Publisher: Harper Collins

The Weekly Recap (103)

Posted September 17, 2018 by Rowena in Features | 6 Comments

So this week was a pretty quiet week. I stuck close to home and didn’t really do much outside of my normal routine and then my sister Delene went out of town for the weekend and I was left in charge of her kids.

I’m the Aunt that lets the kids do whatever they want so when Luke and Brookey wanted to film a YouTube video, I shook my head a little, rolled my eyes a little more and then helped them make that happen. Brenna and Jenna were on board with this whole thing so they set it all up. Made them a background, got their challenge food prepared and even practiced lines with both kids. Yeah, I’m rolling my eyes too. They were really into this whole thing. Makenna was cleaning up our mess and making lunch, she was also in charge of the music and let me tell you, she’s the worst music director for a kid’s video because she had the most inappropriate twerking music on in the background. AND LUKE AND BROOKEY LOVED IT!

So they wanted to do a “What’s in my Mouth Challenge” video where their assistants Brenna and Jenna feed them food while they’re blindfolded and they had to guess what they were eating. All was going well until Jenna fed Luke some cheese and Luke started gagging and then threw up. We had to stop production because the cameraman (me) almost peed in her pants from laughing so much. Excuse the picture to the right, that’s right before Luke puked and it’s a screenshot from the video. It’s two days later and I’m still laughing my ass off.

As soon as we finish editing the video and if we can get Luke’s Mom to let us post it on YouTube, I’ll let you guys know. Needless to say, Luke’s Mom yelled at us to stop letting Luke do stupid things. LOL. Also? Their YouTube channel name is LPGameMaster and B-Dub, Hahahahahahaha. These freaking kids.

Now, onto the books…

What I’m Currently Reading
The Weekly Recap (103)The Duke Buys a Bride by Sophie Jordan
Series: The Rogue Files #3
Published by Harper Collins, Avon on July 24, 2018
Genres: Historical, Romance
Point of View: Alternating Third Person
Pages: 368
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Goodreads

A bride wasn’t in his plans . . .

The last thing Marcus, the Duke of Autenberry, expects to see after sleeping off a night’s drunken shenanigans is a woman being auctioned in the village square. Before he can think about the ramifications, he buys her, thinking he’s winning the girl her freedom. Instead, he discovers he’s bought a wife.

A duke wasn’t in hers . . .

Alyse Bell is almost rid of the shackles that bound her in a name-only marriage, but the day her friend promised to purchase her in a wife auction, he vanishes, leaving her to face a mob of unsavory bachelors intent on owning her body and soul. But the appearance of a wicked, wealthy stranger changes her path forever.

The road to ruin . . .

Marcus doesn’t know what to do with the impertinent chit who clearly isn’t duchess material! Insisting their marriage isn’t legitimate, they leave for his estate in Scotland, hoping to devise a plan to get rid of each other. However, on a journey fraught with misadventure, their attraction grows and Marcus realizes he’ll do anything to keep this fiery woman for his own.

I didn’t get any reading done this weekend because I was busy doing absolutely nothing but hang with the kids watching movies so I need to get this book read this week because I have to prepare our book club discussion and game for our meeting next week Monday. Wish me luck. I’ve only read part of Chapter 1 and the hero just woke up in a pile of horse shit so…okay then.

What I Read

Meet Me at the Cupcake Cafe by Jenny Colgan (Audiobook) | 2.75 out of 5
Long Shot by Kennedy Ryan (eBook) | 4.75 out of 5
Block Shot by Kennedy Ryan (eBook) | 4 out of 5
Seduction of a Highland Lass by Maya Banks (Audiobook) | 4.5 out of 5

I loved both Long Shot and Seduction of a Highland Lass so those are my favorite reads of the week. I really enjoyed Block Shot too but Meet Me at the Cupcake Cafe was slow and low key boring to me so that gets my least favorite read of the week.

Book Boyfriend

August West
Long Shot by Kennedy Ryan

What I Reviewed


Kulti by Mariana Zapata | 4.25 & 5 out of 5
The Lion’s Lady by Julie Garwood | 4.25 out of 5
In Bed with a Highlander by Maya Banks | 4 out of 5
All the Way by Kristen Proby | 2.5 out of 5
A Lady’s Guide to Improper Behavior by Suzanne Enoch | 4.5 out of 5
The Other Side of Lost by Jessi Kirby | 4.25 out of 5
Untamed by Pamela Clare | 4 out of 5

What I Posted

The Weekly Recap (102)
Can’t Wait Wednesday: Ache for You by J.T. Geissinger
Book Boyfriend: August West in Long Shot by Kennedy Ryan

What I Got

Dearest Clementine by Lex Martin
Finding Dandelion by Lex Martin
Kissing Madeline by Lex Martin
Seduction of a Highland Lass by Maya Banks

What I Got for Review

Nothing.

What Made Me Laugh

There you have it, my week in review. How was your week?


Tags: , , ,

Can’t Wait Wednesday: The Other Miss Bridgerton by Julia Quinn

Posted September 5, 2018 by Rowena in Features | 6 Comments

Can’t Wait Wednesday is hosted by Tressa at Wishful Endings and it was based on the meme Waiting on Wednesday that was hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine.

Can’t Wait Wednesday: The Other Miss Bridgerton by Julia QuinnThe Other Miss Bridgerton by Julia Quinn
Series: Rokesbys #3
Published by Harper Collins, Avon on November 20, 2018
Genres: Historical, Romance
Pages: 384
Goodreads

She was in the wrong place...

Fiercely independent and adventurous, Poppy Bridgerton will only wed a suitor whose keen intellect and interests match her own. Sadly, none of the fools from her London season qualify. While visiting a friend on the Dorset coast, Poppy is pleasantly surprised to discover a smugglers' hideaway tucked inside a cave. But her delight turns to dismay when two pirates kidnap her and take her aboard a ship, leaving her bound and gagged on the captain's bed…

He found her at the wrong time...

Known to society as a rascal and reckless privateer, Captain Andrew James Rokesby actually transports essential goods and documents for the British government. Setting sail on a time-sensitive voyage to Portugal, he's stunned to find a woman waiting for him in his cabin. Surely, his imagination is getting the better of him. But no, she is very real—and his duty to the Crown means he's stuck with her.

Can two wrongs make the most perfect right?

When Andrew learns that she is a Bridgerton, he knows he will likely have to wed her to avert a scandal—though Poppy has no idea that he is the son of an earl and neighbor to her aristocratic cousins in Kent. On the high seas, their war of words soon gives way to an intoxicating passion. But when Andrew's secret is revealed, will his declaration of love be enough to capture her heart…?

We’re getting another Rokesby book and I am so here for it. I’ve been looking forward to reading Andrew’s book, to get to know the missing Rokesby from the series so far and can I just ask, how many damn Bridgertons are there? After reading the summary of this book, I’m excited. A kidnapped heroine, pirates? Yesssssss!!!

This book comes out on November 20th so we have a little bit of a wait so I’m over here looking like this:

If you haven’t read the other books in this series, you should because I’m really enjoying this series and Julia Quinn is a boss when it comes to historical romance. You can read my reviews here and here.

Pre-Order the Book

The Other Miss Bridgerton by Julia Quinn
Releases on November 20, 2018
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Google Books | Kobo

Rokesbys Series


Tags: , , , , , , , ,

The Weekly Recap (101)

Posted September 3, 2018 by Rowena in Features | 2 Comments

Before I jump into today’s post, I wanted to wish my American friends a Happy Labor Day! and I hope everyone is enjoying their time off from work. I know that I am. 🙂

It’s been a week for the books. I’ve had a bunch of crap going on at work, Chloe and her family were in town and all I wanted to do was be alone and read my books. Chloe had a lot of stuff crammed into her family vacation week in California and I’ve enjoyed seeing her snaps throughout the week. They went to the Aquarium in Long Beach, the Santa Monica Pier, Disneyland and on Thursday, they attended the Dodgers game against the Arizona Diamondbacks (as I’m typing this, our Dodgers are all alone in the #1 spot in the National League West Division, woo hoo!) and our boy Caiden made the jumbotron big screen thing. I love it!!

This week was also for saying our final goodbyes to a dear friend of our family, Flo Niko and her funeral was just as beautiful as I knew it would be with lots of musical numbers and her family and loved ones sharing their memories and love for Mrs. Come Get Your Slap. You’ll be missed, Flo.

Now, onto the books…

What I’m Currently Reading
The Weekly Recap (101)Beyond the Night by Colleen Gleason
Series: The Heroes of New Vegas #1
Published by Harper Collins on December 1, 2016
Genres: Dystopian, Romance
Pages: 288
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Goodreads

"Like a sexy Walking Dead!"--Mara Jacobs "Sexy, electrifying, edgy. Brilliantly conceived and executed." --Library Journal

The Heroes of New Vegas: From New York Times bestselling author Colleen Gleason comes a unique paranormal romance series set in a devastated world... “Colleen Gleason's vision of the future is dark, complex, and sharply original. I can’t wait for the next book!" -- Nalini Singh

Everything they knew is gone...

Five men emerge from the remnants of destruction with extraordinary new powers.

They are humankind's last hope, but they cannot survive this devastated world alone.

BEYOND THE NIGHT: When Dr. Elliott Drake emerges from a cave after traveling 50 years through time, the world as he knew it in 2010 is gone. Cities are overgrown jungles, and what's left of civilization has been repressed by crystal-wearing immortal beings. But even more unsettling: Elliott has acquired an extraordinary ability--the power to heal.

But even that gift, in a world that lacks the technology and infrastructure of his past, is a two-edged sword for Elliott.

Jade Kapiza, who was once imprisoned by the immortal beings, has been in hiding for years. But now she's determined to help the human race fight back against the control of her captors. She can trust no one...but when Elliott comes into her life, he pushes at her defenses and begins to tear down the walls she's built so carefully.

Yet the mysterious doctor seems to have secrets of his own. Can Jade trust Elliott with her heart, even as they risk their lives to save a band of innocents?

I gave myself until the day that our kids go back to school to have my summer reading challenge completed and Beyond the Night is the last book in that challenge. I have until this coming Thursday to complete this last book and I’m hoping to get it all read today. Wish me luck. After this book, I’ll be jumping into For the Duke’s Eyes Only by Lenora Bell.

What I Read


Wanderlust by Lauren Blakely (Audiobook) | 4 out of 5
In Bed with a Highlander by Maya Banks (eBook) | 4 out of 5
Kulti by Mariana Zapata (Audiobook) | 4.25 out of 5
Josh & Hazel’s Guide to Not Dating by Christina Lauren (eARC) | 5 out of 5
Getting Schooled by Emma Chase (Audiobook) | 4 out of 5
Hot Winter Nights by Jill Shalvis (eARC) | 3.75 out of 5
Untamed by Pamela Clare (eBook) | 4 out of 5

I had a really good reading week and that was mostly because of all of the audiobooks I listened to at work. I’m hooked on audiobooks and there really is no turning back for me. Yikes. My favorite read of the week goes to Josh and Hazel’s Guide to Not Dating by Christina Lauren. I thought it was the most fun book that I read all week and couldn’t get enough of it. I adored both Hazel and Josh though I understand why people weren’t as warm toward Hazel as I was. She was a lot to take but I loved her.

My least favorite book of the week was probably Hot Winter Nights by Jill Shalvis. I liked it but I didn’t love it nearly as much as I loved the other books I read.

Book Boyfriend

Matt Cannon
Hard Sell by Lauren Layne

What I Reviewed

Down with Love by Kate Meader | 3 out of 5
Under Control by Shannon Stacey | 4 out of 5
Midnight Rainbow by Linda Howard | 4 out of 5
Castles by Julie Garwood | 4.5 out of 5
Hard Sell by Lauren Layne | 4.5 out of 5

What I Posted

The Weekly Recap (100)
My TBR Pile: September 2018
Can’t Wait Wednesday: Diamond Fire by Ilona Andrews

What I Got

Beyond the Night by Colleen Gleason
Seduction of a Highland Lass by Maya Banks
Never Love a Highlander by Maya Banks

What I Got for Review

I didn’t get any books for review this week. I’m still trying to get my review pile now.

What Made Me Laugh

There you have it, my week in review. How was your week?


Tags: , , ,