Tag: Week in Books

The Weekly Recap (135)

Posted July 8, 2019 by Rowena in Books | 3 Comments

This past week was for living vicariously through Meghan and Makenna as they prepared for the South Pacific Games in Western Samoa. They’ve been keeping us in touch with their Samoan adventures and I’m loving how much fun they’re having. They experienced their first South Pacific Opening Ceremony and they’re meeting a lot of new people and getting to know our family history through the family that live out there. Their first game is tonight at 8pm and I am super pumped for them. What an amazing experience they’re having.

This past week was also for me, Bren, Kaleo and Chase going to the Dodger game on Fourth of July. We stayed for the firework show after the game but holy cow, our seats were amazing! We sat in behind home plate, on the visitor’s side and we were super close to all of the action. It was another fabulous game (we won!) and the fireworks show was amazing. All around, it was a fantastic night and I’m already looking forward to my next game.

Now, onto the books…

What I’m Currently Reading
The Weekly Recap (135)Brazen and the Beast by Sarah MacLean
Series: The Bareknuckle Bastards #2
Published by Harper Collins, Avon on July 30, 2019
Genres: Historical, Romance
Point of View: Third Person
Pages: 400
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Add It: Goodreads

The Lady’s Plan

When Lady Henrietta Sedley declares her twenty-ninth year her own, she has plans to inherit her father’s business, to make her own fortune, and to live her own life. But first, she intends to experience a taste of the pleasure she’ll forgo as a confirmed spinster. Everything is going perfectly…until she discovers the most beautiful man she’s ever seen tied up in her carriage and threatening to ruin the Year of Hattie before it’s even begun.

The Bastard’s Proposal

When he wakes in a carriage at Hattie’s feet, Whit, a king of Covent Garden known to all the world as Beast, can’t help but wonder about the strange woman who frees him—especially when he discovers she’s headed for a night of pleasure . . . on his turf. He is more than happy to offer Hattie all she desires…for a price.

An Unexpected Passion

Soon, Hattie and Whit find themselves rivals in business and pleasure. She won’t give up her plans; he won’t give up his power . . . and neither of them sees that if they’re not careful, they’ll have no choice but to give up everything . . . including their hearts.

I barely finished Wolf Rain this morning so I haven’t even started this book yet but I will later on tonight. My night is promised to Meghan and Makenna, who are playing in their first South Pacific Games basketball game tonight. Go Team American Samoa! I’ve been hearing such great things about this book though so I’m excited to start it.

What I Read

Storm Cursed (Mercy Thompson #11) by Patricia Briggs | 4 out of 5
Wolf Rain (Psy-Changelings Trinity #3) by Nalini Singh | 4.25 out of 5

Eye Candy Friday

Mercy Thompson
Night Broken by Patricia Briggs

What I Reviewed

The Right Swipe (Modern Dating #1) by Alisha Rai | 3.5 out of 5

What I Posted

The Weekly Recap (134)
The Monthly Recap: June 2019
The Wednesday Post (16)
Happy 4th of July
Eye Candy Friday: Mercy Thompson from Night Broken by Patricia Briggs

What I Got

Nothing new this week.

What I Got for Review

Nothing new this week.

What Made Me Laugh

There you have it, my week in review. How was your week?


Tags: , ,

The Weekly Recap (134)

Posted July 1, 2019 by Rowena in Books | 2 Comments

This week was a pretty quick one for me. I spent as much time as I could with Caiden because he went back to his Utah home on Friday but I also got some books read that I’ve been meaning to read for ages now so all in all, it was a pretty good week. Brenna went camping with her friends this past weekend so I had the freedom to do whatever I wanted and I stuck close to home, refreshing Twitter to see where Kawhi Leonard lands (please say that Lakers, please say the Lakers) in his free agency. Fingers crossed that he lands back home…in a Los Angeles Lakers uniform.

I binged Mercy Thompson too and I have no regrets. Mercy is the bomb!

Now, onto the books…

What I’m Currently Reading
The Weekly Recap (134)Storm Cursed by Patricia Briggs
Published by Penguin, Ace on May 7, 2019
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Point of View: First Person
Pages: 384
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Add It: Goodreads

In this powerful entry in the #1 New York Times bestselling series, Mercy Thompson must face a deadly enemy to defend all she loves...

My name is Mercedes Athena Thompson Hauptman, and I am a car mechanic.

And a coyote shapeshifter.

And the mate of the Alpha of the Columbia Basin werewolf pack.

Even so, none of that would have gotten me into trouble if, a few months ago, I hadn't stood upon a bridge and taken responsibility for the safety of the citizens who lived in our territory. It seemed like the thing to do at the time. It should have only involved hunting down killer goblins, zombie goats, and an occasional troll. Instead, our home was viewed as neutral ground, a place where humans would feel safe to come and treat with the fae.

The reality is that nothing and no one is safe. As generals and politicians face off with the Gray Lords of the fae, a storm is coming and her name is Death.

But we are pack, and we have given our word.

We will die to keep it.

I should be finishing this book up today sometime and then I’ll be moving on from this series because I’M ALL CAUGHT UP! Still, I planned on finishing this book over the weekend and the NBA Free Agency took those plans and threw them right out the window. Oh well, I’m enjoying this so that’s something.

What I Read

Night Broken (Mercy Thompson #8) by Patricia Briggs | 3.75 out of 5
Fire Touched (Mercy Thompson #9) by Patricia Briggs | 4 out of 5
Silence Fallen (Mercy Thompson #10) by Patricia Briggs | 4 out of 5

Eye Candy Friday

Chloe Madison
Love, Chloe by Alessandra Torre

What I Reviewed

The Friend Zone by Abby Jimenez | 1 out of 5
Waiting for Tom Hanks by Kerry Winfree | 2 out of 5

What I Posted

The Weekly Recap (133)
The Wednesday Post (15)
Eye Candy Friday: Chloe Madison in Love, Chloe by Alessandra Torre

What I Got

Count to Ten by Karen Rose

What I Got for Review

The Bromance Book Club by Lyssa Kay Adams

What Made Me Laugh

There you have it, my week in review. How was your week?


Tags: , ,

The Wednesday Post (15)

Posted June 26, 2019 by Rowena in Books | 0 Comments

Can’t Wait Wednesday is hosted by Tessa over at Wishful Endings and it was based on Waiting on Wednesday that was hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. WWW Wednesday is a weekly meme that is hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words.

I decided that I’m going to do a mashup of the Can’t Wait Wednesday and WWW Wednesday posts here on my blog. I’m bringing them together and calling it The Wednesday Post. Here’s what I’m up to this week.

WWW Wednesday

What did you recently finish reading?

Night Broken (Mercy Thompson #8) by Patricia Briggs

This book took a lot out of me. The story itself was really good and I was deeply invested in what was going on but I spent most of the book sorely disappointed in people that I have come to love and respect. But it was also in this book that my love and admiration for Mercy Thompson was solidified. Often times, there are series written around a main heroine that everyone and their Mom falls in love with and wants to protect and I don’t get the appeal but not that’s not the case with Mercy. I completely get why everyone in her world loves her. Hell, I love her. I would follow her right off a bridge if she needed me to. She’s that awesome to me. My friend Holly said it best though when she said, “I thought Mercy was going to be a super badass. Like Kate Daniels badass. But she isn’t. She’s just this regular person, trying her best.” and that is exactly why I love Mercy so much. She’s just a mechanic, trying to live her best life and not leave anyone behind. She’s seriously the best.

What are you currently reading?

Fire Touched (Mercy Thompson #9) by Patricia Briggs

I’ve been trying to catch up with this series all year long and I haven’t gotten anywhere with that goal so the minute that I was done reading all of my May and June review books, I jumped back into this world and I’m not leaving until I’m completely caught up. Also, I’m really glad that I read this book immediately after finishing Night Broken because as mad as I was at a certain Alpha, I’m glad that I didn’t really stew in how mad I was am with him. He kind of made up for some (not all) of the shit that he put me through in the last book but he’s still got a ways to go before I’ll be completely over all of the shenanigans he let his ex-wife and his pack get away with.

What do you think you’ll read next?

Silence Fallen (Mercy Thompson #10) by Patricia Briggs
Storm Cursed (Mercy Thompson #11) by Patricia Briggs

Like I said earlier, I’m determined to be completely caught up on this series so that I can work on other series that I’ve been itching to read. I’m really enjoying the time that I’m spending in this world so I’ll be reading these two books next before jumping back into my review pile for next month. Wish me luck!

Can’t Wait Wednesday
The Wednesday Post (15)Twice in a Blue Moon by Christina Lauren
Published by Simon & Schuster, Gallery Books on October 22, 2019
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Point of View: First Person
Pages: 368
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Add It: Goodreads

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Unhoneymooners and the “delectable, moving” (Entertainment Weekly) My Favorite Half-Night Stand comes a modern love story about what happens when your first love reenters your life when you least expect it…

Sam Brandis was Tate Jones’s first: Her first love. Her first everything. Including her first heartbreak.

During a whirlwind two-week vacation abroad, Sam and Tate fell for each other in only the way that first loves do: sharing all of their hopes, dreams, and deepest secrets along the way. Sam was the first, and only, person that Tate—the long-lost daughter of one of the world’s biggest film stars—ever revealed her identity to. So when it became clear her trust was misplaced, her world shattered for good.

Fourteen years later, Tate, now an up-and-coming actress, only thinks about her first love every once in a blue moon. When she steps onto the set of her first big break, he’s the last person she expects to see. Yet here Sam is, the same charming, confident man she knew, but even more alluring than she remembered. Forced to confront the man who betrayed her, Tate must ask herself if it’s possible to do the wrong thing for the right reason… and whether “once in a lifetime” can come around twice.

With Christina Lauren’s signature “beautifully written and remarkably compelling” (Sarah J. Maas, New York Times bestselling author) prose and perfect for fans of Emily Giffin and Jennifer Weiner, Twice in a Blue Moon is an unforgettable and moving novel of young love and second chances.

Christina Lauren has been doing a great job of writing contemporary romances lately and I’m here for all of their releases. I have enjoyed the last few books they released and I have every faith that I’m going to enjoy this one as well. This book comes on out October 22nd so you’ll want to mark your calendars…this promises to be another winner from the dynamic writing duo.

So, what are you reading this week? Anything good? Anything that you want to rant about?
Are you looking forward to Twice in a Blue Moon? What other books are you looking forward to releasing this year?


Tags: , , , , , ,