Publisher: Berkley

The Weekly Recap (131)

Posted June 10, 2019 by Rowena in Books | 6 Comments

This week was for celebrating my best friend’s grandmother’s 86th birthday. Grandma Lili (she shares the same name as my Mom) was a really good friend to my Mom and our families have always been close but Theresa’s family adopted to be Brenna’s other side since it’s always been just me and Brenna. So Bren and I went to celebrate Grandma Lili’s birthday. We had a really good time and it’s always good to see Grandma Lili light up whenever she sees us. Brenna and I talked about how we need to make more time to go and see her, just like we need to spend more time with my Dad while we can. They’re not getting any younger!

Aside from that, it’s been really quiet at home which is probably a good thing since last week, we crammed so much into RJ and Caiden’s time here so we’re chillin’ this week.

Now, onto the books…

What I’m Currently Reading
The Weekly Recap (131)Natalie Tan's Book of Luck and Fortune by Roselle Lim
Published by Penguin, Berkley on June 11, 2019
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Point of View: First Person
Pages: 320
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: 2019 GoodReads Challenge

At the news of her mother's death, Natalie Tan returns home. The two women hadn't spoken since Natalie left in anger seven years ago, when her mother refused to support her chosen career as a chef. Natalie is shocked to discover the vibrant neighborhood of San Francisco's Chinatown that she remembers from her childhood is fading, with businesses failing and families moving out. She's even more surprised to learn she has inherited her grandmother's restaurant.

The neighborhood seer reads the restaurant's fortune in the leaves: Natalie must cook three recipes from her grandmother's cookbook to aid her struggling neighbors before the restaurant will succeed. Unfortunately, Natalie has no desire to help them try to turn things around--she resents the local shopkeepers for leaving her alone to take care of her agoraphobic mother when she was growing up. But with the support of a surprising new friend and a budding romance, Natalie starts to realize that maybe her neighbors really have been there for her all along.

After I quit The Perfect Date (the hero was awful and the heroine wasn’t a bag of sunshine either, definitely not anything I wanted to read), I immediately started this book and though I’m not done with it, I’m still enjoying it and I’m a lot more happy with this read than the others that I DNF’d this week. Wish me luck that my luck holds, will ya?

What I Read

Ayesha at Last by Uzma Jalaluddin | 4 out of 5
If It Makes You Happy by Claire Kann | DNF, 2 out of 5
The Rest of the Story by Sarah Dessen | 4 out of 5
The Perfect Date by Evelyn Lozada | DNF, 2 out of 5

The Jalaluddin and the Dessen were both great reads and I was super thrilled that they held up their promising beginnings. The same can not be said for my reads of If It Makes You Happy by Claire Kann and The Perfect Date by Evelyn Lozada. I thought I would get one kind of story with them both and they veered off into something else that I wasn’t prepared for and didn’t want to read so I quit them both. Oh well, can’t win them all.

Eye Candy Friday

West Ravenel
Devil’s Daughter (The Ravenels #5) by Lisa Kleypas

What I Reviewed

Then Came You (Laws of Attraction #3) by Kate Meader | 4 out of 5
Somewhere Only We Know by Maurene Goo | 3.25 out of 5

What I Posted

The Weekly Recap (130)
The Monthly Recap: April & May 2019
The Wednesday Post (13)
Eye Candy Friday: West Ravenel from Devil’s Daughter by Lisa Kleypas

What I Got


Water Bound (Sea Haven/Sisters of the Heart #1) by Christine Feehan
Blood Magic (Wing Slayer Hunters #1) by Jennifer Lyon
The Spymasters Lady (Spymasters #1) by Joanna Bourne
How to Date Your Dragon (Mystic Bayou #1) by Molly Harper
The Iron Duke (Iron Seas #1) by Meljean Brook
The Kingpin of Camelot (A Kinda Fairytale #3) by Cassandra Gannon
Written in Red (The Others #1) by Anne Bishop

This month kicks off Book Binge’s Summer Reading Challenge so I went book shopping to load up on the books that Casee and Holly chose for me to read this summer. Lots of stuff I probably wouldn’t have read on my own but thanks to these two, I’ll finally be checking them out. Wish me luck!

What I Got for Review

Love on Lexington (Central Park Pact #2) by Lauren Layne
Heiress Gone Wild (Dear Lady Truelove #4) by Laura Lee Guhrke
Superfan (Brooklyn Bruisers #6) by Sarina Bowen

What Made Me Laugh

There you have it, my week in review. How was your week?


Tags: , ,

The Weekly Recap (129)

Posted May 27, 2019 by Rowena in Books, Features | 10 Comments

Hey everyone!!!

Sorry for dropping off the face of the planet without a word. A bitch was busy with family stuff and busy doing everything and anything that wasn’t blogging. I ran out of blogging mojo and honestly, I was traveling from one graduation to another, making candy leis, running errands for different family parties and I still have one more high school graduation before my family is completely done with graduations for this year.

I just could not get my shit together to get blog posts written and even books read. Before last week, I had read one book in the entire month of May. I think it’s safe to say that I’ve kicked my reading slump to the curb cause your girl read hella books this week. I’m patting myself on the back for that. Yay me!

So what do you guys think about the brighter colors on the blog? I have to give some major props to my homie gee locc, Nick from The Infinite Limits of Love for hooking me up with my brand new blog header. I had a feeling that a small change in the blog look would do wonders in getting my desire to blog again up and I was right. It helped that I got a gorgeous new header so thank you, thank you, thank you to Nick for working her magic. I love her stuff and I’m grateful she hooked me up!

Before I get into my books stuff…

Thanks to all of the veterans that have served to protect all of us here at home. I appreciate your efforts and sacrifices. 🙂

Now, onto the books…

What I’m Currently Reading
The Weekly Recap (129)Ayesha at Last by Uzma Jalaluddin
Published by Penguin, Berkley on June 4, 2019
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 368
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: 2019 GoodReads Challenge, 2019 New to Me Challenge

A modern-day Muslim Pride and Prejudice for a new generation of love.

Ayesha Shamsi has a lot going on. Her dreams of being a poet have been set aside for a teaching job so she can pay off her debts to her wealthy uncle. She lives with her boisterous Muslim family and is always being reminded that her flighty younger cousin, Hafsa, is close to rejecting her one hundredth marriage proposal. Though Ayesha is lonely, she doesn't want an arranged marriage. Then she meets Khalid who is just as smart and handsome as he is conservative and judgmental. She is irritatingly attracted to someone who looks down on her choices and dresses like he belongs in the seventh century.

Ayesha is torn between how she feels about the straightforward Khalid and the unsettling new gossip she hears about his family. Looking into the rumors, she finds she has to deal with not only what she discovers about Khalid, but also the truth she realizes about herself.

I’m still grinding out these reads so that I can get my review pile down. So next up on my review pile is this book and I’m starting it on my lunch hour today. I’m looking forward to the experience.

What I Read

The Austen Playbook (London Celebrities #4) by Lucy Parker (eARC) | 4 out of 5
Passion on Park Avenue (Central Park Pact #1) by Lauren Layne (eARC) | 4 out of 5
Hot to the Touch (Brotherhood by Fire #1) by Jaci Burton (eARC) | 3 out of 5
American Witch (American Witch #1) by Thea Harrison (eBook) | 4 out of 5
Love, Chloe by Alessandra Torre (eBook) | 4 out of 5
Somewhere Only We Know by Maurene Goo (eARC) | 3.25 out of 5
Sapphire Flames (Hidden Legacy #4) by Ilona Andrews (eARC) | 4.5 out of 5
Night Pleasures (Dark Hunters #1) by Sherrilyn Kenyon (eBook) | 2.5 out of 5
Then Came You (Laws of Attractions #3) by Kate Meader (eARC) | 4 out of 5
The Unhoneymooners by Christina Lauren (eARC) | 4.25 out of 5
Bridal Boot Camp (Little Bridge Island #0.5) by Meg Cabot (eARC) | 3.75 out of 5

What I Reviewed

Passion on Park Avenue (Central Park Pact #1) by Lauren Layne | 4 out of 5
Taming the Scotsman (MacAllisters #4) by Kinley MacGregor | 4 out of 5
Frost Burned (Mercy Thompson #7) by Patricia Briggs | 4 out of 5

What I Got

American Witch (American Witch #1) by Thea Harrison
Night Broken (Mercy Thompson #8) by Patricia Briggs
Fire Touched (Mercy Thompson #9) by Patricia Briggs
Silence Fallen (Mercy Thompson #10) by Patricia Briggs

What I Got for Review

The Wallflower Wager (Girl Meets Duke #3) by Tessa Dare
Sapphire Flames (Hidden Legacy #4) by Ilona Andrews
Don’t You Forget about Me by Mhairi McFarlane
Twice in a Blue Moon by Christina Lauren

What Made Me Laugh

There you have it, my week in review. How was your week?


Tags: ,

The Weekly Recap (127)

Posted April 15, 2019 by Rowena in Books, Features | 6 Comments

This week was a pretty busy week for me, both in my real life and on the blog. I actually wrote up some posts and had them go live. Woot! My squad also celebrated my bestie Theresa’s birthday with loads of sushi, some Mexican cocoa with a side of gossip as well. My family also celebrated another family member’s birthday on Sunday at one of those fancy brunch spots in Downtown Los Angeles. That was the best party because on top of fabulous food, we had a huge TV in our party room and it was on the Dodgers game so if you know, that’s my idea of the perfect party!

Now, onto the books…

What I’m Currently Reading
The Weekly Recap (127)Magic Burns by Ilona Andrews
Series: Kate Daniels #2
Published by Penguin, Berkley on April 1, 2008
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Point of View: First Person
Pages: 260
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Add It: Goodreads

Down in Atlanta, tempers – and temperatures – are about to flare…

As a mercenary who cleans up after magic gone wrong, Kate Daniels has seen her share of occupational hazards. Normally, waves of paranormal energy ebb and flow across Atlanta like a tide. But once every seven years, a flare comes, a time when magic runs rampant. Now Kate’s going to have to deal with problems on a much bigger scale: a divine one.

When Kate sets out to retrieve a set of stolen maps for the Pack, Atlanta’s paramilitary clan of shapeshifters, she quickly realizes much more at stake. During a flare, gods and goddesses can manifest – and battle for power. The stolen maps are only the opening gambit in an epic tug-of-war between two gods hoping for rebirth. And if Kate can’t stop the cataclysmic showdown, the city may not survive…

My reading slump is still kicking me in the ass. I’ve been reading this book ever so slowly for the past week. I’m just not in the mood to read these days but I really, really need to kick that slump because I have shit to read and review. Fingers crossed that this is the week I kick my reading slump in the ass for good.

What I Read

Fumbled (The Playbook #2) by Alexa Martin | 4 out of 5
The Shameless Hour (The Ivy Years #4) by Sarina Bowen | 4.25 out of 5

Eye Candy Friday

Jon Snow
HBO’s Game of Thrones

What I Reviewed

When We Left Cuba by Chanel Cleeton | 4.25 out of 5
You’d be Mine by Erin Hahn | 4 out of 5
Next Year in Havana by Chanel Cleeton | 4.25 out of 5

What I Posted

The Weekly Recap (126)
My TBR Pile: April 2019
The Wednesday Post (10)
Eye Candy Friday: Jon Snow from Game of Thrones

What I Got

Nothing this week. Maybe next week?

What I Got for Review

No Judgments (Little Bridge Island #1) by Meg Cabot

What Made Me Laugh

There you have it, my week in review. How was your week?


Tags: , , ,