Source: Edelweiss

The Weekly Recap (141)

Posted November 4, 2019 by Rowena in Books, Features | 4 Comments

This week was Halloween and Caiden was in town with his Mom to attend our family Halloween party for the first time. We were super excited for him to get here and he was the cutest Hulk Smash ever! It got dark really fast in California so we didn’t get a lot of pictures while the sun was up. Our neighborhood was hoppin’ too because we were still getting trick or treaters after 9pm. We had a good turn out for our party, the food was good and we had family in town for Chase’s senior night the next night.

Friday was for Chase. Big Uce graduates from high school this year and he’s playing in his last football season so we’ve been supporting him every week at the stadium, cheering for him and tailgating and you know, being together as a family. For Chase’s Senior Night, the family came out strong. Chloe, Markus, and Caiden came in from Utah. Uncle Chris and Aunty Ingrid came in from Vegas and then we had all of our local families in attendance as well. And we all got to walk out on the field with him during the Senior Recognition Night. It was a good game, even though Chase got into it with some guy from the other team but only the other guy got kicked out of the game because he actually swung on Chase.

All of my teams got wins on Friday. Chase won his game against South High School and the Lakers beat the Dallas Mavericks. Big ups for L.A. 🙂

Here’s our family picture at Chase’s senior night. This was before Chase got over to us. While we’re taking this picture, Chase is passing out candy lei’s to all of his homies.

Saturday was for our Roberts family baby shower for Niko and Britt and Logan! It was a fun baby shower and I was part of the kitchen crew. I didn’t mind my job since I got the recipe for a bomb ass broccoli salad that everyone loves. So as you can see, it was a busy week for me, which is why I only read one book this week.

Now, onto the books…

What I’m Currently Reading
The Weekly Recap (141)The One for You by Roni Loren
Series: The Ones that Got Away #4
Also in this series: The One You Can't Forget
Published by Sourcebooks, Sourcebooks Casablanca on December 31, 2019
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Point of View: Third Person
Pages: 352
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Add It: Goodreads

The highly-anticipated fourth book in Roni Loren's unforgettable The Ones Who Got Away series.

She got a second chance at life.Will she take a second chance at love?

Kincaid Breslin wasn't supposed to survive that fateful night at Long Acre when so many died, including her boyfriend—but survive she did. She doesn't know why she got that chance, but now she takes life by the horns and doesn't let anybody stand in her way

Ashton Isaacs was her best friend when disaster struck all those years ago, but he chose to run as far away as he could. Now fate has brought him back to town, and Ash doesn't know how to cope with his feelings for Kincaid and his grief over their lost friendship. For Ash has been carrying secrets, and he knows that once Kincaid learns the truth, he'll lose any chance he might have had with the only woman he's ever loved.

I only read one book last week and this week, I’m determined to get back on track. I’m reading this book and so far, so good. Nick really loved this one so I’m excited to dig more into Kincaid’s story.

What I Read

A Madness of Sunshine by Nalini Singh | 4 out of 5

Eye Candy Friday

Scott Turner
Love on Lexington by Lauren Layne

What I Reviewed

Bringing Down the Duke by Evie Dunmore | 4 out of 5

What I Posted

The Weekly Recap (140)
The Wednesday Post (21)
My TBR Pile: November 2019
Eye Candy Friday: Scott Turner from Love on Lexington Avenue by Lauren Layne

What I Got

It’s been a busy week for me so I haven’t purchased anything this week.

What I Got for Review

Love Lettering by Kate Clayborn
Meet Me at Midnight by Jessica Pennington

What Made Me Laugh

There you have it, my week in review. How was your week?


Tags:

The Wednesday Post (17)

Posted July 10, 2019 by Rowena in Books | 8 Comments

Can’t Wait Wednesday is hosted by Tessa over at Wishful Endings and it was based on Waiting on Wednesday that was hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. WWW Wednesday is a weekly meme that is hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words.

I decided that I’m going to do a mashup of the Can’t Wait Wednesday and WWW Wednesday posts here on my blog. I’m bringing them together and calling it The Wednesday Post. Here’s what I’m up to this week.

WWW Wednesday

What did you recently finish reading?

Wolf Rain (Psy-Changelings Trinity #3) by Nalini Singh

Man, was it good to be back in the Psy-Changelings world and catch up with all of my good ol’ friends from the SnowDancer and the DarkRiver packs. It was also really nice to get to know Alexei and Memory too. I thought Nalini Singh did a really bang up job with this story and I’m looking forward to whatever happens next with these characters. I have so much love for all of them.

What are you currently reading?

The Prenup by Lauren Layne

This book came out yesterday and I’m already digging into this one. I’ll be buddy reviewing this one with Ames so you should be able to read our thoughts on Lauren Layne’s first self published book on Book Binge in the coming weeks. Fingers crossed cause I know I be bullshittin’, haha.

What do you think you’ll read next?

Beginner’s Luck (Chance of a Lifetime #1) by Kate Clayborne
Like the Wind by J. Bengtsson

Up next are more buddy reads with my friends. I’m reading Beginner’s Luck with Holly and Ames and then I’m reading Like the Wind with Casee and Holly. I need to get my shit together already or I’m going to fall behind. Wish me luck!

Can’t Wait Wednesday
The Wednesday Post (17)The Duchess in His Bed by Lorraine Heath
Series: Sins for All Seasons #4
Published by Harper Collins, Avon on August 20, 2019
Genres: Historical, Romance
Point of View: Third Person
Pages: 400
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Add It: Goodreads

For a duchess with practical desires, falling in love is an inconceivable part of her plan…

As owner of the Elysium Club which caters to women's fantasies, Aiden Trewlove is accustomed to introducing adventurous ladies to sin and vice. But he is uncharacteristically intrigued by the mysterious beauty who visits his club one night, yearning to indulge in the forbidden—with him. Drawn to her indomitable spirit, he breaks his rule of never becoming personally involved with his clientele and is determined to fully awaken her desires.

A recent widow, Selena Sheffield, Duchess of Lushing, has never known passion, not until Aiden's slow, sensual seduction leads her on a journey of discovery and incredible pleasure. But her reasons for visiting the notorious club are not all that they seem.

As Selena's motives become complicated by love, she finds herself with a most unexpected choice: forge ahead with a secret plan that could secure her future—or follow her heart which could prove ruinous.

I seriously love this series and I’m pretty anxious for Aidan’s story. Aidan is one of my favorites of the Trewlove brothers and I cannot wait to see what kind of woman snatches his heart. I just know that Lorraine Heath is going to deliver the goods so as soon as I can, I’m going to snatch this one up like a hot potato and enjoy the ride.

So, what are you reading this week? Anything good? Anything that you want to rant about?
Are you looking forward to The Duchess in His Bed? What other books are you looking forward to releasing this year?


Tags: , , , , ,

The Weekly Recap (135)

Posted July 8, 2019 by Rowena in Books | 4 Comments

This past week was for living vicariously through Meghan and Makenna as they prepared for the South Pacific Games in Western Samoa. They’ve been keeping us in touch with their Samoan adventures and I’m loving how much fun they’re having. They experienced their first South Pacific Opening Ceremony and they’re meeting a lot of new people and getting to know our family history through the family that live out there. Their first game is tonight at 8pm and I am super pumped for them. What an amazing experience they’re having.

This past week was also for me, Bren, Kaleo and Chase going to the Dodger game on Fourth of July. We stayed for the firework show after the game but holy cow, our seats were amazing! We sat in behind home plate, on the visitor’s side and we were super close to all of the action. It was another fabulous game (we won!) and the fireworks show was amazing. All around, it was a fantastic night and I’m already looking forward to my next game.

Now, onto the books…

What I’m Currently Reading
The Weekly Recap (135)Brazen and the Beast by Sarah MacLean
Series: The Bareknuckle Bastards #2
Published by Harper Collins, Avon on July 30, 2019
Genres: Historical, Romance
Point of View: Third Person
Pages: 400
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Add It: Goodreads

The Lady’s Plan

When Lady Henrietta Sedley declares her twenty-ninth year her own, she has plans to inherit her father’s business, to make her own fortune, and to live her own life. But first, she intends to experience a taste of the pleasure she’ll forgo as a confirmed spinster. Everything is going perfectly…until she discovers the most beautiful man she’s ever seen tied up in her carriage and threatening to ruin the Year of Hattie before it’s even begun.

The Bastard’s Proposal

When he wakes in a carriage at Hattie’s feet, Whit, a king of Covent Garden known to all the world as Beast, can’t help but wonder about the strange woman who frees him—especially when he discovers she’s headed for a night of pleasure . . . on his turf. He is more than happy to offer Hattie all she desires…for a price.

An Unexpected Passion

Soon, Hattie and Whit find themselves rivals in business and pleasure. She won’t give up her plans; he won’t give up his power . . . and neither of them sees that if they’re not careful, they’ll have no choice but to give up everything . . . including their hearts.

I barely finished Wolf Rain this morning so I haven’t even started this book yet but I will later on tonight. My night is promised to Meghan and Makenna, who are playing in their first South Pacific Games basketball game tonight. Go Team American Samoa! I’ve been hearing such great things about this book though so I’m excited to start it.

What I Read

Storm Cursed (Mercy Thompson #11) by Patricia Briggs | 4 out of 5
Wolf Rain (Psy-Changelings Trinity #3) by Nalini Singh | 4.25 out of 5

Eye Candy Friday

Mercy Thompson
Night Broken by Patricia Briggs

What I Reviewed

The Right Swipe (Modern Dating #1) by Alisha Rai | 3.5 out of 5

What I Posted

The Weekly Recap (134)
The Monthly Recap: June 2019
The Wednesday Post (16)
Happy 4th of July
Eye Candy Friday: Mercy Thompson from Night Broken by Patricia Briggs

What I Got

Nothing new this week.

What I Got for Review

Nothing new this week.

What Made Me Laugh

There you have it, my week in review. How was your week?


Tags: , ,