharrie. I liked One Last Chance.

What are you currently reading?

Forbidden Promises by Synithia Williams

I started this book yesterday and so far, it’s been a pretty easy read. I’m not over the top in love with it but it’s still enjoyable. I should be finished with this one after lunch so we’ll see if this holds up.

What do you think you’ll read next?

Strange Love by Ann Aguirre
Devious Lies by Parker S. Huntington

I need to get cracking on my buddy reads and my book club book. The month is going by so fast and I can’t keep up but book club is on Monday so I need to give myself some time to get Devious Lies read so that I can be ready and win our monthly book club game.

Can’t Wait Wednesday

The Wednesday Post (24)The Earl Takes a Fancy by Lorraine Heath
Series: Sins for All Seasons #5
Published by Harper Collins, Avon on March 31, 2020
Genres: Historical, Romance
Point of View: Alternating Third
Pages: 384
Add It: Goodreads

New York Times bestselling author Lorraine Heath pens another richly satisfying romance in her Sins for all Seasons series.

She’s looking for a nobleman to wed…

Though born out of wedlock, Fancy Trewlove is determined to fulfill her mother’s wish that she marry into nobility. Fancy’s keen intellect and finishing school manners make her the perfect wife for any gentleman—if he’s willing to overlook her scandalous lineage. But Fancy’s plans are thrown into chaos when an intriguing commoner begins visiting her bookshop—and she finds herself unable to stop thinking about him.

He’s looking to escape his title…

Widowed just a year ago, the reclusive Matthew Sommersby, Earl of Rosemont, has been besieged by women hoping to become his next wife. Desperate for anonymity, he sheds Society life to search for the peace that eludes him. Fancy’s shop is his one refuge, until the night their passion erupts into a kiss that nearly leads to her ruin—and leaves both longing for much more.

Together, they discover an unlikely love…

As Fancy finds herself torn between her family’s expectations and her growing feelings for Matthew, secrets are exposed—secrets that force Fancy to question if she can trust her heart’s desire...

I’ve been sitting on this review book because I needed to get through so many others but I’ll be reading this one soon and I can’t wait. I’m so looking forward to seeing who Fancy ends up with. Who is this earl that takes a fancy???

So, what are you reading this week? Anything good? Anything that you want to rant about?
Are you looking forward to The Earl Takes a Fancy? What other books are you looking forward to releasing this year?

Tags: , , , , , ,

The Wednesday Post (17)

Posted July 10, 2019 by Rowena in Books | 8 Comments

Can’t Wait Wednesday is hosted by Tessa over at Wishful Endings and it was based on Waiting on Wednesday that was hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. WWW Wednesday is a weekly meme that is hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words.

I decided that I’m going to do a mashup of the Can’t Wait Wednesday and WWW Wednesday posts here on my blog. I’m bringing them together and calling it The Wednesday Post. Here’s what I’m up to this week.

WWW Wednesday

What did you recently finish reading?

Wolf Rain (Psy-Changelings Trinity #3) by Nalini Singh

Man, was it good to be back in the Psy-Changelings world and catch up with all of my good ol’ friends from the SnowDancer and the DarkRiver packs. It was also really nice to get to know Alexei and Memory too. I thought Nalini Singh did a really bang up job with this story and I’m looking forward to whatever happens next with these characters. I have so much love for all of them.

What are you currently reading?

The Prenup by Lauren Layne

This book came out yesterday and I’m already digging into this one. I’ll be buddy reviewing this one with Ames so you should be able to read our thoughts on Lauren Layne’s first self published book on Book Binge in the coming weeks. Fingers crossed cause I know I be bullshittin’, haha.

What do you think you’ll read next?

Beginner’s Luck (Chance of a Lifetime #1) by Kate Clayborne
Like the Wind by J. Bengtsson

Up next are more buddy reads with my friends. I’m reading Beginner’s Luck with Holly and Ames and then I’m reading Like the Wind with Casee and Holly. I need to get my shit together already or I’m going to fall behind. Wish me luck!

Can’t Wait Wednesday
The Wednesday Post (17)The Duchess in His Bed by Lorraine Heath
Series: Sins for All Seasons #4
Published by Harper Collins, Avon on August 20, 2019
Genres: Historical, Romance
Point of View: Third Person
Pages: 400
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Add It: Goodreads

For a duchess with practical desires, falling in love is an inconceivable part of her plan…

As owner of the Elysium Club which caters to women's fantasies, Aiden Trewlove is accustomed to introducing adventurous ladies to sin and vice. But he is uncharacteristically intrigued by the mysterious beauty who visits his club one night, yearning to indulge in the forbidden—with him. Drawn to her indomitable spirit, he breaks his rule of never becoming personally involved with his clientele and is determined to fully awaken her desires.

A recent widow, Selena Sheffield, Duchess of Lushing, has never known passion, not until Aiden's slow, sensual seduction leads her on a journey of discovery and incredible pleasure. But her reasons for visiting the notorious club are not all that they seem.

As Selena's motives become complicated by love, she finds herself with a most unexpected choice: forge ahead with a secret plan that could secure her future—or follow her heart which could prove ruinous.

I seriously love this series and I’m pretty anxious for Aidan’s story. Aidan is one of my favorites of the Trewlove brothers and I cannot wait to see what kind of woman snatches his heart. I just know that Lorraine Heath is going to deliver the goods so as soon as I can, I’m going to snatch this one up like a hot potato and enjoy the ride.

So, what are you reading this week? Anything good? Anything that you want to rant about?
Are you looking forward to The Duchess in His Bed? What other books are you looking forward to releasing this year?

Tags: , , , , ,

The Weekly Recap (135)

Posted July 8, 2019 by Rowena in Books | 4 Comments

This past week was for living vicariously through Meghan and Makenna as they prepared for the South Pacific Games in Western Samoa. They’ve been keeping us in touch with their Samoan adventures and I’m loving how much fun they’re having. They experienced their first South Pacific Opening Ceremony and they’re meeting a lot of new people and getting to know our family history through the family that live out there. Their first game is tonight at 8pm and I am super pumped for them. What an amazing experience they’re having.

This past week was also for me, Bren, Kaleo and Chase going to the Dodger game on Fourth of July. We stayed for the firework show after the game but holy cow, our seats were amazing! We sat in behind home plate, on the visitor’s side and we were super close to all of the action. It was another fabulous game (we won!) and the fireworks show was amazing. All around, it was a fantastic night and I’m already looking forward to my next game.

Now, onto the books…

What I’m Currently Reading
The Weekly Recap (135)Brazen and the Beast by Sarah MacLean
Series: The Bareknuckle Bastards #2
Published by Harper Collins, Avon on July 30, 2019
Genres: Historical, Romance
Point of View: Third Person
Pages: 400
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Add It: Goodreads

The Lady’s Plan

When Lady Henrietta Sedley declares her twenty-ninth year her own, she has plans to inherit her father’s business, to make her own fortune, and to live her own life. But first, she intends to experience a taste of the pleasure she’ll forgo as a confirmed spinster. Everything is going perfectly…until she discovers the most beautiful man she’s ever seen tied up in her carriage and threatening to ruin the Year of Hattie before it’s even begun.

The Bastard’s Proposal

When he wakes in a carriage at Hattie’s feet, Whit, a king of Covent Garden known to all the world as Beast, can’t help but wonder about the strange woman who frees him—especially when he discovers she’s headed for a night of pleasure . . . on his turf. He is more than happy to offer Hattie all she desires…for a price.

An Unexpected Passion

Soon, Hattie and Whit find themselves rivals in business and pleasure. She won’t give up her plans; he won’t give up his power . . . and neither of them sees that if they’re not careful, they’ll have no choice but to give up everything . . . including their hearts.

I barely finished Wolf Rain this morning so I haven’t even started this book yet but I will later on tonight. My night is promised to Meghan and Makenna, who are playing in their first South Pacific Games basketball game tonight. Go Team American Samoa! I’ve been hearing such great things about this book though so I’m excited to start it.

What I Read

Storm Cursed (Mercy Thompson #11) by Patricia Briggs | 4 out of 5
Wolf Rain (Psy-Changelings Trinity #3) by Nalini Singh | 4.25 out of 5

Eye Candy Friday

Mercy Thompson
Night Broken by Patricia Briggs

What I Reviewed

The Right Swipe (Modern Dating #1) by Alisha Rai | 3.5 out of 5

What I Posted

The Weekly Recap (134)
The Monthly Recap: June 2019
The Wednesday Post (16)
Happy 4th of July
Eye Candy Friday: Mercy Thompson from Night Broken by Patricia Briggs

What I Got

Nothing new this week.

What I Got for Review

Nothing new this week.

What Made Me Laugh

There you have it, my week in review. How was your week?

Tags: , ,

The Weekly Recap (132)

Posted June 17, 2019 by Rowena in Books | 8 Comments

You guys!! Caiden is coming to California today. He’ll be here later tonight but he’s driving out this afternoon with his parents for more family fun and I cannot wait. We’re having a family week to kick off our summer and to celebrate our last family graduation of the year. We’ve got Leah’s graduation, a trip to Magic Mountain, and another sibling dinner planned and I’m super stoked about all the fun times to start even though it’s only been a week of quiet time since our last week of family fun things.

This week, my nephew RJ had his surgery that I mentioned on the blog a couple of weeks ago. He’s doing well though it’s going to be a long road to recovery for him. His recovery time is at least 12 weeks, non-weight bearing. He’s in good spirits though and we’re glad for him.

I managed to read some books but once again, it wasn’t all rainbows and sunshine.

Now, onto the books…

What I’m Currently Reading
The Weekly Recap (132)Highland Deception by Meggan Connors
Published by Indie Published, Soul Mate Publishing on March 17, 2014
Genres: Historical, Romance
Pages: 300
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: 2019 GoodReads Challenge

When Kenneth Mackay, long-banished rogue and thief, returns to the Mackay holding at the request of his brother, he has no idea what he might find. He certainly doesn’t expect to be confronted with his twin’s imminent death, or with the plan his brother has concocted.

Ten years before, Malcolm made a tragic mistake, and, to preserve the family name—and his own skin—he allowed Kenneth to take the fall. Now that he is dying without an heir, Malcolm plans to atone for his mistake: by giving Kenneth his life back. All Kenneth has to do is assume his brother’s identity. But complicating matters is the unexpected return of Lady Isobel Mackay, the daughter of an English marquess... and the wife Malcolm didn’t want.

Isobel barely knows the husband who abandoned her even before their marriage, and she'd long since given up on having a real marriage with him. Yet when she returns to the Mackay holding far earlier than expected, she finds her husband a changed man. Despite the hurt between them, Isobel's heart responds to this man who cares for his entire clan as if they were family. Who, for the first time since their marriage, cares for her as if she is, too.

Falling in love with her husband had never been part of Isobel’s plan. But when their future is suddenly in peril, Isobel must find a way to save him—from himself and from the deception threatening to tear them apart.

I’m trying to finish this book before I leave my office today because it’s book club night and I still haven’t finished our book. This reading slump of 2019 is really kicking my ass. I need to get my shit together. Wish me luck…though I will say that this book is a lot better than the other books I’ve tried reading this past week. Like, A LOT A LOT better.

What I Read

Superfan (Brooklyn Bruisers #6) by Sarina Bowen (eARC) | 4.25 out of 5
Natalie Tan’s Book of Luck and Fortune by Roselle Lim (eARC) | 2 out of 5
Waiting for Tom Hanks by Kerry Winfree (eARC) | 2 out of 5

Eye Candy Friday

Heidi Pepper
Overnight Sensation (Brooklyn Bruisers #5) by Sarina Bowen

What I Reviewed

Bridal Boot Camp by Meg Cabot | 3.75 out of 5
Ayesha at Last by Uzma Jalaluddin | 4 out of 5
The Year We Hid Away by Sarina Bowen | 4.75 out of 5
The Unhoneymooners by Christina Lauren | 4.25 out of 5

What I Posted

The Weekly Recap (131)
TV Tuesday: For the People
The Wednesday Post (14)
Throwback Thursday: The Year We Hid Away by Sarina Bowen
Eye Candy Friday: Eye Candy Friday: Heidi Pepper from Overnight Sensation by Sarina Bowen

What I Got

Work in Progress by Staci Hart
Faking Ms. Right by Claire Kingsley

What I Got for Review

10 Blind Dates by Ashley Elston

What Made Me Laugh

There you have it, my week in review. How was your week?

Tags: , ,