Publisher: Loveswept

The Wednesday Post (8)

Posted February 20, 2019 by Rowena in Books, Features | 8 Comments

Can’t Wait Wednesday is hosted by Tessa over at Wishful Endings and it was based on Waiting on Wednesday that was hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. WWW Wednesday is a weekly meme that is hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words. I decided that I’m going to do a mashup of the Can’t Wait Wednesday and WWW Wednesday posts here on my blog. I’m bringing them together and calling it The Wednesday Post. Here’s what I’m up to this week.
WWW Wednesday

What did you recently finish reading?

Only a Breath Apart by Katie McGarry
This book hit me right in my feels with every page I read. My emotions were involved right from the jump and though the book was a bit slow in the beginning, I was still invested in the characters. Jesse and Scarlett didn’t have an easy time of it and when they come out on the other side, I was thrilled for them both. McGarry did a great job telling their stories.

What are you currently reading?

Bad Bachelor (Bad Bachelors #1) by Stefanie London
I’m finally jumping into this series and though I didn’t get any reading in yesterday, I’m hoping to get that switched around today. Wish me luck.

What do you think you’ll read next?

Bad Reputation (Bad Bachelors #2) by Stefanie London
I’ll be reading this entire series so that I can get my review ready before release day next week. Wish me luck!
Can’t Wait Wednesday
The Wednesday Post (8)Then Came You
by Kate Meader
Series: Laws of Attraction #3
Published by Random House, Loveswept on May 7, 2019
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Format: eBook
Source: Publisher
Add It: Goodreads

In the courtroom, they’re rivals. In the bedroom, they’re . . . divorced. But could the road trip from hell lead to a second chance at love?

Aubrey Gates is the hottest divorce lawyer in Chicago, a barb-tongued stiletto with legs that go on for miles. When her cool gray eyes meet mine across the battlefield, I want her like I’ve never wanted anyone or anything. Then I remember who she is: the woman who brought me to my knees. The woman who destroyed my faith in relationships.

The woman I used to call . . . wife.

And she needs a favor from me, Grant Lincoln.

It seems my ex forgot to mention the demise of our marriage to her dear old grammie, and now we’re both expected to attend her ninetieth birthday party. In Boston. And because it isn’t already awkward enough, Aubrey and I are driving there together from Chicago. That’s more than a thousand miles of tension, heartbreak, and barely concealed lust.

A little piece of paper might say we’re over, but this road trip is the true test. I intend to get my wife back . . . and I won’t stop until “I do.”

Grant and Aubrey. I’m looking forward to reading their story in full. I want to know what really happened between these two and I am itching to see them find their way back together again. I can’t wait.
So, what are you reading this week? Anything good? Anything that you want to rant about? Are you looking forward to Then Came You? What other books are you looking forward to releasing this year?

8 Comments
Tags: , , ,

The Wednesday Post (5)

Posted January 30, 2019 by Rowena in Books, Features | 4 Comments

So I’ve been playing around with things that I want to do on this blog and I’ve been wanting to do a mid-week check in so that I can chat about the books that I’m reading that week. What’s working for me and what’s not but I also want to keep a running list of books that I cannot wait to get my greedy little hands on. I decided that I’m going to do a mashup of the Can’t Wait Wednesday and WWW Wednesday posts here on my blog. Can’t Wait Wednesday is hosted by Tessa over at Wishful Endings and it was based on Waiting on Wednesday that was hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. WWW Wednesday is a weekly meme that is hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words.
WWW Wednesday
It’s been a pretty tame reading week so far but if I’m to make my numbers, I really need to challenge myself to get some reading done so here’s where I’m at so far this week.

What did you recently finish reading?

Fame, Fate, and the First Kiss by Kasie West
I finished this book the other day and thought it was pretty cute though a bit slow at times. I think this is the first time that I’ve felt a bit bored with a Kasie West, it surprised me.

What are you currently reading?

The Scoundrel in Her Bed (Sins of All Season #3) by Lorraine Heath
I’m reading Finn and Lady Lavinia’s book right now and it’s just as great as I knew it would be. Lorraine Heath never steers me wrong. She’s one of my keeper authors for a reason. She’s damn good at her job.

What do you think you’ll read next?

Devil’s Daughter (The Ravenels #5) by Lisa Kleypas
I got an eARC of this one last week and I’ve been super excited about that because I don’t do ARCs anymore and I didn’t think there were going to be any eARCs since Avon has been pretty choosey about Lisa Kleypas releases but I’m thrilled to have this one to read next. I can’t wait!
Can’t Wait Wednesday
The Wednesday Post (5)Then Came You
by Kate Meader
Series: Laws of Attraction #3
Published by Random House, Loveswept on May 7, 2019
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Point of View:Alternating First Person
Format: eBook
Add It: Goodreads

In the courtroom, they’re rivals. In the bedroom, they’re . . . divorced. But could the road trip from hell lead to a second chance at love?

Aubrey Gates is the hottest divorce lawyer in Chicago, a barb-tongued stiletto with legs that go on for miles. When her cool gray eyes meet mine across the battlefield, I want her like I’ve never wanted anyone or anything. Then I remember who she is: the woman who brought me to my knees. The woman who destroyed my faith in relationships.

The woman I used to call . . . wife.

And she needs a favor from me, Grant Lincoln.

It seems my ex forgot to mention the demise of our marriage to her dear old grammie, and now we’re both expected to attend her ninetieth birthday party. In Boston. And because it isn’t already awkward enough, Aubrey and I are driving there together from Chicago. That’s more than a thousand miles of tension, heartbreak, and barely concealed lust.

A little piece of paper might say we’re over, but this road trip is the true test. I intend to get my wife back . . . and I won’t stop until “I do.”

We’ve been teased with Grant and Aubrey’s relationship since book 1 of this series. I cannot wait to finally see all the chemistry that sizzles between these two front and center. I just know it’s going to be good.
So, what are you reading this week? Anything good? Anything that you want to rant about? Are you looking forward to Then Came You? What other books are you looking forward to releasing this year?

4 Comments
Tags: , , ,

The Weekly Recap (104)

Posted September 24, 2018 by Rowena in Books, Features | 8 Comments

This week was a pretty slow week where I did nothing noteworthy, except reading that is. I had a doctor’s appointment so there was a lot of poking and prodding and that wasn’t fun so I stuck close to home and went to my happy place (books). So I read and even listened to a book at home. I also found out that Caiden is coming down for Halloween in a few weeks and I am over the moon at that news. Any excuse to see that little boy makes me happy. Tonight is book club so I’ll be busy getting my discussion and game together so that we can have more book club fun. I spoil my book club so much. Ha! Now, onto the books…
What I’m Currently Reading
The Weekly Recap (104)America's Sweetheart
by Jessica Lemmon
Series: Real Love #5
Published by Random House, Loveswept on October 2, 2018
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Point of View:Alternating First Person
Pages: 210
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Add It: Goodreads

Old flames burn bright. When a disgraced starlet returns home to lick her wounds, she discovers that her high school sweetheart is just as tempting as ever.

“No one writes big-hearted bad boys like Jessica Lemmon!”—New York Times bestselling author Lori Foster

Allison: When I left for California, I gave myself a new name and never looked back. Now my carefully crafted good-girl image is getting torn to shreds in the press thanks to my Oscar-winning A-hole of an ex-boyfriend. So I escape to the only safe haven I know and trust—my hometown—to take a breather while I plot my triumphant Hollywood comeback. However, when I arrive at my parents’ house, Jackson Burke answers the door instead. And suddenly the past comes rushing back. . . .

Jackson: First kiss. First time. First love. Yep, Allison Murphy and I shared a lot of firsts back in the day. When she left, she took half my heart with her. Now she’s back in town, and even though I swore I’d keep my distance, her parents hired me to remodel their house, and I’m going to finish the job. But one hot kiss later, suddenly the press is calling us the next big celebrity couple. Sure, I’ll play the part, for Allison’s sake—but I refuse to let her close enough to break my heart all over again. . . .

After a week off from my review pile, I am back at it with America’s Sweetheart. I only have two October ARC’s that I need to read and review so I’m going to knock those out so that I can jump back into Patricia Brigg’s backlist. Thanks to my friend Holly, I’m all about all things Patricia Briggs again so I want to knock those books out. I need to know all of the Mercy Thompson things.
What I Read
The Duke Buys a Bride (The Rogue Files #3) by Sophie Jordan | 3 out of 5 Dead Heat (Alpha & Omega #4) by Patricia Briggs | 5 out of 5 Dearest Clementine (Dearest #1) by Lex Martin | 3.5 out of 5 The Gift (Crown’s Spies #4) by Julie Garwood | 4 out of 5 Finding Dandelion (Dearest #2) by Lex Martin | 3.75 out of 5 Hot Dad by Whitley Cox | 1 out of 5 Burn Bright (Alpha & Omega #5) by Patricia Briggs | 4 out of 5
My favorite read of the week is hands down, Dead Heat by Patricia Briggs. I adored that book from beginning to end. Charles and Anna are couples goals. I just adore the way that they are with each other, the love that they have for each other and Charles? Gah, I freaking love the hell out of him. Gah, he’s just the bomb all around. My least favorite book was Hot Dad by Whitley Cox. What a disappointment that book turned out to be. It started off well but the more I read, the more downhill the story went. I don’t think that the writing style is for me.
Book Boyfriend
Morgan MacKinnon Untamed by Pamela Clare
What I Reviewed
Josh & Hazel’s Guide to Not Dating by Christina Lauren | 5 out of 5 Beyond the Night (The Heroes of New Vegas #1) by Joss Ware | 4 out of 5 Sierra Burgess is a Loser (2018) | 1 out of 5 For the Dukes Eyes Only (School for Dukes #2) by Lenora Bell | 4.25 out of 5 Guardian Angel (Crown’s Spies #2) by Julie Garwood | 4.25 out of 5 When a Duke Loves a Woman (Sins for All Seasons #2) by Lorraine Heath | 4.5 out of 5
What I Posted
The Weekly Recap (103) Can’t Wait Wednesday: My Favorite Half Night Stand by Christina Lauren Book Boyfriend: Morgan MacKinnon from Untamed by Pamela Clare
What I Got
Play On (Play On #1) by Samantha Young Butterface (The Hartigans #1) by Avery Flynn Rebel Hard (Hard Play #2) by Nalini Singh As Dust Dances (Play On #2) by Samantha Young Dirty Headlines by LJ Shen P.S. I Miss You (P.S. #2) by Winter Renshaw I Dare You (The Hook Up #1) by Ilsa Madden-Mills #Moonstruck (#Lovestruck #2) by Sariah Wilson
What I Got for Review
The Other Miss Bridgerton (Rokesbys #3) by Julia Quinn
What Made Me Laugh
There you have it, my week in review. How was your week?

8 Comments
Tags: , ,

The Weekly Recap (98)

Posted August 13, 2018 by Rowena in Books, Features | 6 Comments

After my doctor’s appointment a couple of weeks ago, I started walking with my sisters and my best friend for 150 minutes a week. My sisters tried to get me to go with them for a while but it took my doctor telling me to join them to take them up on it. I’m currently on my third week and I have completed my work out minutes for the past two weeks so I’m pretty happy with the progress that I’m making on that front. Big ups to my best friend Theresa for coming over to my house every day to make sure that we get our walk on and our minutes done. She’s been a great support system for me and I’m sure my sisters appreciate her efforts in succeeding where they failed…haha. You guys, there are only 4 more days until we can finally watch TO ALL THE BOYS I’VE LOVED BEFORE! Out of all the people that I made read the book, only one person has read it and she is just as obsessed as I am so I guess I’ll take it. Yay for my daughter Brenna loving Peter Kavinsky as much as I do. 🙂
Now, onto the books…
What I’m Currently Reading
The Weekly Recap (98)Down with Love
by Kate Meader
Series: Laws of Attraction #1
Published by Random House, Loveswept on August 7, 2018
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Point of View:First Person
Pages: 237
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher, NetGalley
Add It: Goodreads

Sparks fly when the hot-shot divorce lawyer meets the high-powered wedding planner. The only question is, what kind?

If you ever get married, remember my name: Max Henderson. In my line of work, you acquire a certain perspective on supposedly everlasting unions. . . .

1. Pre-nups are your friend. 2. The person you married is not the person you’re divorcing. 3. And I hope you didn’t spend much on the wedding because that was one helluva waste of hard-earned cash, wasn’t it?

But some guys are willing to take a chance. Like my brother, who thinks he’s going to ride off into the sunset with the woman of his dreams in a haze of glitter on unicorns. And the wedding planner—the green-eyed beauty who makes a living convincing suckers to shell out thousands of dollars on centerpieces—is raking it in on this matrimonial monstrosity.

The thing is, Charlie Love is not unlike me. We’re both cogs in the wedding-industrial complex. As the best man, I know her game—and I can play it better than her. But after one scorching, unexpected kiss, I’m thinking I might just want to get played.

I didn’t get around to reading anything this weekend so I started this book this morning. I’ve only read the first two chapters and so far, it’s okay. I’m hoping that it picks up and that I’ll get over the hero’s attitude about love and marriage. Wish me luck! 🙂
What I Read
Grumpy Fake Boyfriend by Jackie Lau | DNF The Other Side of Lost by Jessi Kirby | 4.25 out of 5
Book Boyfriend
Colin “Fitzy” Fitzgerald The Chase by Elle Kennedy
What I Reviewed
Paradise by Judith McNaught The Chase by Elle Kennedy
What I Posted
The Weekly Recap (97) The Monthly Recap: July 2018 Can’t Wait Wednesday: Hot Winter Nights by Jill Shalvis
What I Got
Untamed by Pamela Clare
What I Got for Review
Fame, Fat and the First Kiss by Kasie West
There you have it, my week in review. How was your week?

6 Comments
Tags: , , ,

Review: I Think I Love You by Lauren Layne

Posted July 13, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: I Think I Love You by Lauren LayneI Think I Love You
by Lauren Layne
Series: Oxford #5
Also in this series: Irresistibly Yours, I Wish You Were Mine
Published by Random House, Loveswept on July 10, 2018
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Point of View:Alternating Third Person
Pages: 200
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Add It: Goodreads
four-half-stars

A game of seduction between two best friends goes deliciously wrong in an irresistible Oxford Novel that brims with wit and sexual tension. Library Journal hails Layne’s work as exemplary contemporary romance.”

Brit Robbins knows that dating in New York City is hard—she just hoped to have it mastered by age thirty. But after yet another promising suitor says they have no sparks, Brit decides it’s time to torch her dating game and try a new plan. And who better to coach Brit through the art of seduction than the guy who first gave her the “let’s be friends” card?

Hunter Cross has always figured there’s nothing his best friend Brit can do to surprise him. But Brit’s request is a surprise he doesn’t see coming—and one he’s definitely not prepared for. Hunter and Brit have always been careful to keep things perfectly platonic, but the fake dates and faux flirting are starting to feel like the real deal. And soon Hunter realizes he has taught Brit too well. Not only has she become an expert at seduction, the man becoming thoroughly seduced is him.

I Think I Love You is the final book in Lauren Layne’s Oxford series and on one hand, I’m super sad about that but on the other, another Oxford book! Lauren Layne strikes again with a sweet contemporary romance that I couldn’t put down. So this story follows Hunter Cross and Britt Robbins as they take their best friendship into forever love land. Britt has just been dumped again and she starts to wonder why every man on the planet seems content to keep her in the friend zone. Her friends are starting to pair off with their love matches and she’s feeling a little alone and wants to find her own person to settle down with. Or, she wants to make guys stop seeing her as their bestie and start seeing her as the girl they’d like to bang. Who better to help her learn the ways of lovin’ than her best friend, Hunter. Only Hunter doesn’t want any part of helping Britt learn how to seduce random men, especially since he’s starting to see her as more than friend. Seeing these two fumble their way from best friends to more than friends was fun and it was funny and I completely adored them. Hunter Cross is my book boyfriend of the week because I adored every single thing about him. I loved seeing him fall in love with his best friend. I loved seeing him with his family. I loved the brother he was to Malik and I really loved that he was the one that fell in love with Brit first. Sure, he was a complete bonehead in the way he dealt with those feelings and then the way that he tried to play the martyr where Brit was concerned at the end made me want to kick him in the nuts but holy cow, the way that these two came together made me so happy that I forgave Hunter for being dumb. I believed in him and his feelings for Britt and I knew that he loved her with all of his heart and that hit me right in the feels. Thanks to Lauren Layne’s awesome Pinterest boards, I didn’t have any trouble picturing Hunter in my head because this was her inspiration behind his character and holy cow, he’s perfect for Hunter. Super duper perfect. If you’re a fan of the Oxford and Sex, Love and Stilettos series then you should read this one because you’ll get a lot of those folks in this book and the story itself is a good one. Lauren Layne knows how to write the heck out of a romance and this one isn’t to be missed.
Final Grade
4.5 out of 5
Oxford Series
four-half-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,