Publisher: Amazon

The Wednesday Post (22)

Posted November 13, 2019 by Rowena in Books, Features | 4 Comments

Can’t Wait Wednesday is hosted by Tessa over at Wishful Endings and it was based on Waiting on Wednesday that was hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. WWW Wednesday is a weekly meme that is hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words.

I decided that I’m going to do a mashup of the Can’t Wait Wednesday and WWW Wednesday posts here on my blog. I’m bringing them together and calling it The Wednesday Post. Here’s what I’m up to this week.

WWW Wednesday

What did you recently finish reading?

Open House (Uptown #2) by Ruby Lang

This is the first book that I’ve read by Ruby Lang but it won’t be my last. I enjoyed Open House and loved both Magda and Ty. They were a great couple that were grown folks trying to figure things out and I enjoyed that about them. They weren’t fixated on stupid things that didn’t matter in the long run and I liked how open and honest they were with each other, even when they knew it wouldn’t have worked out…I enjoyed watching them figure out how to be together. Good stuff.

What are you currently reading?

Goddess of Spring by P.C. Cast

My reading in the last few weeks has been really slow but I have to get this book read because book club is coming up this Monday and I’m still in the early days of this book. I need to kick this reading slump in the ass and get on with reading already. Wish me luck.

What do you think you’ll read next?

The One for You (The Ones that Got Away #4) by Roni Loren
Don’t Break Me by Ash Ley

I was supposed to have started The One for You last week but I didn’t read a damn thing last week so I’m pushing it until next. I have to read Goddess of Spring first so that I can give myself time to finish it before Monday but after that? It’s Kincaid time. I’m also planning on reading Don’t Break Me as well. That one looks really good.

Can’t Wait Wednesday
The Wednesday Post (22)Yours In Scandal by Lauren Layne
Series: Man of the Year #1
Published by Amazon, Montlake Romance on March 10, 2020
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Add It: Goodreads

A political golden boy and the woman of his dreams take the risk of their lives in a sexy romantic comedy of strange bedfellows and second chances by New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne.

Fresh off being named Citizen magazine’s Man of the Year, New York City’s youngest mayor, Robert Davenport, decides it’s time to strategize. Next move: a bid for the governor’s seat. In his way: an incumbent with a flawless reputation. He also has an Achilles’ heel: an estranged wild-child daughter with a past so scandalous it could be Robert’s ticket to victory. And a charm so irresistible it could be Robert’s downfall.

Rebellion is a thing of the past for Adeline Blake. As New York’s premier event planner, she’s all about reform and respectability. Then she’s approached by Robert to organize the party of the season. Curious, considering he’s her father’s most formidable opponent. And alarming, too. Because Addie can’t help but fall for the righteously popular candidate with the movie-star smile.

Now it’s Robert’s choice. Does he pursue a future that holds his legacy? Or the woman who holds his heart?

Are you guys surprised that I’m looking forward to yet another Lauren Layne book? I’m complete trash for any and all things Lauren Layne so yeah, I’m looking forward to this one and I’ve got my fingers crossed that it will be just as good as I’m hoping. This book is the first book in a new series from LL and the hero is a mayor and the heroine is an event planner that promises to be just as awesome as all of the other LL heroines that I love and adore. Mark your calendars, this book comes out on March 10, 2020 so we still have a few months to wait but oh man, I can’t wait!!

So, what are you reading this week? Anything good? Anything that you want to rant about?
Are you looking forward to Yours in Scandal? What other books are you looking forward to releasing this year?

Tags: , , , , , ,

Eye Candy Friday: Kennedy Dawson from Huge Deal by Lauren Layne

Posted February 15, 2019 by Rowena in Books, Features | 8 Comments

Eye Candy Friday is all about the heroes that I’m loving and wanting to spotlight right now. Sometimes I’ll do full-on gush fest posts on why I love these guys, sometimes I’ll post pictures of what I think these guys look like and that’s it but if they’re featured here, the one thing that will be constant is I loved the hell out of these guys and want everyone to know. Thanks for coming along for the ride.

Eye Candy Friday: Kennedy Dawson from Huge Deal by Lauren LayneHuge Deal by Lauren Layne
Series: 21 Wall Street #3
Published by Amazon, Montlake Romance on February 12, 2019
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Point of View: Alternating Third Person
Pages: 259
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Add It: Goodreads
five-stars
Reading Challenges: 2019 GoodReads Challenge

Even for a top-gun banker, temptation this hot is quite a gamble, in a sexy Wall Street romp from New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne.

An alpha among the wolves of Wall Street, Kennedy Dawson rose to the top of the pack by striking the right contracts at the right times. But there’s one deal that’s been giving him a run for his money—a pact to never again let his assistant, Kate, get under his skin. She may be smart, gorgeous, and sharp as a whip, but she’s definitely off-limits.

Kate Henley isn’t a banker, but she knows a thing or two about risk management—specifically, about managing her attraction to her smolderingly sexy boss. She already fell once, and Kennedy showed no sign of paying a return on her investment. So when Kennedy’s brother starts pursuing her, Kate figures she has the best of both worlds. Jack is charming, rich, very attentive, and the spitting image of his older brother.

It’s also making Kennedy think twice. But to win Kate’s heart, he’ll have to broker the deal of a lifetime…and prove he’s worth the risk.

Today’s boyfriend is Kennedy Dawson from Huge Deal by Lauren Layne. Kennedy is the hero of the third book in Layne’s 21 Wall Street series and the book came out this week and I ate that shit up in one sitting because…I loved this guy. So, so much.

Hero Casting

This is the perfect Kennedy Dawson, IMO. I pictured this guy the entire time that I was reading and loving Kennedy in his book. He’s got the looks, the chin and just the rich boy air that I imagined Kennedy having. If you want to know why I loved Kennedy, you should read his book because he’s bomb as hell.

Buy the Book

AMAZON || BARNES & NOBLE || GOOGLE BOOKS

21 Wall Street Series

Have you read Huge Deal by Lauren Layne yet? If so, did you love Kennedy as much as I did? Did you love Jealous Kennedy even more?

five-stars

Tags: , , ,

The Wednesday Post (4)

Posted January 23, 2019 by Rowena in Books, Features | 10 Comments

So I’ve been playing around with things that I want to do on this blog and I’ve been wanting to do a mid-week check in so that I can chat about the books that I’m reading that week. What’s working for me and what’s not but I also want to keep a running list of books that I cannot wait to get my greedy little hands on. I decided that I’m going to do a mashup of the Can’t Wait Wednesday and WWW Wednesday posts here on my blog.

Can’t Wait Wednesday is hosted by Tessa over at Wishful Endings and it was based on Waiting on Wednesday that was hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. WWW Wednesday is a weekly meme that is hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words.

Now…on to the books.

WWW Wednesday

What did you recently finish reading?

One and Only (Bridesmaids Behaving Badly #1) by Jenny Holiday

Oh man, this was such a cute book. I loved seeing Cameron and Jane fall in love. Jenny Holiday is a new to me author that I discovered after seeing Nick of The Infinite Limits of Love review the first couple of books in this series. I just knew that I would enjoy this series and I wasn’t wrong. Nick never steers me wrong.

What are you currently reading?

It Takes Two (Bridesmaids Behaving Badly #2) by Jenny Holiday

I’m finishing up this book and I’m loving it more than I loved One and Only. Noah and Wendy’s story is hitting me all up in my feels. I just adore their bickering and my heart hurts for Wendy but also for Noah after he realizes the truth about prom night. Holy cow, Jenny Holiday is the bomb!

What do you think you’ll read next?

Merrily Ever After (Bridesmaids Behaving Badly #2.5) by Jenny Holiday

Of course I’ll be jumping right into this book right after I finish It Takes Two. How can I not? Crazy Bridezilla Elise? She needs her turn to shine and I’m so here for it!

Can’t Wait Wednesday
The Wednesday Post (4)Huge Deal by Lauren Layne
Series: 21 Wall Street #3
Published by Amazon, Montlake Romance on February 12, 2019
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Point of View: Alternating Third Person
Format: eBook
Add It: Goodreads

Even for a top-gun banker, temptation this hot is quite a gamble, in a sexy Wall Street romp from New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne.

An alpha among the wolves of Wall Street, Kennedy Dawson rose to the top of the pack by striking the right contracts at the right times. But there’s one deal that’s been giving him a run for his money—a pact to never again let his assistant, Kate, get under his skin. She may be smart, gorgeous, and sharp as a whip, but she’s definitely off-limits.

Kate Henley isn’t a banker, but she knows a thing or two about risk management—specifically, about managing her attraction to her smolderingly sexy boss. She already fell once, and Kennedy showed no sign of paying a return on her investment. So when Kennedy’s brother starts pursuing her, Kate figures she has the best of both worlds. Jack is charming, rich, very attentive, and the spitting image of his older brother.

It’s also making Kennedy think twice. But to win Kate’s heart, he’ll have to broker the deal of a lifetime…and prove he’s worth the risk.

I’m looking forward to a lot of books. I’m a book nerd, how can I not be? But for some reason, I’m looking forward to this book’s release the most. This series really snuck up on me. I was expecting to enjoy it, but I wasn’t expecting to love it as much or hell, even more than the Oxford series or even the Sex, Love, and Stiletto’s series. But man, the amount of pins and needles that I’m sitting on waiting for this book to come out is ridiculous. I cannot wait for Kennedy and Kate’s book. I need it more than I need anything else. Gah, I can’t wait! January needs to hurry up and be done so that we can get to February 12th. Once midnight strikes on February 12th, I’m reading this book.

So, what are you reading this week? Anything good? Anything that you want to rant about?
Are you looking forward to Huge Deal by Lauren Layne? What other books are you looking forward to releasing this year?

Tags: , , , ,

Review: Hard Sell by Lauren Layne

Posted August 31, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 10 Comments

Review: Hard Sell by Lauren LayneHard Sell by Lauren Layne
Series: 21 Wall Street Series #2
Published by Amazon, Montlake Romance on September 4, 2018
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Point of View: Alternating First Person
Pages: 252
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Add It: Goodreads
four-half-stars

Brilliantly hot Matt Cannon doesn't mind his "boy wonder" nickname. At twenty-eight, he may be the youngest--and richest--broker at his firm, but the constant string of women in his bed know he's all man. When Matt's boss insists he clean up his image to land a potential investor, Matt knows just the woman to pose as his girlfriend.

Sabrina Cross is Wall Street's go-to "fixer"--a chameleon of a woman who can be anything, to any man, for any reason, with just one rule: no touching. Matt and Sabrina have always been like oil and water, but their new arrangement lights a match to the animosity and leads to something altogether hotter.

Lauren Layne is at the top of my favorite author’s list. I will read whatever she puts out because I’m that big a fan of hers and lately, she’s been knocking shit out of the park. It’s no different with Hard Sell. Matt and Sabrina’s romance was just as awesome as I hoped and I completely adored the both of them.

So, Hard Sell is the second book in the 21 Wall Streets series and it was another rollicking good time. I enjoyed Ian and Lara’s story in Hot Asset but the bickering and angsty love of Matt and Sabrina really worked for me. I thought Lauren Layne did the fake relationship turned real relationship thing between Matt and Sabrina really well and everything just worked for me.

When we first meet Matt and Sabrina, you just know that there’s a history between the two. They bicker constantly and are always having to be separated because of their bickering. They belong to the same circle of friends and while they don’t seem to like each other, they tolerate each other for the sake of their shared loved one, Ian Bradley.

Matt works with Ian and Sabrina is a fixer who is Ian’s oldest friend. When Matt needs a fake girlfriend to fix his image for a potential investor, who better to fix this problem for him than Sabrina? She fixes problems and he has a problem that not just anyone could help him with so even though he doesn’t get along with Sabrina, he does trust her. He also desperately needs her.

They both knew that the situation was a weird one and that it wasn’t going to be easy. They barely get along and having to pretend to love each other is going to take a lot out of them and I laughed and laughed because Lauren Layne’s humor game in this one is strong.

“How’s the Sabrina thing been going?”

“I’m exhausted.”

“It’s only been two days.”

I enjoyed the way that they both understood how they felt about each other and I enjoyed seeing them work through their seperate issues to come out on top. They were a great couple with amazing chemistry and I thought Layne did a fantastic job of telling their story.

Matt Cannon is my book boyfriend for this week because he was flat out the bomb. I loved his cocky attitude, his witty personality and I really adored the way that he came to love Sabrina. The passion was always there for them but everything else was new to him and seeing him come to realize that was so good. I loved seeing him get so jealous and then going after what he really wanted. A jealous Matt Cannon is super sexy.

I’ve been thinking the hardest part of this whole thing will be faking being in love when I don’t even believe in love. Now I know better. The hardest thing is going to be keeping my hands off the only woman I’ve ever wanted.

Here’s my Matt Cannon.

Overall, it’s another winner for me. I enjoyed the characters, the romance, everything and even though there were times when I wanted to junk punch both Matt and Sabrina, in the end, I just flat out loved them. I cannot freaking wait for Kennedy and Kate’s story.

Final Grade

4.5 out of 5

Buy the Book

Hard Sell by Lauren Layne
September 4, 2018
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo

21 Wall Street Series

four-half-stars

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Week in Review (88)

Posted June 4, 2018 by Rowena in Books, Features | 2 Comments

Work has been kicking my ass lately. Lots of covering others who are out on personal leave and it’s made my workload double and then triple over the last couple of weeks. I do all of my blogging from work so that’s why you haven’t been seeing me around lately. That damn day job of mine. Ha!

Have you guys been keeping up with the whole #cockygate thing? I can’t believe that it blew up the way that it did and the author is doing herself no favors and is showing no kind of care or remorse for her actions either. She’s crazy pants!

Chance and Cheridan are home from school in Utah and it’s been good having them home. Chance is our family nerd who is studying to become a lawyer and Cheridan is studying some kind of engineering at BYU Provo. We’re a close family and spending time together is something we’re always doing so in the last week, we’ve had dinners, we’ve hung out at home and we all went to see Avengers: Infinity War together. Needless to say, we were all shook at the end, Luke more than anyone else but we’re all really looking forward to the finale movie next year.

I’m especially looking forward to this…

and this…

Also? I don’t give a shit what anyone says…I ship this, sorry Bruce.

I also went out to Colorado for my nephew Kaleo’s high school graduation and that was a great break from my real life.

Now, onto the books…

What I’m Currently Reading

Week in Review (88)Burn for You by J.T. Geissinger
Series: Slow Burn #1
Published by Amazon, Montlake Romance on October 17, 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 348
Format: Audiobook, eBook
Source: Purchased
Add It: Goodreads

The marriage is fake. But for a sassy chef and an arrogant billionaire, the sparks are real…

Jackson “The Beast” Boudreaux is rich, gorgeous, and unbelievably rude to the staff at Chef Bianca Hardwick’s New Orleans restaurant. Bianca would sooner douse herself in hot sauce than cook for Jackson again, but when he asks her to cater his fund-raiser, Bianca can’t refuse, knowing the cash will help pay her mother’s medical bills. Then Jackson makes another outrageous request: Marry me. The unconventional offer includes an enormous sum—money Bianca desperately needs, even if it does come with a contract—and a stunning ring.

The heir to a family bourbon dynasty, Jackson knows the rumors swirling around him. The truth is even darker. Still, he needs a wife to secure his inheritance, and free-spirited, sassy Bianca would play the part beautifully. Soon, though, their simple business deal evolves into an emotional intimacy he’s built walls to avoid.

As the passion heats up between them, Bianca and Jackson struggle to define which feelings are real and which are for show. Is falling for your fake fiancé the best happy ending…or a recipe for disaster?

Holly and Ames have read and enjoyed the heck out of this book so when they recommended it, I readily agreed to read it…and then I just started reading it. I’m really enjoying it, like a lot a lot. So good.

What I Read

Rumor Has It (Real Love #4) by Jessica Lemmon | 4 out of 5
Regrets Only by Erin Duffy | 3.5 out of 5
Airports, Exes, and Other Things I’m Over by Shani Petroff | 3.5 out of 5
Hooked on You (Chicago Rebels #4) by Kate Meader | 4.5 out of 5
Speakeasy (True North #5) by Sarina Bowen | 4.5 out of 5
Making Up (London Celebrities #3) by Lucy Parker | 4.25 out of 5

What I Reviewed

Speakeasy (True North #5) by Sarina Bowen | 4.5 out of 5
Rumor Has It (Real Love #4) by Jessica Lemmon | 4 out of 5
Hooked on You (Chicago Rebels #3) by Kate Meader | 4.5 out of 5
Fantasy Lover (Dark Hunters #1) by Sherrilyn Kenyon | 3.5 out of 5
Regrets Only by Erin Duffy | 3.5 out of 5
Hot Asset (21 Wall Street #1) by Lauren Layne | 4.5 out of 5
Eleven Scandal to Start to Win a Duke’s Heart by Sarah MacLean | 4 out of 5
The Hookup (Jordan Brothers #1) by Erin McCarthy | 4 out of 5
The Way You Make Me Feel by Maurene Goo | 4 out of 5
Neanderthal Seeks Human (Knitting in the City #1) by Penny Reid | 2.75 out of 5

What I Got


What I Got for Review

There you have it, my last few weeks in review. How have you guys been?

Tags: , , , ,