Publisher: Whitney G

Buddy Review: Two Weeks Notice by Whitney G.

Posted August 23, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 6 Comments

Buddy Review: Two Weeks Notice by Whitney G.Two Weeks Notice by Whitney G.
Published by Self-Published, Whitney G on July 19, 2018
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Point of View: First Person
Pages: 240
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Add It: Goodreads
three-half-stars

To Whom It May Concern:

I am writing this letter to formally announce my resignation from Parker International (& the arrogant, condescending CEO) effective two weeks from today.

This was a VERY EASY decision to make, as the past two years have been utterly miserable. I wish his next executive assistant all the luck in the world (she'll need it) and if my boss should need me to do anything over the next two weeks, kindly tell him that he can do it [his] goddamn self...

Sincerely (Not Really),Tara Lauren

That’s the version of my two weeks’ notice I should’ve sent to my boss, because the more professional version—the one where I said I was "grateful for all the opportunities," and "honored by all the rewarding experiences" over the years?

That letter was rejected with his sexy, trademark smirk and an “I highly suggest you read the fine print of your contract...”

So, I did.

And now I've realized that unless I fake my death, poison him, or find a way to renegotiate my impossible contract, I’m stuck working under one of the cockiest and most ruthless bosses in New York.

Then again, I thought that was the case until he called me late last night with an emergency proposition...

Rowena: Alright, Ames. What did you think?

Ames: Ok, I liked this more than Forget You, Ethan. I liked the dynamic between an employee who hates her boss, but is also attracted to him. However, the beginning did come off a bit familiar to me – familiar to another Whitney G title (Thirty Day Boss). But luckily it became its own story and I enjoyed it.

What about you?

Rowena: I did end up enjoying this book but it was the opposite for me. I enjoyed Forget You, Ethan more. I could not stand the way that Preston treated Tara as an employee but also as a person. He had no respect for her, her time and even her personal life. Sure he paid her handsomely but that didn’t make up for the way that he treated her and everyone else at his company. It was hard for me to take a lot of the time and when she tries to quit and he shows how shady his dealings were with the contract, I was pissed all over again. Seriously??? White ink?? What a douchebag!

I will like how strong Tara becomes over the course of the book and I really liked when she started standing up for herself but I don’t know that it made up for Preston. Hmm.

Ames: Too funny that we have the opposite reaction to this book. I must have a backward sense of humor because I found their interactions funny. I thought that if she was really serious about quitting, she would have stopped showing up to work – like that white ink wouldn’t stand up if he sued her for breach of contract (and he wouldn’t have). But they were just playing a really long game with each other – that was how I read it all. I liked that Tara had a very interesting job interview (he catches her stealing!) and from there I knew it was going to be a fun story. I liked how Tara came into her own as the story progressed but what really made this book fun for me was the introduction of a new character that showed the more human side to Preston. I liked their interactions and even how Tara dealt with the addition. I read this book in almost one sitting and I had a big smile on my face when it was all over. This is the type of humor I come to expect from Whitney G.

Rowena: I think I need to take a break from Whitney G books after this read because I was super annoyed with Rachel in Forget You, Ethan but I got over it and ended up liking her and whileI didn’t absolutely hate Preston, I came close. The way that Preston treated Tara was not funny to me and I wanted to slap his dumb ass rich boy face multiple times. Preston held too much power over Tara and the way that he wielded that power rubbed me the wrong way. He was oh so lucky when that new character that was introduced came onto the scene because who knows how it would have ended for him in my eyes. *shrugs*

What would you grade this book? I’d give it a 2.5 out of 5 because there were things that I liked about the book but the stuff that I hated colored my enjoyment for much of the book for me to overlook it.

Ames: I think this is the first book we’ve really disagreed about it! LOL I can see where you’re coming from with Preston but again, my interpretation of it was different. And side note, I agree that Rachel was super annoying in Forget You, Ethan.

Ok, I’m giving this one a 3.5 out of 5. I was amused, I liked the dynamic between the characters and I liked the little switch up that was introduced mid-way through the story.

Final Grade

Ames: 3.5 out of 5
Rowena: 2.5 out of 5

three-half-stars

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Can’t Wait Wednesday: Forget You, Ethan by Whitney G.

Posted July 25, 2018 by Rowena in Features | 2 Comments

Can’t Wait Wednesday is hosted by Tressa at Wishful Endings and it was based on the meme Waiting on Wednesday that was hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine.

Can’t Wait Wednesday: Forget You, Ethan by Whitney G.Forget You, Ethan by Whitney G.
Published by Whitney G on July 31, 2018
Genres: Contemporary, New Adult, Romance
Add It: Goodreads

Keep your friends close and your enemies closer...

I've hated Rachel Dawson since I was seven years old. My next door neighbor and number one sworn enemy, she's the reason why almost all of our childhood fights ended with me setting something of hers on fire. (Or, vice versa.)

She snitched on me when I broke curfew.

I snitched on her when she lied about having a boyfriend.

We went back and forth like this throughout high school, both vowing to never talk to each other again when we went off to college.

But that was until she showed up at my apartment during my senior year and asked me for a temporary place to stay. Until I realized just how much between us had changed, and the line I thought we'd never cross became harder and harder to ignore...

**This is a standalone friends (to enemies) to lovers romance**

I feel like I’ve been waiting anxiously for this book for forever and a day. It’s supposed to come out on Tuesday and I’m crossing my fingers, toes, eyes and everything else that counts that it really does come out because if it’s anything like Sincerely, Carter then I am here for it. All of it. I can’t wait to jump right into all of the hero and heroine bickering and then fall in love with them falling in love with each other. I just know it’s going to be all kinds of good.

Pre-Order the Book

Forget You, Ethan by Whitney G.
Releases on July 31, 2018
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo

Are you a fan of Whitney G? Are you as excited for this book as I am? What are some of your favorite books by Whitney G?

Tags: ,

Book Review: Sincerely, Carter by Whitney G.

Posted June 12, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 6 Comments

Book Review: Sincerely, Carter by Whitney G.Sincerely, Carter by Whitney G.
Series: Sincerely Carter #1
Published by Whitney G on May 1, 2015
Genres: Contemporary, New Adult, Romance
Point of View: Alternating First Person
Pages: 246
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Add It: Goodreads
four-half-stars

Just friends. We’re just friends. No, really. She’s just my best friend...

Arizona Turner has been my best friend since fourth grade, even when we “hated” each other. We’ve been there for one another through first kisses, first “times,” and we’ve been each other’s constant when good relationships turned bad. (We even went to colleges that were minutes away from each other…)

Throughout the years, and despite what anyone says, we’ve never crossed the line.

Never thought about it. Never wanted to.

Until one night changed everything. At least, it should’ve...

Just friends. We’re just friends. I’m only saying this until I figure out if she’s still “just” my best friend…

Sincerely, Carter by Whitney G. is a re-read for me. My best friend chose this book as our book club discussion book because she was in the mood for a best friends to romance book and this fit that bill.

Enough time had passed since my last re-read of this book that it was like reading the book for the first time again. I remembered some things but more often than not, I was surprised all over again but one of the things that I remembered clear as day??? My love for Carter. Oh man, this book was super good. I enjoyed the romance, the characters and the love that was evident between Carter and Arizona. I loved how well Carter knew Arizona and how much Arizona cared for Carter. Their friendship was solid and it was sweet and when they fell in love with each other, it was more sweetness tacked on.

Carter and Arizona have been best friends since they were in elementary school and they’ve been 100% platonic for many, many years. That all goes up in smokes when Arizona walks out of work with a tight, pink tank top that makes Carter sit up and take notice of Arizona as a woman. When Arizona’s boyfriend breaks up with her, she turns to Carter for help in the art of seduction and things get really interesting.

The chemistry between Carter and Arizona was fantastic. Their friendship was strong and solid which made their romance all the more enjoyable for me. From beginning to end, I was invested in what was going on and where the story was going.

Carter was such a fantastic character. I really enjoyed getting to know him all over again. He was so confident in himself and in his relationship with Arizona and I just ate all of his page time up. I loved seeing him change from best friend to in love with his best friend and knowing Arizona’s mind better than even she does. That’s what best friends do. They know when the other needs them and they know how the other will react to every situation…and they will always look out for you, no matter what. Carter proved that not only was he the best friend that Arizona would ever have but he is also the man who would love Arizona more than anyone else. Gah, I just adore this man so much.

Arizona was strong in her own way but there were times when I wish she had more faith in herself and in Carter. I loved that she went after what she wanted, no matter what she had to do. Whether it was stealing classes over the weekend at the local culinary school or asking her best friend for help with embarrassing things. She was a go-getter and it was easy to see why Carter was so enamored with her.

Whitney G. wrote a sweet romance about two best friends who find in each other what they couldn’t find with others. There wasn’t much that I didn’t love about this book and it made me cry so you know that it’s a good one. I definitely recommend.

Final Grade

4.5 out of 5

Sincerely Carter Series

four-half-stars

Tags: , , , , ,

Buddy Review: On a Tuesday by Whitney G.

Posted October 18, 2017 by Rowena in Reviews | 4 Comments

Buddy Review: On a Tuesday by Whitney G.On a Tuesday by Whitney G.
Series: One Week #1
Published by Whitney G on September 19, 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Point of View: Alternating First Person
Pages: 216
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Add It: Goodreads
four-stars

We met on a Tuesday. Became best friends, then lovers, on a Tuesday. And everything fell apart on a Tuesday...

Charlotte Taylor has three automatic strikes in my book: 1) She hates me. She also claims that I'm a "domineering jerk with a huge, overbearing ego." (I do have something huge. It's not my ego, though.) 2) She takes our mandatory tutoring sessions way too seriously. 3) She's sexy as hell... And a virgin.

At least, those were her strikes before our study sessions started lasting longer than they were supposed to. Until one innocent kiss became a hundred dirty ones, and until she became the first woman I ever fell hard for.

Our future together after graduation was supposed to be set: Professional football for me. Law school for her.

But she left me at the end of the semester with no explanation, and then she completely disappeared from my life.

Until tonight.

We met on a Tuesday. Became everything, then nothing, on a Tuesday. And now it's seven years later, on a Tuesday...

**This is a full length second chance romance, inspired by Adele's "When We Were Young"**

On a Tuesday is the second chance romance between Charlotte and Grayson. They first meet in college when Charlotte has to tutor Grayson but when Grayson’s football career takes off they lose touch – in a painful way that they blame the other for.

Ames: All right Wena. We’re ten months into our buddy reviews and go us! Someone give us a cookie for being consistent this year. LOL

Okay, enough patting ourselves on the back. What did you think of On a Tuesday?

Rowena: A cookie sounds really good right now so I won’t turn that down. 🙂

On a Tuesday was a solid read but for some reason, I didn’t fully connect with either of the main characters.I liked them both but the heroine got on my nerves and because this was such a short story, my enjoyment suffered because of that. I mean, sure, everything works out in the end and everything is explained away but still…I don’t know, something was missing to make me completely love it.

What about you? What were your thoughts on the book?

Ames: Ever since Sincerely, Carter I’ve been a fan of Whitney G’s writing and although this wouldn’t rank as my top read by her, I still enjoyed it. I think my problem with it was that it was too short! Since the book goes between the past and present (7 years after college) I wanted more of their present than their past. Or I wanted the present flushed out a bit more. Like the reason they were kept apart? I wanted that person to be punished on the page for us to see! Like I would have been furious for 7 years gone like that! I’m just vindictive I guess. Haha

I liked how Charlotte and Grayson’s relationship developed. She didn’t want to tutor him but he had charm to spare and eventually won her over to the dark side. She wasn’t impressed by his football star status and he couldn’t resist the first woman to say no to him. I love that dynamic. I agree with you on connecting with Charlotte’s character – she was fine in college but as an adult she was a bit annoying.

Rowena: Yeah, not being able to flush these characters and their story out was a bit of a let down because like you, I wanted to see the villain pay for what she did and I needed a lot more than what we got.

The going back and forth between the past and the present was a little much for me too. I wanted more present and less past, more balance. I wanted to know what happened in the past but not at the expense of what was happening now if that makes any sense.

I will say that I could not get enough of Grayson Connors. How freaking hot was he? I enjoyed how fierce his feelings for Charlotte were and how much he knew his own mind. I loved how he was mad at her but he loved her and his love for her propelled him in everything he did to fix what was broken between them. Oh man, he totally melted me at every turn.

Ames: Grayson was totally yummy! I like how he kept looking for her even after 7 years. Even if he told himself he was mad at her, he still wanted to see her. I loved it.

I liked Charlotte’s friend too. She protected her but when she needed to she gave Charlotte a kick in the pants to get her to see things clearly.

All right Wena. I’m giving On a Tuesday 3.75 out of 5. I enjoyed it but it didn’t wow. And it was too short. What about you?

Rowena: Yes, to all of that.

I give this book a 3.75 out of 5, too. Grade twins!

Ames and I are on such a roll this month that we’ll be reviewing two books together for October so be on the look out for our buddy review on Played by Jen Frederick.

Have you read On a Tuesday by Whitney G. yet? What did you think? Did you enjoy it more or less than we did? Tell us how you really feel in the comments!

four-stars

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,