Genre: Paranormal

The Wednesday Post (7)

Posted February 13, 2019 by Rowena in Books, Features | 4 Comments

So I’ve been playing around with things that I want to do on this blog and I’ve been wanting to do a mid-week check in so that I can chat about the books that I’m reading that week. What’s working for me and what’s not but I also want to keep a running list of books that I cannot wait to get my greedy little hands on. I decided that I’m going to do a mashup of the Can’t Wait Wednesday and WWW Wednesday posts here on my blog. Can’t Wait Wednesday is hosted by Tessa over at Wishful Endings and it was based on Waiting on Wednesday that was hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. WWW Wednesday is a weekly meme that is hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words.
WWW Wednesday

What did you recently finish reading?

Huge Deal (21 Wall Street #3) by Lauren Layne
I just finished this book and I loved every freaking word. Kennedy and Kate were everything I was hoping for and I still can’t get over Jealous Kennedy. Jealous Kennedy is the best!

What are you currently reading?

River Marked (Mercy Thompson #6) by Patricia Briggs The Madness of Lord Ian Mackenzie (Mackenzies & McBrides #1) by Jennifer Ashley
I’m reading River Marked for my TBR Challenge this month. I’m really enjoying it so far so I’m hopeful that it will continue to rock my socks. Mercy Thompson, man, she continues to be my favorite! I’m also listening to The Madness of Lord Ian Mackenzie for my team buddy review over on Book Binge. That’s another wonderful historical romance. It’s a re-read for me but I feel like I’m reading it for the first time cause I had forgotten so much about it. I’m really enjoying both Ian and Beth and the other Mackenzie’s as well.

What do you think you’ll read next?

Only a Breath Apart by Katie McGarry
This is next up on my review pile. I need to get that pile down some because I keep requesting books even though I swore I wouldn’t. Oh well, I’ll get it done. I always do.
Can’t Wait Wednesday
The Wednesday Post (7)Wolf Rain
by Nalini Singh
Series: Psy-Changelings Trinity #3
Published by Penguin, Berkley on June 4, 2019
Genres: Paranormal, Romance
Point of View:Alternating Third Person
Pages: 416
Add It: Goodreads

New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh takes us on a new adventure in this next novel of the Psy-Changeling Trinity series…

The end of Silence was supposed to create a better world for future generations. But trust is broken, and the alliance between Psy, Changeling, and human is thin. The problems that led to Silence are back in full force. Because Silence fixed nothing, just hid the problems.

This time, the Psy have to find a real answer to their problems–if one exists. Or their race will soon go extinct in a cascade of violence. The answer begins with an empath who is attuned to monsters–and who is going to charm a wolf into loving her despite his own demons.

Are you guys surprised that I’m featuring a contemporary romance on this week’s post? Haha, I do read other genres, not very often, but it’s been known to happen and the Psy-Changelings series is my favoritest paranormal romance series ever and the spin off is shaping up to be fun too. So, of course I’m looking forward to the next release.
So, what are you reading this week? Anything good? Anything that you want to rant about? Are you looking forward to Wolf Rain? What other books are you looking forward to releasing this year?

4 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

Buddy Review: Blood Kiss by J.R. Ward

Posted January 29, 2019 by Rowena in Books, Reviews | 0 Comments

Buddy Review: Blood Kiss by J.R. WardBlood Kiss
by J.R. Ward
Series: Black Dagger Legacy #1
Published by Random House, Signet on December 1, 2015
Genres: Paranormal, Romance
Point of View:Alternating Third Person
Pages: 397
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Add It: Goodreads
three-stars
Reading Challenges:2019 A-Z Challenge, 2019 GoodReads Challenge

The legacy of the Black Dagger Brotherhood continues in a spin-off series from the #1 New York Times bestselling author…

Paradise, blooded daughter of the king’s First Advisor, is ready to break free from the restrictive life of an aristocratic female. Her strategy? Join the Black Dagger Brotherhood’s training center program and learn to fight for herself, think for herself…be herself. It’s a good plan, until everything goes wrong. The schooling is unfathomably difficult, the other recruits feel more like enemies than allies, and it’s very clear that the Brother in charge, Butch O’Neal, a.k.a. the Dhestroyer, is having serious problems in his own life.

And that’s before she falls in love with a fellow classmate. Craeg, a common civilian, is nothing her father would ever want for her, but everything she could ask for in a male. As an act of violence threatens to tear apart the entire program, and the erotic pull between them grows irresistible, Paradise is tested in ways she never anticipated—and left wondering whether she’s strong enough to claim her own power…on the field, and off.

Rowena: Our first book club book of the year is Blood Kiss by J.R. Ward, which is the first book in the Black Dagger Brotherhood spin-off series, Black Dagger Legacy. In this series, we’ll be meeting new characters who are training to become soldiers in the Black Dagger army to help the brothers fight the war against the Lessers who threaten their very existence. First up, Paradise and Craeg. So let’s get this show on the road, ladies. What did you guys think? Tasha: I really enjoyed the story of Craeg and Paradise and the whole Training Program. Marissa’s story with Butch and her relationship with her brother Havers wasn’t one I was all that interested in. But I know it all came together in the end. Shy: I thought it was ok. A lot of missing pieces for me (I guess it’s probably because it’s a spin-off from another series?) I dig Craeg and his back story and thought it made sense with why he’s so cutthroat and why he goes off half-cocked. I don’t know how I feel about Paradise. I feel like her character was just way too sheltered and then to have her go through training… I don’t know it just didn’t work for me. I liked Butch and Marissa, they made more sense to me lol. Tasha: So Butch and Marissa are from the original Black Dagger Brotherhood series and I’ve read the first 9 books (out of 17) of the series. I can see where you’d feel like something was missing. I saw the aristocrats and the glymera as “the ton” from our historical reads. The women are basically raised to needlepoint, play musical instruments and host parties. And they couldn’t be in the company of other men without a proper escort or chaperone. That’s how I pictured Paradise’s upbringing. But what about her dad, Abalone? I so adored him!! As the Kings first advisor and of royal bloodline, he was such an understanding father. He didn’t come off as snobby and I really liked that he supported Paradise in whatever she decided to do. He wasn’t in the least worried about what their peers had to say. Shy: Thanks Tasha, I figured it had to be tied to another series because of the way some parts were written. I love Paradises dad, especially his response to Paradise and Craeg. Rowena: I enjoyed this one a lot more than I thought I would. I could have done without a lot of the Butch and Marissa stuff because having them sharing the spotlight with Craeg and Paradise took away from Craeg and Paradise. I get that this is a spin-off but why not let the new characters shine? How in the world are they supposed to shine when the older characters are everywhere? Aside from that, I did really enjoy this one. I thought the training sessions and seeing the trainees bond together was interesting and even though I know that I’ll probably not read anything else from this author, I rather enjoyed getting to know each trainee. I liked all of them….except Anslam. LOL. Tasha: I’m with Wena…more Craeg & Paradise, less Butch & Marissa. I mean, they had a whole book to themselves already. The re-read for me was okay and I found myself more annoyed with the side story (Butch & Marissa) this time around. I don’t know if I want to continue on with this series and see what happens with Xan, but who knows. At least this time, I can expect a side story of someone from the original BDB series. My rating for this 3.5 outta 5 stars. Rowena: I enjoyed the romance between Craeg and Paradise, I just wish we’d gotten more of them. There’s a lot going on with this book but it was really easy for me to pick up on who the bad guys were and that almost never happens with me. I need the bad guys to knock on my door and introduce themselves normally but not this time around. Haha. There is a lot to like about this story and even more to look forward to with this series but there were also things that I could have done without so for me? This one gets 3.5 out of 5 too. Shy: I think Paradise and Craeg’s story was ok, not really my favorite. It just felt both predictable and things didn’t add up (but I think that’s more because I’m new to this entire series). I just felt like a lot of it was cliché between Paradise and Craeg. I wish they were a lot more interesting or just… I don’t know, more lol. I still stand by Butch and Marissa, they helped make this story more enjoyable for someone like me who has no idea about the back story of this series. I know you both are annoyed with them mixing into this story but I’m glad they did reappear in this book. I give it 2.5 stars
Final Grades
Rowena: 3.5 out of 5 Shy: 2.5 out of 5 Tasha: 3.5 out of 5
Black Dagger Legacy Series
three-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

The Weekly Recap (116)

Posted January 7, 2019 by Rowena in Books, Features | 8 Comments

It’s been a few weeks since I’ve updated this feature on the blog so I figured, it was time to get back to it. In the time since I last updated, Christmas came and went, New Years came and went and Caiden came and went. The BYU kids came home for the holidays (well after Christmas but before New Years) but they’re back at school and our days have gotten back to normal. My car was in the shop for a little bit because I needed to replace my power steering pump and hose and also my alternator and then my battery because my power steering pump was leaking directly onto my alternator and messed everything all up so I had to pay to get that fixed so my car is back and everything is a lot better. I think. I’m broke as shit but everything is fixed so thank goodness. Now, onto the books…
What I’m Currently Reading
The Weekly Recap (116)Governess Gone Rogue
by Laura Lee Guhrke
Series: Dear Lady Truelove #3
Published by Harper Collins, Avon on January 29, 2019
Genres: Historical, Romance
Point of View:Alternating Third Person
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges:2019 GoodReads Challenge

Dear Lady Truelove...

My twin brother and I need a new mother, though Papa insists he'll never marry again. Must be nice, brainy, and fond of cats...

Lady Truelove may be London's most famous advice columnist, but James St. Clair, the Earl of Kenyon, knows his wild young sons need a tutor, not a new mother. They need a man tough enough to make his hellions tow the line, and James is determined to find one.

Miss Amanda Leighton, former schoolteacher and governess, knows she has all the qualifications to be a tutor. And while female tutors are unheard of, Amanda isn't about to lose the chance at her dream job because of pesky details like that. If Lord Kenyon insists on hiring a man, then she has only one option.

Jamie isn't sure what to make of his new employee, until he realizes the shocking truth—beneath the ill-fitting suits, his boys' tutor is a woman. An unconventional, outspoken, thoroughly intriguing woman. Despite Amanda's deception, he can't dismiss her when his boys are learning so much. Yet Jamie, too, is learning surprising lessons—about desire, seduction, and passionate second chances.

I really, really need to get a jump start on my reading for this year but I blame Game of Thrones. I’m reading this book but I’m mostly watching season 3 of Game of Thrones. I had forgotten how much rage I felt every time Joffrey was on the screen. As for the book, I’m enjoying it so far. The heroine is pretending to be a boy to be a tutor for a set of boy twins…and the back and forth between her and the hero is fun.
What I Read
The One You Fight For (The Ones that Got Away #3) by Roni Loren | 4 out of 5 Famous in a Small Town by Emma Mills | 4 out of 5 Illegally Yours (Laws of Attraction #2) by Kate Meader | 4 out of 5 Playing for Keeps (Heartbreaker Bay #7) by Jill Shalvis | 4 out of 5 99 Percent Mine by Sally Thorne | 4 out of 5
I enjoyed all of the books that I read in the last couple of weeks. I think my favorite of the bunch though would probably be The One You Fight For by Roni Loren. It was hard to get through but I enjoyed it and I cried a lot. I thought Loren handled that romance so well. I don’t have a least favorite, not this week anyway.
Book Boyfriend
Jax Blackwood Fall by Kristen Callihan
What I Reviewed
My Favorite Half Night Stand by Christina Lauren | 4 out of 5
What I Posted
The Weekly Recap (115) Christmas Movie Round Up Can’t Wait Wednesday: The Right Swipe by Alisha Rai Bookish Naughty or Nice Tag Book Boyfriend: Dallas Walker from Wait for It by Mariana Zapata Happy New Year! The Wednesday Post (1) My TBR Pile: January 2019 Eye Candy Friday: Jax Blackwood from Fall by Kristen Callihan
What I Got
The Deal (Off Campus #1) by Elle Kennedy (Audiobook)
What I Got for Review
Only a Breath Away by Katie McGarry
What Made Me Laugh
There you have it, my week in review. How was your week?

8 Comments
Tags: , ,

Book Boyfriend: Adam Hauptman from Silver Borne by Patricia Briggs

Posted November 23, 2018 by Rowena in Features, Reviews | 2 Comments

This feature fell off for a little bit because I haven’t been doing as great a job as I planned on keeping track of my book boyfriends lately. I’m still planning on keeping this feature going so you guys are getting a new, well almost new, book boyfriend of the week today. Book Boyfriend: Adam Hauptman from Silver Borne by Patricia BriggsSilver Borne
by Patricia Briggs
Series: Mercy Thompson #5
Published by Penguin, Ace on March 30, 2010
Genres: Paranormal, Romance
Point of View:First Person
Pages: 342
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Add It: Goodreads
four-stars

Mercy Thompson, car mechanic and shapeshifter, never knows what the day - or night - may bring in a world where "witches, vampires, werewolves, and shapeshifters live beside ordinary people" (Booklist). But she is about to learn that while some secrets are dangerous whose who seek them are just plain deadly...

Mercy is smart enough to realize that when it comes to the magical fae, the less you know, the better. But you can't always get what you want. When she attempts to return a powerful fae she previously borrowed in an act of desperation, she finds the bookstore locked up and closed down.

It seems the book contains secrets - and the fae will do just about anything to keep it out of the wrong hands. And if that doesn't take enough of Mercy's attention, her friend Samuel is struggling with his wolf side - leaving Mercy to cover for him lest his own father declare Samuel's life forfeit.

All in all, Mercy has had better days. And if she isn't careful, she may not have many more...

Lately, I’ve been doing a lot of Mercy Thompson reading after taking a long break from them and I have fallen head over heels back in love with Adam Hauptman. In Silver Borne, Mercy is going through it. She’s being attacked on all fronts by the fae, and more closely, by Adam’s pack. They’re using the pack bond to get her to do things she wouldn’t normally do and Mercy is not a fan of that. So because Adam is their leader and she’s pissed off at them for scaring her with what they can do to her as part of the pack, she needs a breather. She doesn’t completely understand how pack magic works and being a fiercely independent person, she needs space to figure things out. On top of all of that, her and Adam’s mating bond is acting up and that scares her so yeah, space is needed. Throughout this entire series, Adam has been firmly fixed in the Team Mercy camp and I freaking love him for it. There isn’t a thing that he wouldn’t do for her, there isn’t a thing he would change about her because his love for her is all-encompassing. He loves everything about her. Here are some quotes from the book that seriously hit me in the feels.
“Heart turned to me, his face thought­ful. “Yes­ter­day morn­ing. Yes, that means that Daphne hadn’t been home for two days be­fore that.” He smiled at me. “You were sup­posed to be the Al­pha’s eye can­dy.” Adam laughed. “What?” I asked him. “You don’t think I’d be good eye can­dy?” I looked down at my over­alls and grease-stained hands. I’d torn an­oth­er nail to the quick. “Hon­ey is eye can­dy,” said Ben apolo­get­ical­ly. “You’re . . . just you.” “Mine,” said Adam, edg­ing be­tween Heart and me. “Mine is what she is.”
“Adam has always had . . . heroic tendencies.” I touched Adam’s arm. “He’s my hero.” There was another pause. . . “That is the most romantic thing I’ve ever heard you say,” Bran said. “Be careful, Adam, or you’ll turn her into a real girl.” Adam looked at me. “I like her just the way she is, Bran.” And he meant it, greasy overalls, broken fingernails, and all.”
“One more month,” he said finally. “And then they—and Samuel, too—will just have to get used to it.” His eye is the color of a bitch with dark chocolate, worst few years and he leaned forward. “And you will marry me.” I smiled, showing my teeth. “Don’t you mean, ‘will you marry me?’” I meant it to be funny, but his eyes brightened until the gold flecks were swimming in the darkness. “You had your chance to run, coyote. It’s too late now.”
Can you see why I love him so much? He’s seriously the best. My favorite thing about him is he’s so alpha and sure of him but with Mercy, there’s a vulnerability about him that just gets me. I freaking love it and I love the way that he loves Mercy. Get you a man that looks at you, the way that Adam Hauptman looks at Mercy. There’s a lot of things that happen in this book and all of it is pretty good so if you haven’t read this book (and this series), I highly recommend it. It’s good stuff, I promise!
Hero Casting
Buy the Book
AMAZON || BARNES & NOBLE || KOBO || THE RIPPED BODICE
Mercy Thompson Series
four-stars

2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The Weekly Recap (109)

Posted November 5, 2018 by Rowena in Books, Features | 4 Comments

This week was a pretty eventful one for me and my family. We had our annual pumpkin painting and carving night on Monday and then we had our annual Halloween party on the night of Halloween. Kids starting showing up for trick or treating at like 4:30 pm and they kept right on coming until damn near 10 pm. Trick or Treating is poppin’ in my neighborhood. We had our usual Halloween goodies on display for our party. Halloween treats that included Rice Krispies shaped pumpkins, Frankenstein grapes and marshmallow cups, oreo spiders, and you know all of that kind of kid-friendly stuff. I can’t seem to find any pictures of our set up though I know that it was all over the kids snap chat but I didn’t get them so oh well, sorry. But here’s a picture of our kids all dressed up for trick or treating. This week was also for our family viewing of Netflix’s The Haunting of Hill House. Watching it with my sisters was a crack up. They screamed every ten minutes over things that weren’t even that scary because they’re super extra but it was still fun. I’ve lost count of how many people I made watch that show and how many different discussions I’ve had on that show, too. If you haven’t watched it, I highly recommend it. It’s more interesting than scary though there are some jumpy moments. This week was also for Caiden’s first haircut. I’ll share pictures later because I’m too lazy to add them right now but I promise, I’ll share. Now, onto the books…
What I’m Currently Reading
The Weekly Recap (109)Silver Borne
by Patricia Briggs
Series: Mercy Thompson #5
Also in this series: Silver Borne
Published by Penguin, Ace on March 30, 2010
Genres: Paranormal, Romance
Point of View:First Person
Pages: 342
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Add It: Goodreads

Mercy Thompson, car mechanic and shapeshifter, never knows what the day - or night - may bring in a world where "witches, vampires, werewolves, and shapeshifters live beside ordinary people" (Booklist). But she is about to learn that while some secrets are dangerous whose who seek them are just plain deadly...

Mercy is smart enough to realize that when it comes to the magical fae, the less you know, the better. But you can't always get what you want. When she attempts to return a powerful fae she previously borrowed in an act of desperation, she finds the bookstore locked up and closed down.

It seems the book contains secrets - and the fae will do just about anything to keep it out of the wrong hands. And if that doesn't take enough of Mercy's attention, her friend Samuel is struggling with his wolf side - leaving Mercy to cover for him lest his own father declare Samuel's life forfeit.

All in all, Mercy has had better days. And if she isn't careful, she may not have many more...

I’m slowly making my way through the Mercy Thompson series and really enjoying all of this storytelling. I’m loving Mercy and all of the shenanigans she gets herself into and I’m curious to see where Samuel’s story arc will lead us. Does he get his own mate and will we see it here in the MT world or on his own? Does anyone know? I’m almost done with Silver Borne and it’s another good one so I’m a happy camper.
What I Read
Bone Crossed (Mercy Thompson #4) by Patricia Briggs | 4 out of 5 Sleepover by Serena Bell | 4 out of 5 Highlander Most Wanted (Montgomery’s & Armstrongs #2) by Maya Banks | 4.25 out of 5
My favorite read of the week is definitely Highlander Most Wanted by Maya Banks and I’m anxious for more from these guys. I really hope that we get the next book in February like it says on Goodreads because it looks like a lot of readers have given up on it…so fingers crossed. I don’t really have a least favorite because I enjoyed all of the books I read. I was annoyed when reading Sleepover though because I was under the impression that it was a standalone but there are recurring characters in that book, the couples from Do Over and Head over Heels so it would have been nice to know that.
Book Boyfriend
Raj Sen Rebel Hard by Nalini Singh
What I Reviewed
Block Shot (Hoops #2) by Kennedy Ryan | 4.25 out of 5 Seduction of a Highland Lass (McCabe Trilogy #2) by Maya Banks | 4.75 out of 5 Never Love a Highlander (McCabe Trilogy #3) by Maya Banks | 4.5 out of 5
What I Posted
The Weekly Recap (108) My TBR Pile: November 2018 Can’t Wait Wednesday: Storm Cursed by Patricia Briggs Book Boyfriend: Raj Sen from Rebel Hard by Nalini Singh
What I Got
Forgotten Sins (Sin Brothers #1) by Rebecca Zanetti Addicted to You (Addicted #1) by Krista & Becca Ritchie The Studying Hours (How to Date a Douchebag #1) by Sara Ney The Wrong Game by Kandi Steiner
What I Got for Review
Nothing. I haven’t looked through anything to request anything though I did get a print ARC of 99 Percent Mine by Sally Thorne. That was fun.
What Made Me Laugh
There you have it, my week in review. How was your week?

4 Comments
Tags: , , ,