Publisher: Harper Collins

Can’t Wait Wednesday: When a Duke Loves a Woman by Lorraine Heath

Posted July 4, 2018 by Rowena in Features | 0 Comments

Can’t Wait Wednesday is hosted by Tressa at Wishful Endings and it was based on the meme Waiting on Wednesday that was hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine.

I’m going to try to keep this feature going since I’m always wanting to spotlight books that I can’t wait to come out and can’t wait to get my greedy little paws on. This week’s book is When a Duke Loves a Woman by Lorraine Heath. It’s the second book in the Sins for All Seasons series and it follows another Trewlove sibling as they adventure toward their happily ever after with…a Duke.

Can’t Wait Wednesday: When a Duke Loves a Woman by Lorraine HeathWhen a Duke Loves a Woman by Lorraine Heath
Series: Sins for All Seasons #2
Published by Harper Collins, Avon on August 21, 2018
Genres: Historical, Romance
Pages: 400
Goodreads

Gillie Trewlove knows what a stranger's kindness can mean, having been abandoned on a doorstep as a baby and raised by the woman who found her there. So, when suddenly faced with a soul in need at her door—or the alleyway by her tavern—Gillie doesn't hesitate. But he's no infant. He's a grievously injured, distractingly handsome gentleman who doesn't belong in Whitechapel, much less recuperating in Gillie's bed.

Being left at the altar is humiliating; being rescued from thugs by a woman—albeit a brave and beautiful one—is the pièce de résistance to the Duke of Thornley's extraordinarily bad day. After nursing him back from the brink, Gillie agrees to help him comb London's darker corners for his wayward bride. But every moment together is edged with desire and has Thorne rethinking his choice of wife. Yet Gillie knows the aristocracy would never accept a duchess born in sin. Thorne, however, is determined to prove to her that no obstacle is insurmountable when a duke loves a woman.

Gillie is Mick Trewlove’s adopted sister. She was raised with Mick and the other Trewloves by their adopted mother. When we first met Gillie, I was intrigued by her because she dresses like a man and runs a pub that Mick bought for her and she’s described as fiercely independent and super strong. She’s not all that involved in the first book in this series but she certainly left an impression on me so I’m really looking forward to her book.

I thoroughly enjoyed Beyond Scandal and Desire, the first book in this series and I am on pins and needles waiting for this one to come out. If you haven’t read the first book, you should change that because it’s a damn good historical romance and this book promises to deliver some of the same goodness.

This is me right now:

August 21st couldn’t get here fast enough.

Pre-Order the Book

When a Duke Loves a Woman by Lorraine Heath
Releases on August 21, 2018
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Google Books

Sins for All Seasons Series


Tags: , , , ,

Buddy Review: Burn for Me by Ilona Andrews

Posted March 14, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 2 Comments

Buddy Review: Burn for Me by Ilona AndrewsBurn for Me by Ilona Andrews
Series: Hidden Legacy #1
Published by Harper Collins, Avon on October 28th 2014
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 400
Format: eBook
Source: Gifted
Goodreads
four-half-stars

#1 New York Times bestselling author Ilona Andrews launches a brand new Hidden Legacy series, in which one woman must place her trust in a seductive, dangerous man who sets off an even more dangerous desire…

Nevada Baylor is faced with the most challenging case of her detective career—a suicide mission to bring in a suspect in a volatile case. Nevada isn’t sure she has the chops. Her quarry is a Prime, the highest rank of magic user, who can set anyone and anything on fire.

Then she’s kidnapped by Connor “Mad” Rogan—a darkly tempting billionaire with equally devastating powers. Torn between wanting to run or surrender to their overwhelming attraction, Nevada must join forces with Rogan to stay alive.

Rogan’s after the same target, so he needs Nevada. But she’s getting under his skin, making him care about someone other than himself for a change. And, as Rogan has learned, love can be as perilous as death, especially in the magic world.

Burn for Me is the first book in the Hidden Legacy series by Ilona Andrews and it really sets up this series nicely.

Nevada Baylor is a private investigator who takes her job very seriously. She’s the head of her family PI firm but when her employees are all in school, she’s the only full time employee that can actually do the work. Her latest case was forced on her and she hasn’t a prayer of surviving it but she has to try to figure things out anyway because her family is at stake. Nevada will do anything for her family.

When the case brings Mad Rogan into her life and he kidnaps her, Nevada finds herself partnered up with the head of House Rogan, who also happens to be Hurucan, the guy that can break cities. They’re partnered up and going after Adam Pierce, a Prime Pyrokinetic, who is trying to burn down Houston. Something bigger than Adam Pierce is going on and they’re determined to figure it out and stop the bad guys from harming anymore people.

Rowena: Alright, Ames….spill. How much did you freaking love this book and Mad Rogan?

Ames:: OMG I loved this book so much I jumped right into the second one…and as I’m writing this I’ve already started the third! haha

I love the Kate Daniels series and Ilona Andrews has definitely created another heroine I can get behind! For Nevada Baylor, family is everything. And that remains true for her character. She’s so strong and kick-ass and awesome. And every great heroine needs an awesome partner and Rogan definitely has the makings of a great hero. He’s a Prime…meaning super powerful and he’s definitely an alpha hero. But he’s in no way an alpha-hole. I heart Rogan. So bad. LOL Seriously, he gives me heart eyes.

But the book isn’t just about Nevada and Rogan. Nevada’s whole family plays a big part in the story and I loved all of them. Her 70 year old mechanic grandma, her sniper mother, her gifted cousins and younger sisters. They’re all awesome.

What about you Wena? I’m so glad you got me to read this book!

Rowena: Oh man, did I love this book. I’m super thrilled that Holly has been on me to get this book read because wasn’t it just the best book you’ve read this month? Gah, I loved the heck out of this book. There wasn’t much that I didn’t like about it.

I loved Nevada, Rogan, Nevada’s family and the way that they functioned as a unit. When we start to get to know Rogan better and better, I thought he was such an asshole but I still loved him to pieces. I wasn’t expecting how funny this book was going to be. I prefer my paranormal books to be on the more serious side and even though this isn’t a paranormal book, I thought that it would be a little more serious but holy cow, the humor had me up late into the night giggliing like a little school girl. Brenna came into my room and told me to knock it off because I was giggling so much that it was creeping her out. She was right. I was giggling a lot but I don’t care that I was creeping her out because I had a good ol’ time with this one.

When Rogan called Augustine Pancakes? I about died laughing. When he couldn’t get over her circle work? I couldn’t stop laughing. When they were flirting back and forth and she told him she wasn’t going to handle his snake? I laughed and laughed and laughed. Gah. I can’t say that I loved this book enough. It gets all of my heart eyes.

Ames: Oh yes, the humour was excellent! I liked that for sure. Even Rogan’s attitude about killing people – I know this is awful to say but it is fiction – it was somewhat funny, especially when he uses a building to get the job done. Like he just doesn’t give a shit. And that’s why this book works. Yes Rogan is all super-powerful but Nevada brings him back down to earth. She’s reminds me of his humanity and keeps it real for him. She’s equal in that way. The other thing is she keeps him on his toes. She’s full of surprises.

Honestly, I can’t think of anything about this book I didn’t like. Even the mystery surrounding Adam Pierce was engaging. The world-building was excellent and the way Andrews describes settings and scenes, I could picture everything so clearly in my head.

Rowena: I agree. It’s very easy for me to read quickly through scenes where there’s a lot of description, scenes that kind of set something up and I’ll gloss over scenes but I read every single word and enjoyed every single word that was written in this book. Ilona Andrews has the magic writing stick because I was wrapped up in everything from beginning to end.

Adam Pierce was an interesting antagonist and his whole story was interesting as well. I was really curious to read more about this shady business he was a part of because with the ending, you just know that there’s gonna be more drama to come. This stuff isn’t over and I’m so.here.for.it.

Overall, the book was wonderful. The world was magical and the characters were the best. I give this book a 5 out of 5. You?

Ames: Oh I liked that Adam’s story was wrapped up extremely satisfyingly but that there was a whole bigger arc to the story that joins all three books. I’m looking forward to finding out more in book 3!

I’m stingy with my 5s so I’m giving this one a 4.5 out of 5. Still a high recommendation from me!​

Final Grades

Ames: 4.5 out of 5
Rowena: 5 out of 5

four-half-stars


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Book Boyfriend of the Week: Connor “Mad” Rogan

Posted March 9, 2018 by Rowena in Features | 2 Comments

This week’s book boyfriend is someone that is responsible for the reading hangover that I’ve been in since Monday of this week. I have not been able to move on from his set of books and it’s all because I love the hell out him and his heroine and the world that was created for them to live in.

Mad Rogan is the hero in the Hidden Legacy series by Ilona Andrews and he’s a complete dreamboat. He’s an asshole but he’s an asshole that lives by a code and the more I got to know him, the more I fell in love with him.

Book Boyfriend of the Week: Connor “Mad” RoganBurn for Me by Ilona Andrews
Series: Hidden Legacy #1
Also in this series: Burn for Me
Published by Harper Collins, Avon on October 28th 2014
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 400
Format: eBook
Source: Gifted
Goodreads

#1 New York Times bestselling author Ilona Andrews launches a brand new Hidden Legacy series, in which one woman must place her trust in a seductive, dangerous man who sets off an even more dangerous desire…

Nevada Baylor is faced with the most challenging case of her detective career—a suicide mission to bring in a suspect in a volatile case. Nevada isn’t sure she has the chops. Her quarry is a Prime, the highest rank of magic user, who can set anyone and anything on fire.

Then she’s kidnapped by Connor “Mad” Rogan—a darkly tempting billionaire with equally devastating powers. Torn between wanting to run or surrender to their overwhelming attraction, Nevada must join forces with Rogan to stay alive.

Rogan’s after the same target, so he needs Nevada. But she’s getting under his skin, making him care about someone other than himself for a change. And, as Rogan has learned, love can be as perilous as death, especially in the magic world.

Connor “Mad” Rogan is a Prime Telekinetic. He’s a magic powerhouse who can level cities and has leveled cities while working for the US Army. He’s mostly known for the destruction he brought upon Mexico and he’s known the world over for what he has and can do with his magic. He’s a bad ass who is deadly but what I loved about him was that he was also pretty normal and could definitely make fun of himself.

“Yes, I’m a hermit. Mostly I brood,” Mad Rogan said. “Also, I’m very good at wallowing in self-pity. I spend my days steeped in melancholy, looking out the window. Occasionally a single tear quietly rolls down my cheek.”

As deadly as Connor was, he was also the biggest flirt whenever Nevada Baylor was around and I freaking loved it.

“He glanced at me, his eyes dark. “Would you rather talk about your dream?”

“No.”

“Considering that I was featured in it, I think I deserve to know the particulars. Were my clothes missing because we were in bed? Was I touching you?” He glanced at me. His voice could’ve melted the clothes off my body. “Were you touching me?”

Hahaha, what a great scene this was. And so was this next one.

“Did you send an escort with my family?”

“Yes. They’re a target.”

“How did you know they would be leaving?”

“My people saw them load up, called me, and I told them to follow.” Duh.

“Thank you.”

“You’re welcome. I plan to hold them hostage until you sleep with me.” I stumbled. He turned and gave me a brilliant, impossibly handsome smile. “Just kidding.”

Damn it.”

I swear there are so many reasons to love this guy and you should read the Hidden Legacy series to find out all of those reasons. This series rocked my socks. For real. This was me every time Rogan was on the scene.

Yep. That’s right.

Here’s what Mad Rogan looked like in my head.

Buy the Book

Burn for Me by Ilona Andrews
October 28, 2014
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Google Play | Kobo

Series Order

Until next week…enjoy!

Who are your book boyfriends for the week? Anyone I should meet?


Tags: , , , , , ,