Genre: Romance

The Wednesday Post (22)

Posted November 13, 2019 by Rowena in Books, Features | 5 Comments

Can’t Wait Wednesday is hosted by Tessa over at Wishful Endings and it was based on Waiting on Wednesday that was hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. WWW Wednesday is a weekly meme that is hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words.

I decided that I’m going to do a mashup of the Can’t Wait Wednesday and WWW Wednesday posts here on my blog. I’m bringing them together and calling it The Wednesday Post. Here’s what I’m up to this week.

WWW Wednesday

What did you recently finish reading?

Open House (Uptown #2) by Ruby Lang

This is the first book that I’ve read by Ruby Lang but it won’t be my last. I enjoyed Open House and loved both Magda and Ty. They were a great couple that were grown folks trying to figure things out and I enjoyed that about them. They weren’t fixated on stupid things that didn’t matter in the long run and I liked how open and honest they were with each other, even when they knew it wouldn’t have worked out…I enjoyed watching them figure out how to be together. Good stuff.

What are you currently reading?

Goddess of Spring by P.C. Cast

My reading in the last few weeks has been really slow but I have to get this book read because book club is coming up this Monday and I’m still in the early days of this book. I need to kick this reading slump in the ass and get on with reading already. Wish me luck.

What do you think you’ll read next?

The One for You (The Ones that Got Away #4) by Roni Loren
Don’t Break Me by Ash Ley

I was supposed to have started The One for You last week but I didn’t read a damn thing last week so I’m pushing it until next. I have to read Goddess of Spring first so that I can give myself time to finish it before Monday but after that? It’s Kincaid time. I’m also planning on reading Don’t Break Me as well. That one looks really good.

Can’t Wait Wednesday
The Wednesday Post (22)Yours In Scandal by Lauren Layne
Series: Man of the Year #1
Published by Amazon, Montlake Romance on March 10, 2020
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Add It: Goodreads

A political golden boy and the woman of his dreams take the risk of their lives in a sexy romantic comedy of strange bedfellows and second chances by New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne.

Fresh off being named Citizen magazine’s Man of the Year, New York City’s youngest mayor, Robert Davenport, decides it’s time to strategize. Next move: a bid for the governor’s seat. In his way: an incumbent with a flawless reputation. He also has an Achilles’ heel: an estranged wild-child daughter with a past so scandalous it could be Robert’s ticket to victory. And a charm so irresistible it could be Robert’s downfall.

Rebellion is a thing of the past for Adeline Blake. As New York’s premier event planner, she’s all about reform and respectability. Then she’s approached by Robert to organize the party of the season. Curious, considering he’s her father’s most formidable opponent. And alarming, too. Because Addie can’t help but fall for the righteously popular candidate with the movie-star smile.

Now it’s Robert’s choice. Does he pursue a future that holds his legacy? Or the woman who holds his heart?

Are you guys surprised that I’m looking forward to yet another Lauren Layne book? I’m complete trash for any and all things Lauren Layne so yeah, I’m looking forward to this one and I’ve got my fingers crossed that it will be just as good as I’m hoping. This book is the first book in a new series from LL and the hero is a mayor and the heroine is an event planner that promises to be just as awesome as all of the other LL heroines that I love and adore. Mark your calendars, this book comes out on March 10, 2020 so we still have a few months to wait but oh man, I can’t wait!!

So, what are you reading this week? Anything good? Anything that you want to rant about?
Are you looking forward to Yours in Scandal? What other books are you looking forward to releasing this year?


Tags: , , , , , ,

The Weekly Recap (142)

Posted November 11, 2019 by Rowena in Books, Features | 6 Comments

I wasn’t feeling too good this week so I spent a lot of it in bed, trying desperately to get better and to also read some damn books. Only one of those things happened and it wasn’t that I read some damn books. By Saturday, I was ready to get out of my bedroom and get out of my house. With my sister Helen being in town, we had us a sister weekend and it was great. All five of my sisters got together for lunch and we laughed the day away and really, it was the bomb. It was the best way to end a pretty crappy weekend, especially after missing three days of work and being all antsy about what I’m going to find when I get to work today.

My Lakers took an L last night so I really need to put last week behind me and turn things around. Wish me luck…

Now, onto the books…

What I’m Currently Reading
The Weekly Recap (142)Open House by Ruby Lang
Published by Harlequin, Carina Press on November 11, 2019
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Point of View: Third Person
Pages: 165
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Add It: Goodreads

Love can take root where you least expect it.

Tyson Yang never imagined that one day he’d be the de facto spokesperson for an illegal community garden. But when the once-rat-infested-but-now-thriving Harlem lot goes up for sale, Ty can’t just let all their hard work get plowed under.

Even if he is irresistibly drawn to the lovely but infuriatingly stubborn real estate associate.

Magda Ferrer’s family is already convinced this new job will be yet another flop in her small but growing list of career path failures. But her student debt isn’t going anywhere, and selling her uncle’s historic town house and the lot nearby means a chance to get some breathing room.

Ty is her charming rival, her incorrigible nemesis, the handsome roadblock to her success.

Until one hot Harlem night blurs the hard line drawn between them, and the seeds of possibility in this rocky garden blossom into love…

This book is approximately 48,000 words

One-click with confidence. This title is part of the
Carina Press Romance Promise
: all the romance you’re looking for with an HEA/HFN. It’s a promise!

I picked up and put down a couple of different books last week so I’m picking up this book today in hopes that I’ll finally get something read. So far, so good. Wish me luck on the rest of the book.

What I Read

Nothing. You guys, I spent the entire week reading absolutely nothing. Nothing is catching my eye and everything I start, I’ve stopped reading. This isn’t a good place to be reading-wise since I’m so far behind in my Goodreads Challenge already so I’m really hoping and praying that shit turns around this week. I can’t keep taking these reading L’s.

What I Reviewed

The Bromance Book Club by Lyssa Kay Adams | 4.25 out of 5
We Met in December by Rosie Curtis | 3.5 out of 5

What I Posted

The Weekly Recap (141)
Top Ten Tuesday: That Autumn Vibes

What I Got

Grumpy Jake by Melissa Blue

What I Got for Review

Headliners (London Celebrities #5) by Lucy Parker

What Made Me Laugh

There you have it, my week in review. How was your week?


Tags: , ,

The Weekly Recap (141)

Posted November 4, 2019 by Rowena in Books, Features | 4 Comments

This week was Halloween and Caiden was in town with his Mom to attend our family Halloween party for the first time. We were super excited for him to get here and he was the cutest Hulk Smash ever! It got dark really fast in California so we didn’t get a lot of pictures while the sun was up. Our neighborhood was hoppin’ too because we were still getting trick or treaters after 9pm. We had a good turn out for our party, the food was good and we had family in town for Chase’s senior night the next night.

Friday was for Chase. Big Uce graduates from high school this year and he’s playing in his last football season so we’ve been supporting him every week at the stadium, cheering for him and tailgating and you know, being together as a family. For Chase’s Senior Night, the family came out strong. Chloe, Markus, and Caiden came in from Utah. Uncle Chris and Aunty Ingrid came in from Vegas and then we had all of our local families in attendance as well. And we all got to walk out on the field with him during the Senior Recognition Night. It was a good game, even though Chase got into it with some guy from the other team but only the other guy got kicked out of the game because he actually swung on Chase.

All of my teams got wins on Friday. Chase won his game against South High School and the Lakers beat the Dallas Mavericks. Big ups for L.A. 🙂

Here’s our family picture at Chase’s senior night. This was before Chase got over to us. While we’re taking this picture, Chase is passing out candy lei’s to all of his homies.

Saturday was for our Roberts family baby shower for Niko and Britt and Logan! It was a fun baby shower and I was part of the kitchen crew. I didn’t mind my job since I got the recipe for a bomb ass broccoli salad that everyone loves. So as you can see, it was a busy week for me, which is why I only read one book this week.

Now, onto the books…

What I’m Currently Reading
The Weekly Recap (141)The One for You by Roni Loren
Series: The Ones that Got Away #4
Also in this series: The One You Can't Forget
Published by Sourcebooks, Sourcebooks Casablanca on December 31, 2019
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Point of View: Third Person
Pages: 352
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Add It: Goodreads

The highly-anticipated fourth book in Roni Loren's unforgettable The Ones Who Got Away series.

She got a second chance at life.Will she take a second chance at love?

Kincaid Breslin wasn't supposed to survive that fateful night at Long Acre when so many died, including her boyfriend—but survive she did. She doesn't know why she got that chance, but now she takes life by the horns and doesn't let anybody stand in her way

Ashton Isaacs was her best friend when disaster struck all those years ago, but he chose to run as far away as he could. Now fate has brought him back to town, and Ash doesn't know how to cope with his feelings for Kincaid and his grief over their lost friendship. For Ash has been carrying secrets, and he knows that once Kincaid learns the truth, he'll lose any chance he might have had with the only woman he's ever loved.

I only read one book last week and this week, I’m determined to get back on track. I’m reading this book and so far, so good. Nick really loved this one so I’m excited to dig more into Kincaid’s story.

What I Read

A Madness of Sunshine by Nalini Singh | 4 out of 5

Eye Candy Friday

Scott Turner
Love on Lexington by Lauren Layne

What I Reviewed

Bringing Down the Duke by Evie Dunmore | 4 out of 5

What I Posted

The Weekly Recap (140)
The Wednesday Post (21)
My TBR Pile: November 2019
Eye Candy Friday: Scott Turner from Love on Lexington Avenue by Lauren Layne

What I Got

It’s been a busy week for me so I haven’t purchased anything this week.

What I Got for Review

Love Lettering by Kate Clayborn
Meet Me at Midnight by Jessica Pennington

What Made Me Laugh

There you have it, my week in review. How was your week?


Tags: