Publisher: Carina Press

The Weekly Recap (142)

Posted November 11, 2019 by Rowena in Books, Features | 6 Comments

I wasn’t feeling too good this week so I spent a lot of it in bed, trying desperately to get better and to also read some damn books. Only one of those things happened and it wasn’t that I read some damn books. By Saturday, I was ready to get out of my bedroom and get out of my house. With my sister Helen being in town, we had us a sister weekend and it was great. All five of my sisters got together for lunch and we laughed the day away and really, it was the bomb. It was the best way to end a pretty crappy weekend, especially after missing three days of work and being all antsy about what I’m going to find when I get to work today.

My Lakers took an L last night so I really need to put last week behind me and turn things around. Wish me luck…

Now, onto the books…

What I’m Currently Reading
The Weekly Recap (142)Open House by Ruby Lang
Published by Harlequin, Carina Press on November 11, 2019
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Point of View: Third Person
Pages: 165
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Add It: Goodreads

Love can take root where you least expect it.

Tyson Yang never imagined that one day he’d be the de facto spokesperson for an illegal community garden. But when the once-rat-infested-but-now-thriving Harlem lot goes up for sale, Ty can’t just let all their hard work get plowed under.

Even if he is irresistibly drawn to the lovely but infuriatingly stubborn real estate associate.

Magda Ferrer’s family is already convinced this new job will be yet another flop in her small but growing list of career path failures. But her student debt isn’t going anywhere, and selling her uncle’s historic town house and the lot nearby means a chance to get some breathing room.

Ty is her charming rival, her incorrigible nemesis, the handsome roadblock to her success.

Until one hot Harlem night blurs the hard line drawn between them, and the seeds of possibility in this rocky garden blossom into love…

This book is approximately 48,000 words

One-click with confidence. This title is part of the
Carina Press Romance Promise
: all the romance you’re looking for with an HEA/HFN. It’s a promise!

I picked up and put down a couple of different books last week so I’m picking up this book today in hopes that I’ll finally get something read. So far, so good. Wish me luck on the rest of the book.

What I Read

Nothing. You guys, I spent the entire week reading absolutely nothing. Nothing is catching my eye and everything I start, I’ve stopped reading. This isn’t a good place to be reading-wise since I’m so far behind in my Goodreads Challenge already so I’m really hoping and praying that shit turns around this week. I can’t keep taking these reading L’s.

What I Reviewed

The Bromance Book Club by Lyssa Kay Adams | 4.25 out of 5
We Met in December by Rosie Curtis | 3.5 out of 5

What I Posted

The Weekly Recap (141)
Top Ten Tuesday: That Autumn Vibes

What I Got

Grumpy Jake by Melissa Blue

What I Got for Review

Headliners (London Celebrities #5) by Lucy Parker

What Made Me Laugh

There you have it, my week in review. How was your week?


Tags: , ,

Can’t Wait Wednesday: Flare Up by Shannon Stacey

Posted October 17, 2018 by Rowena in Features | 8 Comments

Can’t Wait Wednesday is hosted by Tressa at Wishful Endings and it was based on the meme Waiting on Wednesday that was hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine.

Can’t Wait Wednesday: Flare Up by Shannon StaceyFlare Up by Shannon Stacey
Series: Boston Fire #6
Published by Harlequin, Carina Press on January 29, 2019
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Point of View: Alternating Third Person
Pages: 384
Add It: Goodreads

Nursing a broken heart while everybody around him seems to be drowning in happiness has Grant Cutter wondering whether staying with Engine 59—or even Boston Fire—is in his future. It’s tempting as hell to pack up what fits in his Jeep and hit the road. But then a 911 call brings the woman who shattered his heart back into his life, and he knows he won’t ever be able to fully leave her in his rearview mirror.

For a few months, Wren Everett had thought the nightmare of her past was behind her and she might live happily ever after with Grant. Until she got the phone call letting her know the time her ex had spent in jail for assault hadn’t cooled his temper or determination that she belonged with him. Cutting ties with Grant was the hardest thing she’d ever had to do, but it was also the only way to keep him safe.

Now that Grant is back, he’s not letting Wren push him away again. And even with the trust issues between them, Wren dares to hope she and Grant might have a future together after all…if they’re willing to fight for it.

I’m really enjoying this series. I love how normal it is and how the entire series follows regular everyday people falling in love with other everyday people. I mean, sure, part of the everyday people couple are firefighters so they’re kind of superheroes in their own ways but I still enjoy this series very much.

You can read my reviews for each of the books here:

Heat Exchange
Controlled Burn
Fully Ignited
Hot Response
Under Control

I enjoyed some books more than others but overall, I’m enjoying each book as they come out. I’m pretty anxious to finally get Grant’s story. I knew that his heartbreak was forthcoming, at least I had a feeling it would happen and I’m pretty curious on how his story plays out. I can’t wait to read his book.

This book comes out on January 29th so we have a few months wait. Mark your calendars!

Pre-Order the Book

Flare Up (Boston Fire #6) by Shannon Stacey
Releases on January 29, 2019
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Google Books

Boston Fire Series


Tags: , , , ,

Week in Review (83)

Posted March 26, 2018 by Rowena in Books, Features | 6 Comments

This past week was for celebrating Baby Caiden turning 1! He was supposed to spend the day at Disneyland but with the unusual rainy days here in Southern California, that trip got postponed until this past Saturday. We ended up celebrating his actual birthday at Chuck E. Cheeses. The kids had a great time and it was good to catch up over salad and pizza with my siblings so all in all, it was a fun.

The only downer was we forgot to FaceTime with Caiden’s parents in Samoa when we sang Happy Birthday to him and his Mom wasn’t too happy with us, oops.

The rest of the week was pretty chill. We didn’t do much, stayed close to home with all the rain and I haven’t been in the mood to go out so I’ve been hanging with Caiden, reading some books and watching tv and movies.

Now, onto the books…

What I’m Currently Reading

Find the Author: Goodreads
Week in Review (83)The Love Coupon by Ainslie Paton
Series: Stubborn Hearts #2
Published by Harlequin, Carina Press on April 9th 2018
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 264
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley, Publisher
Amazon|Barnes & Noble
Add It: Goodreads

Can you fall in love if you have the right coupon?

Tom O’Connell had a problem. His temporary roommate, Flick Dalgetty was noisy, messy, made of bees and had enough energy to power an amusement park. The problem was he shouldn’t have kissed her.

Flick Dalgetty had a problem. Her landlord, Tom O’Connell was made of granite. He was a big, repressed anti-social ogre, but the man knew how to kiss. The problem was he felt guilty about hooking up and she wanted more.

Until Flick’s gift of thirty coupons, each entitling Tom to one guilt and obligation free activity, from bowling and bubble bathing to morning delight and lingerie buying, removed all the guesswork of being incompatible partners and temporary roommates.

Now the only problem was Flick had to leave and Tom needed to stay and they might be falling in love—and there wasn’t a coupon for that.

Love can be a sexy game until it becomes the only one your stubborn heart wants to play.

I’m taking a break from Ilona Andrews because I need to. I have fallen behind on my review pile (though not far behind) and I need to catch up so I’ve taken every IA book off my kindle for now so I don’t tempt myself to get lost in more books. The first book that I’ve picked up from my review pile? The Love Coupon. I’ve been hearing some good things about this book and this author and this series so I’m curious enough to try it out for myself. I haven’t gotten very far into the book so I don’t really think anything of it at the moment but I’m sure that I’ll enjoy it.

What I Read

Bayou Moon by Ilona Andrews | 4.25 out of 5
Jockblocked by Jen Frederick | 4.75 out of 5

I only read two books but both books were fantastic reads (and re-reads) and I’m stoked for the new week of reads so woot!

What I Reviewed

The Wedding Date by Jasmine Guillory | 2 out of 5
So Over You by Kate Meader | 4.25 out of 5

What I Posted

My Marvel Movies Project of 2018
Monthly Recap: February 2018
Sunday Spotlight: What a Difference a Duke Makes by Lenora Bell

What I Got

The Coaching Hours by Sara Ney
Suddenly Forbidden by Ella Fields

What I Got for Review

The Fragile Ordinary by Samantha Young
One Small Thing by Erin Watt
When a Duke Loves a Woman by Lorraine Heath
I Flipping Love You by Helena Hunting

There you have it, my week in review. How was your week?


Tags: , , , ,