Publisher: Harper Collins

The Wednesday Post (24)

Posted February 12, 2020 by Rowena in Books, Features | 0 Comments

Can’t Wait Wednesday is hosted by Tessa over at Wishful Endings and it was based on Waiting on Wednesday that was hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. WWW Wednesday is a weekly meme that is hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words.

I decided that I’m going to do a mashup of the Can’t Wait Wednesday and WWW Wednesday posts here on my blog. I’m bringing them together and calling it The Wednesday Post. Here’s what I’m up to this week.

WWW Wednesday

What did you recently finish reading?

One Last Chance by Therese Beharrie
The Upside of Falling by Alex Light

I enjoyed both books but The Upside of Falling was a little slow going in the beginning for me. I need to read more books by Therese Beharrie. I liked One Last Chance.

What are you currently reading?

Forbidden Promises by Synithia Williams

I started this book yesterday and so far, it’s been a pretty easy read. I’m not over the top in love with it but it’s still enjoyable. I should be finished with this one after lunch so we’ll see if this holds up.

What do you think you’ll read next?

Strange Love by Ann Aguirre
Devious Lies by Parker S. Huntington

I need to get cracking on my buddy reads and my book club book. The month is going by so fast and I can’t keep up but book club is on Monday so I need to give myself some time to get Devious Lies read so that I can be ready and win our monthly book club game.

Can’t Wait Wednesday

The Wednesday Post (24)The Earl Takes a Fancy by Lorraine Heath
Series: Sins for All Seasons #5
Published by Harper Collins, Avon on March 31, 2020
Genres: Historical, Romance
Point of View: Alternating Third
Pages: 384
Add It: Goodreads

New York Times bestselling author Lorraine Heath pens another richly satisfying romance in her Sins for all Seasons series.

She’s looking for a nobleman to wed…

Though born out of wedlock, Fancy Trewlove is determined to fulfill her mother’s wish that she marry into nobility. Fancy’s keen intellect and finishing school manners make her the perfect wife for any gentleman—if he’s willing to overlook her scandalous lineage. But Fancy’s plans are thrown into chaos when an intriguing commoner begins visiting her bookshop—and she finds herself unable to stop thinking about him.

He’s looking to escape his title…

Widowed just a year ago, the reclusive Matthew Sommersby, Earl of Rosemont, has been besieged by women hoping to become his next wife. Desperate for anonymity, he sheds Society life to search for the peace that eludes him. Fancy’s shop is his one refuge, until the night their passion erupts into a kiss that nearly leads to her ruin—and leaves both longing for much more.

Together, they discover an unlikely love…

As Fancy finds herself torn between her family’s expectations and her growing feelings for Matthew, secrets are exposed—secrets that force Fancy to question if she can trust her heart’s desire...

I’ve been sitting on this review book because I needed to get through so many others but I’ll be reading this one soon and I can’t wait. I’m so looking forward to seeing who Fancy ends up with. Who is this earl that takes a fancy???

So, what are you reading this week? Anything good? Anything that you want to rant about?
Are you looking forward to The Earl Takes a Fancy? What other books are you looking forward to releasing this year?


Tags: , , , , , ,

The Wednesday Post (23)

Posted November 20, 2019 by Rowena in Books, Features | 4 Comments

Can’t Wait Wednesday is hosted by Tessa over at Wishful Endings and it was based on Waiting on Wednesday that was hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. WWW Wednesday is a weekly meme that is hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words.

I decided that I’m going to do a mashup of the Can’t Wait Wednesday and WWW Wednesday posts here on my blog. I’m bringing them together and calling it The Wednesday Post. Here’s what I’m up to this week.

WWW Wednesday

What did you recently finish reading?

Goddess of Spring (Goddess Summoning #2) by P.C. Cast

It took me so damn long to read this book. I was bored in the beginning, I didn’t like the heroine all that well, Hades portrayal was all wrong to me and after all was said and done, I thought the book was okay. I think I would have preferred if we got to see Persophone’s adventure on earth than Lina’s adventure in the Underworld. Honestly though? I’m just glad that I’m done with that book and I can finally move on.

What are you currently reading?

Lady Derring Takes a Lover (The Palace of Rogues #1) by Julie Anne Long

I’m still in the early days of this book but so far, I’m enjoying this book heaps more than I enjoyed Goddess of Spring. I haven’t read too many books by Julie Anne Long but Holly loved this book so I know that I’m going to love it too so I’m excited to keep reading.

What do you think you’ll read next?

The Kingmaker (All the King’s Men #1) by Kennedry Ryan
The Rebel King (All the King’s Men #2) by Kennedy Ryan

The last couple of weeks I’ve been lying to y’all. I keep saying that I’m going to read this book and that book but I’m not reading shit. But this week? I’m for real. After I finish Lady Derring, I’m moving on to this duet of books. I need some new Kennedy Ryan goodness in my life and Nick won’t stop screaming at the top of her lungs about these books. I have to check them out. See you guys on the other side.

Can’t Wait Wednesday
The Wednesday Post (23)Crush the King by Jennifer Estep
Series: Crown of Shards #3
Published by Harper Collins, Harper Voyager on March 17, 2020
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 432
Add It: Goodreads

A fierce gladiator queen must face off against her enemies in an epic battle in this next thrilling installment of New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Jennifer Estep’s Crown of Shards series—an action-packed adventure full of magic, murderous machinations, courtly intrigue, and pulse-pounding romance.

Queen Everleigh Blair of Bellona has survived the mass murder of the royal family, become a fearsome warrior trained by an elite gladiator troupe, and unleashed her ability to destroy magic. After surviving yet another assassination attempt orchestrated by the conniving king of Morta, Evie has had enough. It’s time to turn the tables and take the fight to her enemies. 

There is no better opportunity to strike than during the Regalia Games, a time when warriors, nobles, and royals from all the kingdoms come together to compete in various sporting events. With the help of her loyal friends, Evie goes on the attack at the Regalia, but things don’t turn out the way she hopes. Soon, she is facing a terrifying new threat, and she will have to dig deep and learn even more about her growing magic if she has any chance of defeating her foes.

Because to secure her throne and ensure her kingdom’s survival, Evie must think like a true Bellonan: she must outsmart and outwit her enemies . . . and crush the king.

I still need to read the second book in this series but that doesn’t mean that I’m not excited for this release. This series started off strong and I’m determined to catch up on this series before this one comes out. I have until March 17, 2020 to get caught up on this series and I’m going to do it. I need to know what Everleigh is up to and what’s going on with her and and her boo thang from the first book.

So, what are you reading this week? Anything good? Anything that you want to rant about?
Are you looking forward to Crush the King? What other books are you looking forward to releasing this year?


Tags: , , , , , ,

The Weekly Recap (136)

Posted July 22, 2019 by Rowena in Books | 6 Comments

I’ve been pretty lazy the last couple of weeks and both of my blogs have suffered because of this. I’m determined to get my shit together this week so I’ll be playing catch up on blog stuff. Fingers crossed, anyway. This last week was for our gold medalists to return home from Samoa. They’re home, they’re happy and we had a gold medal celebration for them yesterday.

Here’s a picture of Meg and Ken’s South Pacific Basketball Team that took the gold medal in the South Pacific Games that were held in Samoa. It’s good to have them back home because we’ve missed them hella while they were gone and while Meghan wanted to stay in Samoa a little longer, Kenna was happy to be home and to see us so I’ll take it. Ha! Luke missed his family so having them home again is good for him too.

Now, onto the books…

What I’m Currently Reading
The Weekly Recap (136)Daisy's Back In Town by Rachel Gibson
Published by Harper Collins, Avon on January 1, 2004
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Point of View: Third Person
Pages: 390
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: 2019 A-Z Challenge

Daisy Lee Monroe thought she'd brushed the dust of Lovett, Texas, off her high-heeled shoes years ago, but she's come back home only to find that little has changed. Her sister is still crazy, and her mom still has pink plastic flamingos in her front yard. And Jackson Lamott Parrish, the bad boy she'd left behind, is still so sexy it hurts. She'd like nothing better than to avoid this particular man, but she can't. Daisy has something to say to Jackson, and she's not going anywhere until he listens.

Jackson learned his lesson about Daisy the hard way, and now the only word he's interested in hearing from Daisy's red lips is good-bye. But she's popping up everywhere, and he doesn't believe in coincidence. It seems the only way to keep her quiet is with his mouth, but kissing Daisy had once been his downfall. Is he strong enough to resist her now? Strong enough to watch her walk out of his life again? Is he strong enough to make her stay?

This is the last book on my buddy reads pile for this month. I’m buddy reading this book with Holly and I really need to get my shit together because on top of being too lazy to blog, I’ve been too lazy to read. I’ve been doing anything and everything else this week. I’ve been playing Dutch Blitz, Spot It and learning all that I can about Luke’s favorite toys, some little things called Beyblades. I’ve been researching some good stadiums for him to practice in but every single one that I’ve looked up looks like plastic little doggy dishes and I’m not about to spend $50 on something that looks like I can buy from the Dollar Tree. No thanks. Anyway, I’m finally going to start this one today so wish me luck.

What I Read

The Prenup by Lauren Layne | 4.75 out of 5
Beginner’s Luck (Chance of a Lifetime #1) by Kate Clayborn | 4 out of 5

What I Reviewed

The Rest of the Story by Sarah Dessen | 4.25 out of 5
Highland Deception by Meggan Connors | 2.5 out of 5

What I Posted

The Weekly Recap (135)
Last Month in Pictures: June 2019
The Wednesday Post (17)

What I Got

Daisy’s Back in Town by Rachel Gibson
Desire and the Deep Blue Sea by Olivia Dade

What I Got for Review

No new books for review.

What Made Me Laugh

There you have it, my week in review. How was your week?


Tags: , ,