Source: Edelweiss

The Wednesday Post (17)

Posted July 10, 2019 by Rowena in Books | 4 Comments

Can’t Wait Wednesday is hosted by Tessa over at Wishful Endings and it was based on Waiting on Wednesday that was hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. WWW Wednesday is a weekly meme that is hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words.

I decided that I’m going to do a mashup of the Can’t Wait Wednesday and WWW Wednesday posts here on my blog. I’m bringing them together and calling it The Wednesday Post. Here’s what I’m up to this week.

WWW Wednesday

What did you recently finish reading?

Wolf Rain (Psy-Changelings Trinity #3) by Nalini Singh

Man, was it good to be back in the Psy-Changelings world and catch up with all of my good ol’ friends from the SnowDancer and the DarkRiver packs. It was also really nice to get to know Alexei and Memory too. I thought Nalini Singh did a really bang up job with this story and I’m looking forward to whatever happens next with these characters. I have so much love for all of them.

What are you currently reading?

The Prenup by Lauren Layne

This book came out yesterday and I’m already digging into this one. I’ll be buddy reviewing this one with Ames so you should be able to read our thoughts on Lauren Layne’s first self published book on Book Binge in the coming weeks. Fingers crossed cause I know I be bullshittin’, haha.

What do you think you’ll read next?

Beginner’s Luck (Chance of a Lifetime #1) by Kate Clayborne
Like the Wind by J. Bengtsson

Up next are more buddy reads with my friends. I’m reading Beginner’s Luck with Holly and Ames and then I’m reading Like the Wind with Casee and Holly. I need to get my shit together already or I’m going to fall behind. Wish me luck!

Can’t Wait Wednesday
The Wednesday Post (17)The Duchess in His Bed by Lorraine Heath
Series: Sins for All Seasons #4
Published by Harper Collins, Avon on August 20, 2019
Genres: Historical, Romance
Point of View: Third Person
Pages: 400
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Add It: Goodreads

For a duchess with practical desires, falling in love is an inconceivable part of her plan…

As owner of the Elysium Club which caters to women's fantasies, Aiden Trewlove is accustomed to introducing adventurous ladies to sin and vice. But he is uncharacteristically intrigued by the mysterious beauty who visits his club one night, yearning to indulge in the forbidden—with him. Drawn to her indomitable spirit, he breaks his rule of never becoming personally involved with his clientele and is determined to fully awaken her desires.

A recent widow, Selena Sheffield, Duchess of Lushing, has never known passion, not until Aiden's slow, sensual seduction leads her on a journey of discovery and incredible pleasure. But her reasons for visiting the notorious club are not all that they seem.

As Selena's motives become complicated by love, she finds herself with a most unexpected choice: forge ahead with a secret plan that could secure her future—or follow her heart which could prove ruinous.

I seriously love this series and I’m pretty anxious for Aidan’s story. Aidan is one of my favorites of the Trewlove brothers and I cannot wait to see what kind of woman snatches his heart. I just know that Lorraine Heath is going to deliver the goods so as soon as I can, I’m going to snatch this one up like a hot potato and enjoy the ride.

So, what are you reading this week? Anything good? Anything that you want to rant about?
Are you looking forward to The Duchess in His Bed? What other books are you looking forward to releasing this year?


Tags: , , , , ,

The Weekly Recap (135)

Posted July 8, 2019 by Rowena in Books | 3 Comments

This past week was for living vicariously through Meghan and Makenna as they prepared for the South Pacific Games in Western Samoa. They’ve been keeping us in touch with their Samoan adventures and I’m loving how much fun they’re having. They experienced their first South Pacific Opening Ceremony and they’re meeting a lot of new people and getting to know our family history through the family that live out there. Their first game is tonight at 8pm and I am super pumped for them. What an amazing experience they’re having.

This past week was also for me, Bren, Kaleo and Chase going to the Dodger game on Fourth of July. We stayed for the firework show after the game but holy cow, our seats were amazing! We sat in behind home plate, on the visitor’s side and we were super close to all of the action. It was another fabulous game (we won!) and the fireworks show was amazing. All around, it was a fantastic night and I’m already looking forward to my next game.

Now, onto the books…

What I’m Currently Reading
The Weekly Recap (135)Brazen and the Beast by Sarah MacLean
Series: The Bareknuckle Bastards #2
Published by Harper Collins, Avon on July 30, 2019
Genres: Historical, Romance
Point of View: Third Person
Pages: 400
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Add It: Goodreads

The Lady’s Plan

When Lady Henrietta Sedley declares her twenty-ninth year her own, she has plans to inherit her father’s business, to make her own fortune, and to live her own life. But first, she intends to experience a taste of the pleasure she’ll forgo as a confirmed spinster. Everything is going perfectly…until she discovers the most beautiful man she’s ever seen tied up in her carriage and threatening to ruin the Year of Hattie before it’s even begun.

The Bastard’s Proposal

When he wakes in a carriage at Hattie’s feet, Whit, a king of Covent Garden known to all the world as Beast, can’t help but wonder about the strange woman who frees him—especially when he discovers she’s headed for a night of pleasure . . . on his turf. He is more than happy to offer Hattie all she desires…for a price.

An Unexpected Passion

Soon, Hattie and Whit find themselves rivals in business and pleasure. She won’t give up her plans; he won’t give up his power . . . and neither of them sees that if they’re not careful, they’ll have no choice but to give up everything . . . including their hearts.

I barely finished Wolf Rain this morning so I haven’t even started this book yet but I will later on tonight. My night is promised to Meghan and Makenna, who are playing in their first South Pacific Games basketball game tonight. Go Team American Samoa! I’ve been hearing such great things about this book though so I’m excited to start it.

What I Read

Storm Cursed (Mercy Thompson #11) by Patricia Briggs | 4 out of 5
Wolf Rain (Psy-Changelings Trinity #3) by Nalini Singh | 4.25 out of 5

Eye Candy Friday

Mercy Thompson
Night Broken by Patricia Briggs

What I Reviewed

The Right Swipe (Modern Dating #1) by Alisha Rai | 3.5 out of 5

What I Posted

The Weekly Recap (134)
The Monthly Recap: June 2019
The Wednesday Post (16)
Happy 4th of July
Eye Candy Friday: Mercy Thompson from Night Broken by Patricia Briggs

What I Got

Nothing new this week.

What I Got for Review

Nothing new this week.

What Made Me Laugh

There you have it, my week in review. How was your week?


Tags: , ,

The Wednesday Post (13)

Posted June 5, 2019 by Rowena in Books | 8 Comments

Can’t Wait Wednesday is hosted by Tessa over at Wishful Endings and it was based on Waiting on Wednesday that was hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. WWW Wednesday is a weekly meme that is hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words.

I decided that I’m going to do a mashup of the Can’t Wait Wednesday and WWW Wednesday posts here on my blog. I’m bringing them together and calling it The Wednesday Post. Here’s what I’m up to this week.

WWW Wednesday

What did you recently finish reading?

Ayesha at Last by Uzma Jalaluddin

This was great. It was colorful and had just the right amount of angst to go with charming and smart characters and really, it just rocked my socks. I’m so glad that I read it.

What are you currently reading?

If It Makes You Happy by Claire Kann

I didn’t get a chance to read last night or I would have been finished with this one but so far, I’m really liking it. Winnie is the bomb and her Mama Bear attitude is just fantastic. I’m so rooting for her right now.

What do you think you’ll read next?

The Rest of the Story by Sarah Dessen

I will always want to read more Sarah Dessen so I’m pretty stoked to finally jump into this one. I just know that I’m going to love it.

Can’t Wait Wednesday
The Wednesday Post (13)The Wallflower Wager by Tessa Dare
Series: Girl Meets Duke #3
Published by Harper Collins, Avon on August 13, 2019
Genres: Historical, Romance
Point of View: Alternating Third Person
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Add It: Goodreads

They call him the Duke of Ruin.

To an undaunted wallflower, he's just the beast next door.

Wealthy and ruthless, Gabriel Duke clawed his way from the lowliest slums to the pinnacle of high society—and now he wants to get even.

Loyal and passionate, Lady Penelope Campion never met a lost or wounded creature she wouldn’t take into her home and her heart.

When her imposing—and attractive—new neighbor demands she clear out the rescued animals, Penny sets him a challenge. She will part with her precious charges, if he can find them loving homes.

Done, Gabriel says. How hard can it be to find homes for a few kittens?

And a two-legged dog.

And a foul-mouthed parrot.

And a goat, an otter, a hedgehog . . .

Easier said than done, for a cold-blooded bastard who wouldn’t know a loving home from a workhouse. Soon he’s covered in cat hair, knee-deep in adorable, and bewitched by a shyly pretty spinster who defies his every attempt to resist. Now she’s set her mind and heart on saving him.

Not if he ruins her first.

Tessa Dare never steers me wrong with fantastic historical romances so I will probably always want to read her stuff. I’m really enjoying this series and I just know this book is going to be just as great as the other books in this series and I can’t wait to read it.

The Wallflower Wager comes out on August 13, 2019 so mark your calendars, lovely readers! I’m sure this book isn’t to be missed!

So, what are you reading this week? Anything good? Anything that you want to rant about?
Are you looking forward to The Wallflower Wager? What other books are you looking forward to releasing this year?


Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,