Publisher: Avon

The Wednesday Post (24)

Posted February 12, 2020 by Rowena in Books, Features | 0 Comments

Can’t Wait Wednesday is hosted by Tessa over at Wishful Endings and it was based on Waiting on Wednesday that was hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. WWW Wednesday is a weekly meme that is hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words.

I decided that I’m going to do a mashup of the Can’t Wait Wednesday and WWW Wednesday posts here on my blog. I’m bringing them together and calling it The Wednesday Post. Here’s what I’m up to this week.

WWW Wednesday

What did you recently finish reading?

One Last Chance by Therese Beharrie
The Upside of Falling by Alex Light

I enjoyed both books but The Upside of Falling was a little slow going in the beginning for me. I need to read more books by Therese Beharrie. I liked One Last Chance.

What are you currently reading?

Forbidden Promises by Synithia Williams

I started this book yesterday and so far, it’s been a pretty easy read. I’m not over the top in love with it but it’s still enjoyable. I should be finished with this one after lunch so we’ll see if this holds up.

What do you think you’ll read next?

Strange Love by Ann Aguirre
Devious Lies by Parker S. Huntington

I need to get cracking on my buddy reads and my book club book. The month is going by so fast and I can’t keep up but book club is on Monday so I need to give myself some time to get Devious Lies read so that I can be ready and win our monthly book club game.

Can’t Wait Wednesday

The Wednesday Post (24)The Earl Takes a Fancy by Lorraine Heath
Series: Sins for All Seasons #5
Published by Harper Collins, Avon on March 31, 2020
Genres: Historical, Romance
Point of View: Alternating Third
Pages: 384
Add It: Goodreads

New York Times bestselling author Lorraine Heath pens another richly satisfying romance in her Sins for all Seasons series.

She’s looking for a nobleman to wed…

Though born out of wedlock, Fancy Trewlove is determined to fulfill her mother’s wish that she marry into nobility. Fancy’s keen intellect and finishing school manners make her the perfect wife for any gentleman—if he’s willing to overlook her scandalous lineage. But Fancy’s plans are thrown into chaos when an intriguing commoner begins visiting her bookshop—and she finds herself unable to stop thinking about him.

He’s looking to escape his title…

Widowed just a year ago, the reclusive Matthew Sommersby, Earl of Rosemont, has been besieged by women hoping to become his next wife. Desperate for anonymity, he sheds Society life to search for the peace that eludes him. Fancy’s shop is his one refuge, until the night their passion erupts into a kiss that nearly leads to her ruin—and leaves both longing for much more.

Together, they discover an unlikely love…

As Fancy finds herself torn between her family’s expectations and her growing feelings for Matthew, secrets are exposed—secrets that force Fancy to question if she can trust her heart’s desire...

I’ve been sitting on this review book because I needed to get through so many others but I’ll be reading this one soon and I can’t wait. I’m so looking forward to seeing who Fancy ends up with. Who is this earl that takes a fancy???

So, what are you reading this week? Anything good? Anything that you want to rant about?
Are you looking forward to The Earl Takes a Fancy? What other books are you looking forward to releasing this year?

Tags: , , , , , ,

The Weekly Recap (136)

Posted July 22, 2019 by Rowena in Books | 6 Comments

I’ve been pretty lazy the last couple of weeks and both of my blogs have suffered because of this. I’m determined to get my shit together this week so I’ll be playing catch up on blog stuff. Fingers crossed, anyway. This last week was for our gold medalists to return home from Samoa. They’re home, they’re happy and we had a gold medal celebration for them yesterday.

Here’s a picture of Meg and Ken’s South Pacific Basketball Team that took the gold medal in the South Pacific Games that were held in Samoa. It’s good to have them back home because we’ve missed them hella while they were gone and while Meghan wanted to stay in Samoa a little longer, Kenna was happy to be home and to see us so I’ll take it. Ha! Luke missed his family so having them home again is good for him too.

Now, onto the books…

What I’m Currently Reading
The Weekly Recap (136)Daisy's Back In Town by Rachel Gibson
Published by Harper Collins, Avon on January 1, 2004
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Point of View: Third Person
Pages: 390
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: 2019 A-Z Challenge

Daisy Lee Monroe thought she'd brushed the dust of Lovett, Texas, off her high-heeled shoes years ago, but she's come back home only to find that little has changed. Her sister is still crazy, and her mom still has pink plastic flamingos in her front yard. And Jackson Lamott Parrish, the bad boy she'd left behind, is still so sexy it hurts. She'd like nothing better than to avoid this particular man, but she can't. Daisy has something to say to Jackson, and she's not going anywhere until he listens.

Jackson learned his lesson about Daisy the hard way, and now the only word he's interested in hearing from Daisy's red lips is good-bye. But she's popping up everywhere, and he doesn't believe in coincidence. It seems the only way to keep her quiet is with his mouth, but kissing Daisy had once been his downfall. Is he strong enough to resist her now? Strong enough to watch her walk out of his life again? Is he strong enough to make her stay?

This is the last book on my buddy reads pile for this month. I’m buddy reading this book with Holly and I really need to get my shit together because on top of being too lazy to blog, I’ve been too lazy to read. I’ve been doing anything and everything else this week. I’ve been playing Dutch Blitz, Spot It and learning all that I can about Luke’s favorite toys, some little things called Beyblades. I’ve been researching some good stadiums for him to practice in but every single one that I’ve looked up looks like plastic little doggy dishes and I’m not about to spend $50 on something that looks like I can buy from the Dollar Tree. No thanks. Anyway, I’m finally going to start this one today so wish me luck.

What I Read

The Prenup by Lauren Layne | 4.75 out of 5
Beginner’s Luck (Chance of a Lifetime #1) by Kate Clayborn | 4 out of 5

What I Reviewed

The Rest of the Story by Sarah Dessen | 4.25 out of 5
Highland Deception by Meggan Connors | 2.5 out of 5

What I Posted

The Weekly Recap (135)
Last Month in Pictures: June 2019
The Wednesday Post (17)

What I Got

Daisy’s Back in Town by Rachel Gibson
Desire and the Deep Blue Sea by Olivia Dade

What I Got for Review

No new books for review.

What Made Me Laugh

There you have it, my week in review. How was your week?

Tags: , ,

The Wednesday Post (17)

Posted July 10, 2019 by Rowena in Books | 8 Comments

Can’t Wait Wednesday is hosted by Tessa over at Wishful Endings and it was based on Waiting on Wednesday that was hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. WWW Wednesday is a weekly meme that is hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words.

I decided that I’m going to do a mashup of the Can’t Wait Wednesday and WWW Wednesday posts here on my blog. I’m bringing them together and calling it The Wednesday Post. Here’s what I’m up to this week.

WWW Wednesday

What did you recently finish reading?

Wolf Rain (Psy-Changelings Trinity #3) by Nalini Singh

Man, was it good to be back in the Psy-Changelings world and catch up with all of my good ol’ friends from the SnowDancer and the DarkRiver packs. It was also really nice to get to know Alexei and Memory too. I thought Nalini Singh did a really bang up job with this story and I’m looking forward to whatever happens next with these characters. I have so much love for all of them.

What are you currently reading?

The Prenup by Lauren Layne

This book came out yesterday and I’m already digging into this one. I’ll be buddy reviewing this one with Ames so you should be able to read our thoughts on Lauren Layne’s first self published book on Book Binge in the coming weeks. Fingers crossed cause I know I be bullshittin’, haha.

What do you think you’ll read next?

Beginner’s Luck (Chance of a Lifetime #1) by Kate Clayborne
Like the Wind by J. Bengtsson

Up next are more buddy reads with my friends. I’m reading Beginner’s Luck with Holly and Ames and then I’m reading Like the Wind with Casee and Holly. I need to get my shit together already or I’m going to fall behind. Wish me luck!

Can’t Wait Wednesday
The Wednesday Post (17)The Duchess in His Bed by Lorraine Heath
Series: Sins for All Seasons #4
Published by Harper Collins, Avon on August 20, 2019
Genres: Historical, Romance
Point of View: Third Person
Pages: 400
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Add It: Goodreads

For a duchess with practical desires, falling in love is an inconceivable part of her plan…

As owner of the Elysium Club which caters to women's fantasies, Aiden Trewlove is accustomed to introducing adventurous ladies to sin and vice. But he is uncharacteristically intrigued by the mysterious beauty who visits his club one night, yearning to indulge in the forbidden—with him. Drawn to her indomitable spirit, he breaks his rule of never becoming personally involved with his clientele and is determined to fully awaken her desires.

A recent widow, Selena Sheffield, Duchess of Lushing, has never known passion, not until Aiden's slow, sensual seduction leads her on a journey of discovery and incredible pleasure. But her reasons for visiting the notorious club are not all that they seem.

As Selena's motives become complicated by love, she finds herself with a most unexpected choice: forge ahead with a secret plan that could secure her future—or follow her heart which could prove ruinous.

I seriously love this series and I’m pretty anxious for Aidan’s story. Aidan is one of my favorites of the Trewlove brothers and I cannot wait to see what kind of woman snatches his heart. I just know that Lorraine Heath is going to deliver the goods so as soon as I can, I’m going to snatch this one up like a hot potato and enjoy the ride.

So, what are you reading this week? Anything good? Anything that you want to rant about?
Are you looking forward to The Duchess in His Bed? What other books are you looking forward to releasing this year?

Tags: , , , , ,

The Weekly Recap (135)

Posted July 8, 2019 by Rowena in Books | 4 Comments

This past week was for living vicariously through Meghan and Makenna as they prepared for the South Pacific Games in Western Samoa. They’ve been keeping us in touch with their Samoan adventures and I’m loving how much fun they’re having. They experienced their first South Pacific Opening Ceremony and they’re meeting a lot of new people and getting to know our family history through the family that live out there. Their first game is tonight at 8pm and I am super pumped for them. What an amazing experience they’re having.

This past week was also for me, Bren, Kaleo and Chase going to the Dodger game on Fourth of July. We stayed for the firework show after the game but holy cow, our seats were amazing! We sat in behind home plate, on the visitor’s side and we were super close to all of the action. It was another fabulous game (we won!) and the fireworks show was amazing. All around, it was a fantastic night and I’m already looking forward to my next game.

Now, onto the books…

What I’m Currently Reading
The Weekly Recap (135)Brazen and the Beast by Sarah MacLean
Series: The Bareknuckle Bastards #2
Published by Harper Collins, Avon on July 30, 2019
Genres: Historical, Romance
Point of View: Third Person
Pages: 400
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Add It: Goodreads

The Lady’s Plan

When Lady Henrietta Sedley declares her twenty-ninth year her own, she has plans to inherit her father’s business, to make her own fortune, and to live her own life. But first, she intends to experience a taste of the pleasure she’ll forgo as a confirmed spinster. Everything is going perfectly…until she discovers the most beautiful man she’s ever seen tied up in her carriage and threatening to ruin the Year of Hattie before it’s even begun.

The Bastard’s Proposal

When he wakes in a carriage at Hattie’s feet, Whit, a king of Covent Garden known to all the world as Beast, can’t help but wonder about the strange woman who frees him—especially when he discovers she’s headed for a night of pleasure . . . on his turf. He is more than happy to offer Hattie all she desires…for a price.

An Unexpected Passion

Soon, Hattie and Whit find themselves rivals in business and pleasure. She won’t give up her plans; he won’t give up his power . . . and neither of them sees that if they’re not careful, they’ll have no choice but to give up everything . . . including their hearts.

I barely finished Wolf Rain this morning so I haven’t even started this book yet but I will later on tonight. My night is promised to Meghan and Makenna, who are playing in their first South Pacific Games basketball game tonight. Go Team American Samoa! I’ve been hearing such great things about this book though so I’m excited to start it.

What I Read

Storm Cursed (Mercy Thompson #11) by Patricia Briggs | 4 out of 5
Wolf Rain (Psy-Changelings Trinity #3) by Nalini Singh | 4.25 out of 5

Eye Candy Friday

Mercy Thompson
Night Broken by Patricia Briggs

What I Reviewed

The Right Swipe (Modern Dating #1) by Alisha Rai | 3.5 out of 5

What I Posted

The Weekly Recap (134)
The Monthly Recap: June 2019
The Wednesday Post (16)
Happy 4th of July
Eye Candy Friday: Mercy Thompson from Night Broken by Patricia Briggs

What I Got

Nothing new this week.

What I Got for Review

Nothing new this week.

What Made Me Laugh

There you have it, my week in review. How was your week?

Tags: , ,

Eye Candy Friday: West Ravenel from Devil’s Daughter by Lisa Kleypas

Posted June 7, 2019 by Rowena in Books | 2 Comments

Eye Candy Friday is all about the heroes that I’m loving and wanting to spotlight right now. Sometimes I’ll do full-on gush fest posts on why I love these guys, sometimes I’ll post pictures of what I think these guys look like and that’s it but if they’re featured here, the one thing that will be constant is I loved the hell out of these guys and want everyone to know. Thanks for coming along for the ride.

Eye Candy Friday: West Ravenel from Devil’s Daughter by Lisa KleypasDevil's Daughter by Lisa Kleypas
Series: The Ravenels #5
Also in this series: Marrying Winterborne
Published by Harper Collins, Avon on February 19, 2019
Genres: Historical, Romance
Point of View: Alternating Third Person
Pages: 375
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Add It: Goodreads
four-half-stars

New York Times bestselling author Lisa Kleypas delivers a scintillating tale of a beautiful, young widow who finds passion with the one man she shouldn't...

Although beautiful young widow Phoebe, Lady Clare, has never met West Ravenel, she knows one thing for certain: he's a mean, rotten bully. Back in boarding school, he made her late husband's life a misery, and she'll never forgive him for it. But when Phoebe attends a family wedding, she encounters a dashing and impossibly charming stranger who sends a fire-and-ice jolt of attraction through her. And then he introduces himself...as none other than West Ravenel.

West is a man with a tarnished past. No apologies, no excuses. However, from the moment he meets Phoebe, West is consumed by irresistible desire...not to mention the bitter awareness that a woman like her is far out of his reach. What West doesn't bargain on is that Phoebe is no straitlaced aristocratic lady. She's the daughter of a strong-willed wallflower who long ago eloped with Sebastian, Lord St. Vincent—the most devilishly wicked rake in England.

Before long, Phoebe sets out to seduce the man who has awakened her fiery nature and shown her unimaginable pleasure. Will their overwhelming passion be enough to overcome the obstacles of the past?

Only the devil's daughter knows...

Today’s boyfriend is Weston Ravenel from Devil’s Daughter by Lisa Kleypas. You can read my review for his book here. It’s months later and I’m still thinking about him because he’s the bomb. I adored his personality, I adored the way that he was with Phoebe’s kids and I really adored the way he was with Phoebe. What I really loved about West is that we saw the big change happen in him from book 1 to his book, book 5, he became a man’s man who shouldered responsibility and tried to be better and was. He came a long way and I admired the hell out of him for it. He didn’t shy away from recognizing what an asshole he was but he tried to be better and he was. He’s one of my favorite heroes of the year.

Hero Casting

This is exactly who I pictured when reading about West. The girls over at Under the Covers book blog casted him first and it’s seriously perfect.

Buy the Book

AMAZON || BARNES & NOBLE || GOOGLE BOOKS || THE RIPPED BODICE

The Ravenels Series

four-half-stars

Tags: , , ,